W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire Microdata Note vs Recommendation Track Preference Survey

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody. In addition, answers are sent to the following email addresses: pcotton@microsoft.com, rubys@intertwingly.net, mjs@apple.com, mike@w3.org

This questionnaire was open from 2013-01-16 to 2013-01-24.

36 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Should HTML Microdata continue on the Recommendation track?

1. Should HTML Microdata continue on the Recommendation track?

HTML WG has not reached consensus on whether the Microdata specification should continue to progress on the Recommendation Track or if the Working Group should end work by publishing a Working Group Note. This Preference Survey results from discussions on bug 20082. This bug has not been resolved and it is considered that further discussion in bugzilla will not result in the bug being resolved.

Clearly, we do not have unanimity on how to proceed. Rationales have been provided for both positions:

At this point, per the Decision Policy, we are proceeding using this survey to give Working Group participants a final opportunity to express their preference.

Since this is a process, not a technical decision, the survey is by individual not organization. Simple majority wins.

Please read the rationale statements carefully before responding.

A yes answer indicates you would like HTML Microdata to continue on the Recommendation Track.

A no answer indicates that you would like to see work on HTML Microdata ended at this time and for the results to be published as a Working Group Note.


ChoiceAll responders
yes 32
no 4


Responder Should HTML Microdata continue on the Recommendation track?Rationale
Sam Ruby yes
Steve Faulkner yes
Julian Reschke no Keeping both on the REC track doesn't help developers who are hesitant to add metadata because of the uncertainty which to pick. Yes, the W3C should take a position here.
John Vernaleo no
Dominik Tomaszuk no
Channy Yun yes I think its recommendation will help developer's behavior of the semantic markup.
Simon Myers yes Microdata is in use on websites. So there should be a live spec for it, to keep the web interoperable.

Picking between competing technologies is something that'll be decided by the market, not a committee.
Graham Klyne no Contrary to some claims made, I don't see this vote as requiring that work on microdata be stopped or "tombstoned". I view publication of a note as a reasonable option for creating a documented technical spec for which current consensus to progress may be lacking, but which allows the work to be further developed to a formal recommendation if the "market" subsequently demonstrates a clear desire to do so.

Meanwhile, I think it preferable to focus available effort on RDFa which, though its basis in the RDF abstract model, connects to a wider range of possible uses than Microdata.

The increased complexity of the RDFa processing model w.r.t. Microdata is a concern, but given the overall complexity of modern browser platforms, and wide availability of support libraries for other platforms, I feel this is not sufficient to outweigh the advantages of wider exchangeability of encoded data.
Bryan Sullivan yes While two specs for the same purpose is not an optimal approach, the market has experience with that situation, and the web and W3C keeps growing nonetheless. Given that Microdata has good implementer support, I think it's better to let the market decide what tech best meets its needs in the long run. It may still be both.
Lee Kowalkowski yes If it is common-practice 'in the wild', then it's better to have an official specification for it sooner, rather than later, no?
Theresa O'Connor yes It's shipping in UAs; let's drive those implementations toward interop.
Eric Carlson yes
David Singer yes The hypothesis in the bug -- that the W3C should never publish specs with overlapping applicability -- is unsubstantiated. Microdata and RDF specs and implementations can co-exist. Microdata is mature enough for publication, and significant enough to be appropriate under the rigor and benefits of the Rec. track.
Tab Atkins Jr. yes Moving a specification that is implemented in browsers to the Note track for political reasons is, to put it lightly, stupid. It also flies directly in the face of the very reasoning that was employed to get *RDFa in HTML* on the spec track.
Masataka Yakura yes
Jens Meiert yes
Tantek Çelik yes I support specifying multiple approaches (where people feel compelled to do the work to do so) and letting web authors decide. For that matter, I would also support an "HTML microformats" specification proceeding along Recommendation track as well.

W3C has a history of allowing multiple solutions to a problem to proceed, and each has a tendency to help improve the other (e.g.: CSS and XSLFO, Selectors and XPath).

microformats/microdata/RDFa have had a positive co-evolutionary (often complementary) relationship, and I expect to see that continue.
Philippe Le Hégaret yes
Michael[tm] Smith yes
Robin Berjon yes
Glenn Adams yes
Marcos Caceres yes
Adrian Bateman yes This spec includes technology that is incorporated into various products and web sites and should benefit from the W3C Patent Policy by becoming a W3C Recommendation (which doesn't apply to a Note).

