W3CW3C Internationalization (I18n) Activity: Making the World Wide Web truly world wide!

The GEO Working Group was closed as of 20 Feb 2007. Its work was moved to the I18n Core Working Group.

This page is left here as a historical document, and is not maintained.

Internationalization GEO Working Group
Home Page

about - current work - documents - how to join - meetings - lists

Go to top of page.About GEO

The Internationalization (I18N) Guidelines, Education & Outreach (GEO) Working Group is part of the W3C Internationalization Activity.

Mission: Help to make the internationalization aspects of W3C technology better understood and more widely and consistently used.

For more details, see the Working Group Charter.

Go to top of page.How to join

If you wish to become a member of the working group follow the joining instructions. Working group members are responsible for the development of the group's deliverables, so some minimum commitment is required.

If you are unable to make the required commitment to join the working group, you can still follow the work by accessing the Internationalization Web site, the public mail archive, and all public GEO documents.

You are also encouraged to join the mailing list of the Internationalization Interest Group.

Current participants (member only)

Go to top of page.Meetings

Teleconferences

Wednesdays, at the following time for 1-1.5 hours:

  • UTC/GMT: 5pm
  • Seattle (GMT-8): 10am
  • Boston (GMT-5): 1pm
  • London (GMT+1): 6pm
  • Rabat (GMT+1): 6pm
  • Grenoble (GMT+2): 7pm
  • Melbourne (GMT+10): 3am

Past teleconferences

Face-to-face meetings

Go to top of page.Mailing lists

public-i18n-geo@w3.org

  • Purpose: Discussion by WG members of work on WG deliverables. Note: This list should NOT be used for any questions or discussions of a general nature - the www-international list is for that purpose.

  • Access rights: Public access to archive. Write access for task force participants and W3C members only.

  • To subscribe: Become a member of the GEO WG.

  • Archives: http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-i18n-geo/ (public).

member-i18n-geo@w3.org

www-international@w3.org

  • Purpose: Internationalization Interest Group mailing list.

    The WG uses this list to announce the publication of deliverables, to solicit reviews of deliverables prior to release, and for discussion of general topics or solicitation of feedback related to its work.

  • Access rights: Public read and write access.

  • To subscribe: send a mail to www-international-request@w3.org with subscribe as the subject.

  • Archives: http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-international/ (public).

Go to top of page.Current work

We are currently developing the following:

Go to top of page.GEO Documents

See the GEO Work Items Pipeline.

The pipeline points to articles that are currently in development.

Working Drafts

Miscellaneous working documents:

Techniques planning documents:


Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!Unicode EncodedChair: Richard Ishida (ishida at w3 dot com)
Team Contact: Richard Ishida (ishida at w3 dot org)

$Id: Overview.html,v 1.81 2009/02/24 20:38:58 rishida Exp $