Webapps/Meetings

From W3C Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

This document contains information about WebApps' upcoming face-to-face (f2f) meetings, links to past meetings and information about regular distributed meetings (aka telcons or voice conferences).

Please note:

  • The group has 1-2 face-to-face (f2f) meetings per year where the potential scope is all of the group's specifications.
  • The group may have spec-specific f2f meetings (for example, only Web Components specs are on the agenda).
  • The group does not have regular distributed voice conferences except for a few telcons that focus on one specification or a set of closely related specifications. More information about the group's telcons is provided below.
  • All meeting minutes are Public.

SeeAlso:


Upcoming Face-Face Meetings

  • 2015 July 21 - Web Components meeting in the Bay Area, CA US
  • 2015 August 23-24 - Editing Task Force (WebApps + HTMLWG) meeting in Paris, FR
  • 2015 October 26-27 - the entire group will meet at TPAC 2015 in Sapporo, JP.

Past Face-To-Face Meetings (most recent first)

2015 April 24 Web Components only

WebApps' had a f2f meeting 24 April 2015 in Mountain View, CA US that focused exclusively on Web Components specifications, in particular Shadow DOM.

2014 October 27-18 (TPAC2014)

WebApps had a f2f meeting 27-28 October 2014 in Santa Clara, CA US as part of TPAC2014.

2014 April 10-11

WebApps had a f2f meeting 10-11 April 2014 in San Jose, CA US:

2013 November 11-12 (TPAC 2013)

  • TPAC 2013 (Shenzhen China), November 11-12. The agenda page includes links to the meeting's minutes.

2013 June 21 (Web Components only)

Web Components only meeting:

2013 April 25-26

WebApps had a f2f meeting April 25-26 2013 in Santa Clara:

2012 October 29-30 (TPAC 2012)

WebApps had a f2f meeting October 29-30 in Lyon France as part of the W3C's 2012 Technical Plenary and Working Group (TPAC) meeting week:

2012 May 1-2

WebApps had a f2f meeting May 1-2 2012 in Mountain View, CA US:

2011 October 31 and November 1 (TPAC 2011)

WebApps had a 2-day f2f meeting on Monday October 31 and Tuesday November 1 2011. This meeting was held in Santa Clara CA US as part of the W3C's 2011 Technical Plenary and All Working Group meeting week (aka TPAC).

See WebApps TPAC 2011 Agenda page for the agenda topics, logistics, etc.

2010 November 1-2 (TPAC 2010)

WebApps had a f2f meeting November 1-2 2010 in Lyon France during the W3C's 2010 Technical Plenary and All Working Group meeting week (aka TPAC).

See WebApps TPAC 2010 Agenda page for the agenda topics and minutes.

2009 November 2-3 (TPAC 2009)

WebApps had separate f2f meetings on November 2-3 during the Annual All WG Meeting Week: one meeting was for the Widget specs and the other meeting covered the groups' API specs.

The agenda pages for these two meetings:

2009 June 9-11 (Widgets Only F2F Meeting)

See the Widgets June 9-11 London Meeting page for more information.

2009 Widgets February 24-26 (Widgets Only F2F Meeting)

See the Widgets Feb 24-26 Paris Meeting page for more information.

2008 October 20-21 (TPAC 2008)

This f2f meeting will occur in Mandelieu France as part of the W3C's 2008 TPAC Meeting.

Two different rooms are reserved for this meeting: one for the Widgets group and the other room is for work on other specifications. Each group will have its own agenda:

2008 August 26-28 (Widgets Only F2F Meeting)

2008 July 1-3

1-3 July 2008, Hosted by Microsoft in Redmond, Washington.

Distributed Meetings aka TelCons

WebApps has some irregularly scheduled distributed meetings (aka telcons). Below is common information and logistics for these distributed meetings and some meeting-specific information.

General Information

The following information applies to all of WebApps' meetings (distributed and f2f):

  • IRC: server and port: irc://irc.w3.org:6665/ ; channel is #webapps
    • Each participant should type the following immediately after joining the irc channel:
      • Present+ FirstName_LastName (for example: Present+ John_Smith)
  • VoIP/Phone:
    • For phone only access, the call-in number is always +1.617.324.0000; no international phone numbers are supported.
    • For VoIP access, use WebEx; see the WebEx FAQ for more information.
    • If you're using an Android device, start the Cisco WebEx Meeting app.
    • Each participant should use a local mute button on their device to control their own audio.

Best Practices

  • Each WebEx will open 15 mins earlier than the scheduled time.
  • Submit a draft agenda to the group's mail list at least 24 hours before the meeting starts.
  • Submit the minutes to the appropriate mail list immediately after the meeting.

DOM 3 Events

  • Day + Time:
    • Tuesday: San Francisco 17:00; Boston 20:00;
    • Wednesday: UTC: 00:00; Paris: 02:00; Helsinki: 03:00; Tokyo: 09:00
  • Join by phone
    • +1-617-324-0000 US Toll Number
    • Access code: 647 802 277
    • Mobile Auto Dial: +1-617-324-0000,,,647802277#
  • Add this meeting to your calendar.

Web Components

  • Day + Time:
    • Tuesday: San Francisco 09:00; Boston 12:00; UTC: 16:00; Paris: 18:00; Helsinki: 19:00;
    • Wednesday: Tokyo: 01:00
  • Join by phone
    • +1-617-324-0000 US Toll Number
    • Access code: 642 358 761
    • Mobile Auto Dial: +1-617-324-0000,,,642358761#
  • Add this meeting to your calendar.

Editing APIs

  • Day + Time:
    • Friday: San Francisco 08:00; Boston 11:00; UTC: 15:00; Paris: 17:00; Helsinki: 18:00;
    • Saturday: Tokyo: 00:00
  • Join by phone
    • +1-617-324-0000 US Toll Number
    • Access code: 641 412 235
    • Mobile Auto Dial: +1-617-324-0000,,,641412235#
  • Add this meeting to your calendar.

IRC and Meeting Resources

Here are some useful resources regarding IRC (e.g. a short cheat sheet) and meetings:

Web Interface to IRC

If you do do not have an IRC client, or have trouble connecting to IRC from behind a firewall, W3C offers a browser-based IRC Web interface (note: you must have a Member or Invited Expert account to use this).