Having multiple alternatives and letting the market decide which technology is suitable for what doesn't seem like a problem (HTML vs. XHTML, JPG vs. PNG, etc.). Sometimes alternatives are better for some scenarios than others, sometimes it's a matter of taste.
James Graham yes
Henri Sivonen yes
Leif Halvard Silli yes
Matthew Turvey yes
Yang Sun yes
Travis Leithead yes
Eliot Graff yes
Jay Munro yes
Tony Ross yes
Arthur Barstow yes
Erika Doyle Navara yes
Jason Kiss yes
Charles McCathie Nevile yes It is not clear that Microdata should become a Recommendation, although it currently has wide usage (we collect "a lot" of it in our web index). But it makes sense for it to continue through Candidate Recommendation, to determine whether the spec is sufficiently well written to be interoperably implemented, whatever the final outcome.

More details on responses


The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Patrick D F Ion <ion@ams.org>
  2. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  3. Liam Quin <liam@w3.org>
  4. Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>
  5. Chris Wilson <cwilso@google.com>
  6. David Carlisle <davidc@nag.co.uk>
  7. James Helman <jhelman@movielabs.com>
  8. Jim Allan <jimallan@tsbvi.edu>
  9. Chris Marrin <cmarrin@apple.com>
  10. Don Brutzman <brutzman@nps.edu>
  11. T.V. Raman <raman@google.com>
  12. Daniel Glazman <daniel.glazman@disruptive-innovations.com>
  13. Karl Dubost <karl@la-grange.net>
  14. Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>
  15. Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
  16. Lisa Seeman <lisa.seeman@zoho.com>
  17. Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
  18. Wu Chou <wu.chou@huawei.com>
  19. Katsuhiko Momoi <momoi@google.com>
  20. Kangchan Lee <chan@w3.org>
  21. Roy Fielding <fielding@gbiv.com>
  22. Johnny Stenback <jst@mozilla.com>
  23. Deborah Dahl <dahl@conversational-technologies.com>
  24. Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>
  25. Jonathan Jeon <hollobit@etri.re.kr>
  26. David Hyatt <hyatt@apple.com>
  27. WonSuk Lee <wonsuk.lee@etri.re.kr>
  28. Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
  29. Robert Accettura <robert@accettura.com>
  30. Jonathan Watt <jwatt@jwatt.org>
  31. Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo <emmanuelle@sidar.org>
  32. Patrick Lauke <redux@splintered.co.uk>
  33. David MacDonald <David100@sympatico.ca>
  34. Jack Jansen <jack@cwi.nl>
  35. Kazuhito Kidachi <k-kidachi@mitsue.co.jp>
  36. Markku Hakkinen <mhakkinen@ets.org>
  37. Cyril Concolato <cyril.concolato@telecom-paristech.fr>
  38. Felix Sasaki <fsasaki@w3.org>
  39. Kazuyuki Ashimura <ashimura@w3.org>
  40. Tomas Caspers <tomas@tomascaspers.de>
  41. Han Xu <collin@w3china.org>
  42. Mark Crawford <mark.crawford@sap.com>
  43. Preety Kumar <preety.kumar@deque.com>
  44. Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>
  45. Ian Fette <ifette@google.com>
  46. Cameron McCormack <cam@mcc.id.au>
  47. Stefan Schnabel <stefan.schnabel@sap.com>
  48. Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz>
  49. Youngsun Ryu <ysryu@samsung.com>
  50. Sierk Bornemann <sierkb@gmail.com>
  51. Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>
  52. Krijn Hoetmer <w3c@qontent.nl>
  53. Shane Thacker <shanethacker@gmail.com>
  54. Vilem Malek <murphy@malek.cz>
  55. Zhihong Mao <zhihong.mao@gmail.com>
  56. Benoit Piette <benoit.piette@gmail.com>
  57. Erik van Kempen <erikvankempen@gmail.com>
  58. Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>
  59. Nick Fitzsimons <w3@nickfitz.co.uk>
  60. Josh Lawton <w3c@joshlawton.com>
  61. Adele Peterson <adele@apple.com>
  62. S Emerson <w3c@accretewebsolutions.ca>
  63. Morten Tollefsen <morten@medialt.no>
  64. Daniel Schattenkirchner <schattenkirchner.daniel@gmx.de>
  65. Justin Anthony Knapp <justinkoavf@gmail.com>
