Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) 1.0 Specification

W3C Recommendation 04 September 2001

This version:
(Available as: PDF, zip archive of HTML)
Latest version:
Previous version:
Jon Ferraiolo <jferraio@adobe.com>
See author list


This specification defines the features and syntax for Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG), a language for describing two-dimensional vector and mixed vector/raster graphics in XML.

Status of this document

This section describes the status of this document at the time of its publication. Other documents may supersede this document. The latest status of this document series is maintained at the W3C.

This document has been reviewed by W3C Members and other interested parties and has been endorsed by the Director as a W3C Recommendation. It is a stable document and may be used as reference material or cited as a normative reference from another document. W3C's role in making the Recommendation is to draw attention to the specification and to promote its widespread deployment. This enhances the functionality and interoperability of the Web.

This document has been produced by the W3C SVG Working Group as part of the activity of the Graphics Activity within the W3C Document Formats Domain. The goals of the W3C SVG 1.0 Working Group are discussed in the W3C SVG WG Charter (11 November 2000 - members only). The W3C SVG Working Group has maintained a public Web page http://www.w3.org/Graphics/SVG/ which contains further background information.

The SVG Working Group believes that all features in the SVG 1.0 Recommendation are implementable due to substantial implementation experience with generators, viewers and transcoders based on the SVG specification, the amount of SVG content that has been developed to date, and interoperability results against the SVG conformance test suite. A report on implementation status was made at the end of the Candidate Recommendation review period. The implementation results are publicly released and are intended solely to be used as proof of SVG 1.0 implementability. It is only a snap shot of the actual implementation behaviors at one moment of time, as these implementations may not be immediately available to the public. The interoperability data is not intended to be used for assessing or grading the performance of any individual implementation. It is intended that this report will be updated from time to time by the follow-on activity that oversees the SVG Recommendation.

There are patent disclosures and license commitments associated with the SVG 1.0 specification. These may be found on the SVG 1.0 Patent Statements in conformance with W3C policy.

This version of this document incorporates some editorial changes from earlier versions. A list of changes since the Proposed Recommendation specification of 19 July, 2001 is available.

Public discussion of issues related to vector graphics on the Web and SVG in particular takes place on the www-svg@w3.org (public mailing list of the SVG Working Group - list archives). To subscribe send an email to www-svg-request@w3.org with the word subscribe in the subject line.

The authors of this document are the SVG Working Group members (see author list). The editor is Jon Ferraiolo. The W3C staff contact for work on SVG is Dean Jackson.

Please report errors in this document to www-svg@w3.org. The list of known errors in this specification is available at http://www.w3.org/2001/09/REC-SVG-20010904-errata.

A list of current W3C Recommendations and other technical documents can be found at http://www.w3.org/TR.

Available languages

The English version of this specification is the only normative version. However, for translations in other languages see http://www.w3.org/Graphics/SVG/svg-updates/translations.html.

Table of Contents

The authors of the SVG 1.0 specification are the people who participated in the SVG 1.0 Working Group as members or alternates.

John Bowler, Microsoft Corporation <johnbo@microsoft.com>
Craig Brown, Canon <cmb@research.canon.com.au>
Milt Capsimalis, Autodesk Inc. <milt@autodesk.com>
Richard Cohn, Adobe Systems Incorporated <richard@covero.com>
Lee Cole, Quark <lcole@quark.com>
Thomas E Deweese, Kodak <thomas.deweese@kodak.com>
David Dodds, Lexica <ddodds@lexica.net>
Andrew Donoho, IBM <awd@us.ibm.com>
David Duce, Oxford Brookes University <daduce@brookes.ac.uk>
Jerry Evans, Sun Microsystems <jerry.evans@Eng.sun.com>
Jon Ferraiolo, Adobe Systems Incorporated <jferraio@adobe.com>
Jun Fujisawa, Canon <fujisawa.jun@canon.co.jp>
Scott Furman, Netscape Communications Corporation <fur@netscape.com>
Brent Getlin, Macromedia <bgetlin@macromedia.com>
Peter Graffagnino, Apple <pgraff@apple.com>
Rick Graham, BitFlash Inc. <rick@bitflash.com>
Vincent Hardy, Sun Microsystems, <vincent.hardy@sun.com>
Lofton Henderson, OASIS, <lofton@rockynet.com>
Jan Christian Herlitz , Excosoft, <J-C.Herlitz@excosoft.se>
Alan Hester, Xerox Corporation <Alan.Hester@usa.xerox.com>
Bob Hopgood, RAL (CCLRC) <frah@inf.rl.ac.uk>
Dean Jackson, CSIRO <dean@w3.org>
Christophe Jolif, ILOG <jolif@ilog.fr>
Kelvin Lawrence, IBM <klawrenc@us.ibm.com>
Håkon Lie, Opera <howcome@operasoftware.com >
Chris Lilley, W3C <chris@w3.org>
Philip Mansfield, IntraNet Solutions, Inc. <philipm@schemasoft.com>
Kevin McCluskey, Netscape Communications Corporation <kmcclusk@netscape.com>
Tuan Nguyen, Microsoft Corporation <tuann@microsoft.com>
Troy Sandal, Visio Corporation <TroyS@visio.com>
Peter Santangeli, Macromedia <psantangeli@macromedia.com>
Haroon Sheikh, Corel Corporation <haroons@corel.ca>
Gavriel State, Corel Corporation <gavriels@COREL.CA>
Robert Stevahn, Hewlett-Packard Company <rstevahn@boi.hp.com>
Timothy Thompson, Kodak <timothy.thompson@kodak.com>
Rick Yardumian, Canon <richard.yardumian@cis.canon.com>
Shenxue Zhou, Quark <szhou@quark.com>


The SVG Working Group would like to acknowledge the great many people outside of the SVG 1.0 Working Group who helped with the process of developing the SVG 1.0 specification. These people are too numerous to list individually. They include but are not limited to the early implementers of the SVG 1.0 language (including viewers, authoring tools, and server-side transcoders), developers of SVG content, people who have contributed on the www-svg@w3.org and svg-developers@yahoogroups.com email lists, other Working Groups at the W3C, and the W3C team. SVG 1.0 was truly a cooperative effort between the SVG Working Group, the rest of the W3C, and the public and benefited greatly from the pioneering work of early implementers and content developers, feedback from the public, and help from the W3C team.

Valid HTML 4.0! Valid CSS!