WCAG 2.0 is now also ISO/IEC 40500!

Author(s) and publish date

Skip to 3 comments

We're very pleased to announce that WCAG 2.0 is now also an ISO International Standard, ISO/IEC 40500:2012. ISO/IEC 40500 is exactly the same as the original WCAG 2.0 standard from the W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI), which remains freely available along with supporting resources from the WCAG Overview.

This means that more countries can formally adopt WCAG 2.0. Since it was published in 2008, WCAG 2.0 has already been adopted and referenced by many governments and organizations around the world. Now countries that only use ISO technical standards can adopt WCAG 2.0 by referencing ISO/IEC 40500.

For managers, developers, policy-makers, and others using ISO/IEC 40500 there are extensive supporting resources from W3C, including the WCAG 2.0 Overview, WCAG 2.0 at a Glance, How to Meet WCAG 2.0: A Customizable Quick Reference, Techniques for WCAG 2.0, Understanding WCAG 2.0, and W3C Authorized Translations of WCAG 2.0.

And for those who are already working with WCAG 2.0, you can now say you're also working with an ISO standard, ISO/IEC 40500.

~ Judy (WAI Director) & Shawn (WAI Education & Outreach)

Related RSS feed

Comments (3)

Comments for this post are closed.