AB/2022-08-BER

From W3C Wiki
< AB
Jump to: navigation, search

W3C Advisory Board Meeting 2022-08 Berlin

The W3C AB summer transition meeting:

Before you travel

Weather

See weather forecasts to plan what to pack/wear in Berlin during your visit:

Plan your local transportation

Berlin Airport to Berlin city center:

  • There are regular trains from the Berlin Airport (BER) to the main central Berlin train station (Hauptbahnhof)
  • From Hauptbahnhof there are regular busses and local light rail (S-Bahn) to other neighborhoods of Berlin.

Tickets:

  • For the month of August there is a special 9-Euro-Ticket which allows use of all bus and train travel on local public transport for the entire month, for everyone, everywhere in Germany.

You can buy a 9-Euro-Ticket ticket for the month of August online:

  • https://www.bahn.com/en/offers/regional/9-euro-ticket-en
  • or in the BVG Fahrinfo mobile app
    • Dave downloaded the app and bought such a ticket. It doesn't go into the Apple Wallet, and though I had to enter an address and the only countries offered were in Europe so I lied and said UK, I could still buy the ticket using ApplePay.
  • or from any of the physical vending machines at the airport or Berlin central station

Covid Precautions

Travel Precautions

In Germany you are still required to wear a mask (FFP2/KN95 or better) on public transport.

There is no masking requirement in taxis.

Please strongly consider masking (with FFP2/KN95 or better, e.g. a fitted N95 respirator) during your entire travel, including in airports, and on flights.

Official resources:

Meeting Precautions

In addition to following Covid rules for entering into Germany, the following are proposed. Participants must:

  • be fully vaccinated (including a booster), unless there is a medical reason they cannot be (in which case, please disclose to other participants so they can make an informed decision about their participation).
  • self-test daily in the morning before each meeting day (rapid tests are available at Berlin pharmacies, and there are nearby rapid testing centers)
  • wear a KN-95/FFP2/N95 mask or better while indoors
  • stay home (or in their hotel) if they have any cold/flu/covid symptoms

Additional precautions:

  • Open windows. The room we are meeting in has windows which we will open to allow fresh air to circulate.
  • Spaced seating. Depending on the number of participants, we will try to seat participants with an empty chair in between any two participants around the meeting table.

Participants

Name (org) Food prefs Arrive date Depart date Hotel Flight info Notes


Tantek Çelik (Mozilla) vegan 2022-08-12 2022-08-22 local room tbd @t
[Tatsuya Igarashi] ([Sony Group]) do not like chicken 2022-08-15 night 2022-08-19 HAMPTON BY HILTON BERLIN CITY WES BA0988
Florian Rivoal omnivore 2022-08-15 2022-08-19 Hotel Tiergarten LH1085 / LH44 @frivoal
Léonie Watson (TetraLogical) Omnivore 2022-08-15 2022-08-19 Hansablick TBD @LeonieWatson
Eric Siow (Intel) Omnivore 2022-08-14 2022-08-20 Ameron Abion Hotel TBD https://www.linkedin.com/in/esiow/
David Singer (Apple) omnivore 2022-08-14 2022-08-19 Hansablick LH1936 arr 14th 12:05; BA983 dep 19th 12:20
Chris Wilson (Google) omnivore 2022-08-15 2022-08-19 Ameron Abion Hotel flight info tbd
Jeff Jaffe (W3C) Kosher 2022-08-15 late morning 2022-08-18 late afternoon Ameron Abion Hotel TBD
Your Name Here (Your Org Here) dietary allergies/restrictions/preferences 2022-08-DD 2022-08-DD your hotel here your flight info here your twitter or other online profiles

Remote Participants

Please add yourself if you are available for remote participation via Zoom and IRC. Remote participation Zoom details

Name (org) Available start datetime Available end datetime Timezone Notes
Your_name (Your_org) 2022-08-DD HH:MM Your_available_start_time 2022-08-DD HH:MM Your_available_end_time Your_timezone Your_notes


Tzviya 2022-08-16, 17, 18 7 AM - 10 AM UTC, 12 PM UTC - 8 PM UTC Eastern
Heejin 2022-08-16, 17, 18 7 AM - 10 AM UTC, 12 PM UTC - 4 PM UTC KST
Ralph 2022-08-16, 17, 18 will accommodate Berlin time EDT
Dingwei 2022-08-16, 17, 18 will accommodate Berlin time Beijing
Hongru Zhu 2022-08-16, 8 AM - 1:45 PM UTC, 2022-08-17, 8 AM - 3:00 PM UTC, 2022-08-18, 8 AM - 1:00 PM UTC Beijing

Regrets

Unable to make it either in-person or remotely? Please confirm your regrets here:

  • ...

Agenda

2022-08-15

Early arrivals - add your name here if you're interested in an informal dinner or other plans on the day/night before the AB meeting.

  • Tantek
  • Possibly Chris (arriving that afternoon)
  • Léonie
  • David
  • ...

