Skip to toolbar

Community & Business Groups

Call for Participation in Audio Description Community Group

The Audio Description Community Group has been launched:

Mission: To create an open standard file format to support audio description all the way from scripting to mixing.

Scope: To agree requirements and propose a workable open standard file format for audio description, probably a profile of TTML2, with the intention of moving to the Rec track within a Working Group.


  • Requirements document
  • Draft specification document
  • Explainer

In order to join the group, you will need a W3C account. Please note, however, that W3C Membership is not required to join a Community Group.

This is a community initiative. This group was originally proposed on 2018-04-05 by Nigel Megitt. The following people supported its creation: Nigel Megitt, Mike Dolan, Chris O'Brien, Gradimir Kragić, Gandharv Bhagat, Gian Wild, Marisa DeMeglio, Sally Cain, John Paton, John Birch, Matthew Paradis, Owen Edwards, Jonathan Penny. W3C’s hosting of this group does not imply endorsement of the activities.

The group must now choose a chair. Read more about how to get started in a new group and good practice for running a group.

We invite you to share news of this new group in social media and other channels.

If you believe that there is an issue with this group that requires the attention of the W3C staff, please email us at

Thank you,
W3C Community Development Team

One Response to Call for Participation in Audio Description Community Group

  • Nigel Megitt

    On a call before proposing this group there was consensus that I should be Chair, so I’ve assigned myself to be a Chair. Obviously I’m happy to discuss that should anyone want to join me in also being a Chair, or actually prefer me to take a different role.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Before you comment here, note that this forum is moderated and your IP address is sent to Akismet, the plugin we use to mitigate spam comments.