2022-08-16

Topic Presenter
08:00-08:15 UTC (10am CET, 4am ET) Team Update Jeff
08:15-09:00 UTC (10:15am CET, 4:15 ET) Role of the AB vs Board of Directors Discuss the responsibilities and scope of the AB for the future. Chris
09:00-10:00 UTC (11am CET, 5am ET) Conflict resolution/team building Tzviya
10:00-11:30 UTC (12pm CET, 6am ET) Lunch
11:30-12:30 UTC (1:30pm CET, 7:30am ET) Future of Web technology standards Dingwei
12:30-12:45 UTC (2:30pm CET, 8:30 ET) Break
12:45-13:45 UTC (2:45pm CET, 8:45am ET) Vision/Mission/Principles Discuss principles, open issues

The current draft is in Github, with its associated open issues.

Chris
13:45-14:00 UTC (3:45pm CET, 9:45am ET) Break
14:00-15:00 UTC (4pm CET, 10am ET) Big questions from the Process Any large topics surfaced by Process CG, including what more we need for a Director-free Process
  1. There is a question on the Councils about whether some 'difficult' decisions (eg. with possible consequences, or visibility concerns e.g around CEPC) can be delegated e.g. to an Officer, the Board, or s suitable employee, or some combination?
  2. Appointments to the TAG. We have hypothesized a TAG appointment committee (in the DirFree Branch). However, the TAG has concerns and we have never experimented with it. Should we (a) adopt or (b) experiment with this or (c) do something else?
  3. Continuity of appointed TAG terms. Should we force a break in the continuity of TAG appointments?
  4. There are issues labeled needing AB attention. At the time of writing, most are covered by either the Council or TAG appointments questions; the remaining ones might benefit if AB members were to comment in the issue, but discussion time does not seem needed (though the second might usefully have some if there is time):
    1. Is a Community Group the right place to develop our own Process? #561
    2. TAG and AB should be able to formally review charters #328
  5. AB should be aware of, but does not need to discuss, what the Process CG has as priority issues for the next revision.
PLH/Elika/Florian/David

2022-08-17

Topic Presenter
08:00-10:00 UTC (10am CET, 4am ET) Chairing Discuss chairing, provide advice to Team on Chair appointment Ralph, Chairs
10:00-11:30 UTC (12pm CET, 6am ET) Lunch
11:30-12:30 UTC (1:30pm CET, 7:30am ET) Details of revised Member agreement Review the path for the Member agreement David/Wendy
12:30-12:45 UTC (2:30pm CET, 8:30am ET) Group Photo with in-person participants, and remote participants on Zoom screen
12:45-13:45 UTC (2:45pm CET, 8:45am ET) Priorities 2022-23 session 1 Initial brainstorming Chairs
13:45-14:00 UTC (3:45pm CET, 9:45am ET) Break
14:00-15:00 UTC (4pm CET, 10am ET) Governance Task Force Join Governance TF meeting

2022-08-18

Topic Presenter
08:00-09:00 UTC (10am CET, 4am ET) FO Councils What's next, recaps, documenting precedence.

Documented in The DirFree branch of the Process. Questions:

  1. The draft process has a number of deadlines, that we're not respecting. Should we retain them and try to come into line, or revise them?
  2. are we ready to take the current draft Dismissal/Renunciation as a basis and adopt it into the DirFree branch of the Process, or do we seek a new mechanism (like what?)?
  3. should we (a) adopt Councils into P2023, subject to continuing refinement? (b) Continue to treat this as an 'experiment'? (c) Abandon Councils as the way to handle Formal Objections, and do something else (like what?)?
Leonie supported by Florian and David
09:00-10:00 UTC (11am CET, 5am ET) Calendaring Plan AB meetings for the future, particularly FTF meetings Chairs
10:00-11:30 UTC (12pm CET, 6am ET) Lunch
11:30-12:30 UTC (1:30pm CET, 7:30am ET) Priorities 2022/23 session 2 Prioritize and choose most important priorities for AB for the next year. Chairs
12:30-12:45 UTC (2:30pm CET, 8:30am ET) Break
12:45-13:15 UTC (2:45pm CET, 8:45am ET) Any other Business? Overflow topics, open discussion
13:15-13:30 UTC (3:15pm CET, 9:15am ET) Break
13:30-15:00 UTC (3:30pm CET, 9:30am ET) AB closed session

Housing

Recommended Hotels

The following hotels are recommended by Berlin locals near the meeting venue:

  • Ameron Abion Hotel, Alt-Moabit 99, 10559 Berlin, GERMANY
    • This hotel is right next to DFKI by the river
  • Hotel Tiergarten Berlin, Alt-Moabit 89, 10559 Berlin, GERMANY
  • ...

Travel to from Meeting Site

  • ...

Group dinners

If you would like to organize an informal group dinner during the week of the meetings, please feel free to note you’d like to plan or propose something with your name (or even just your name) for these evenings:

  • 15th: ___________
  • 16th: ___________
  • 17th: ___________
  • 18th: ___________
  • 19th: ___________

Covid Testing

Note: free Federal testing closed in June of 2022. All asymptomatic testing has a fee (depending on type and how soon you need results)

Here are a few PCR & rapid antigen test centers that are near or within reach of the venue:

Questions

Please feel free to add any questions for the organizer here.

Previously