  66. Samuel Weinig <weinig@apple.com>
  67. Alexey Proskuryakov <ap@webkit.org>
  68. Alejandro Fernandez <alejandro@mediadvanced.com>
  69. Doug Jones <doug_b_jones@me.com>
  70. Marc Drumm <mdrumm@wcupa.edu>
  71. Danny Liang <danny.glue@gmail.com>
  72. Michael Puls II <shadow2531@gmail.com>
  73. Ron Reisor <ron@udel.edu>
  74. Marat Tanalin <mtanalin@yandex.ru>
  75. Andrew Norman <idonothaveacat@gmail.com>
  76. Craig Buckler <craigbuckler@gmail.com>
  77. Dale Hudjik <dale.hudjik@gmail.com>
  78. James Cassell <w3c@cyberpear.com>
  79. Joseph D'Andrea <jdandrea@gmail.com>
  80. Michael Turnwall <w3c@turnwall.net>
  81. Don Kiely <donkiely@computer.org>
  82. David Child <dave@addedbytes.com>
  83. Mark DuBois <Mark@webprofessionals.org>
  84. David Bills <w3@dfbills.com>
  85. Nik Thierry <me@thisemail.ca>
  86. Andrew Ramsden <andrew@irama.org>
  87. John Foliot <john.foliot@deque.com>
  88. Shefik Macauley <allknightaccess@gmail.com>
  89. Joe Steele <steele@adobe.com>
  90. Jeremy Keith <jeremy@adactio.com>
  91. Jedi Lin <JediLin@Gmail.com>
  92. Jon Hughes <jon@phazm.com>
  93. Samuel Santos <samaxes@gmail.com>
  94. Dean Jackson <dino@apple.com>
  95. Mohammed DADAS <mohammed.dadas@orange.com>
  96. Sally Cain <sally.cain@rnib.org.uk>
  97. Dan Romascanu <dromasca@avaya.com>
  98. David Bolter <dbolter@mozilla.com>
  99. James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
  100. MING JIN <ming.jin.web@gmail.com>
  101. Leonard Rosenthol <lrosenth@adobe.com>
  102. Dionysios Synodinos <synodinos@gmail.com>
  103. Jean-Pierre EVAIN <evain@ebu.ch>
  104. Mark Pilgrim <pilgrim@google.com>
  105. Matt Lee <mattl@cnuk.org>
  106. Magnus Olsson <magnus.olsson@ericsson.com>
  107. Chris Pearce <cpearce@mozilla.com>
  108. Mark Miller <erights@google.com>
  109. Andrew Wilson <atwilson@google.com>
  110. Per-Erik Brodin <per-erik.brodin@ericsson.com>
  111. Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>
  112. Martin McEvoy <martin@weborganics.co.uk>
  113. Aryeh Gregor <ayg@aryeh.name>
  114. Jonathan Griffin <jgriffin@mozilla.com>
  115. Anders Bondehagen <anders@bondehagen.com>
  116. Steven Pemberton <Steven.Pemberton@cwi.nl>
  117. Raul Hudea <rhudea@adobe.com>
  118. Raghavan Gurumurthy <raghavan@adobe.com>
  119. Mayank Kumar <mayankk@adobe.com>
  120. Dragos Georgita <dgeorgit@adobe.com>
  121. Christopher Bank <cbank@adobe.com>
  122. Ole Riesenberg <or@oleriesenberg.com>
  123. Takuya Oikawa <takuya@google.com>
  124. Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>
  125. Robert Stern <rstern@gmail.com>
  126. Eihab Ibrahim <eihabibrahim@gmail.com>
  127. Kensaku KOMATSU <kensaku.komatsu@gmail.com>
  128. Jer Noble <jer.noble@apple.com>
  129. Masatomo Kobayashi <mstm@jp.ibm.com>
  130. Peter Beverloo <beverloo@google.com>
  131. Andrew Scherkus <scherkus@google.com>
  132. Greg Johnson <greg.johnson@gmail.com>
  133. Martijn Croonen <martijn@martijnc.be>
  134. Stanley Manoski <manoski@mitre.org>
  135. Yosuke Funahashi <yosuke@w3.org>
  136. Mounir Lamouri <mlamouri@google.com>
  137. Tony Gentilcore <tonyg@google.com>
  138. Joseph Pecoraro <pecoraro@apple.com>
  139. Bob Lund <b.lund@cablelabs.com>
  140. Tatsuya Igarashi <Tatsuya.Igarashi@jp.sony.com>
  141. John Simmons <johnsim@microsoft.com>
  142. Mathias Bynens <mathias@qiwi.be>
  143. Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>
  144. Clarke Stevens <c.stevens@cablelabs.com>
  145. Mark Vickers <mark_vickers@comcast.com>
  146. Sree Kotay <Sree_Kotay@cable.comcast.com>
  147. Cameron Jones <cmhjones@gmail.com>
  148. Rik Cabanier <Cabanier@adobe.com>
  149. Jeremy LaCivita <jeremy.lacivita@theplatform.com>
  150. Denis Ah-Kang <denis@w3.org>
  151. Alvar Laigna <laigna@gmail.com>
  152. Kunio Ito <kunio.ito@mail.rakuten.com>
  153. David Mays <david_mays@comcast.com>
  154. Michael Chen <michael_chen@cable.comcast.com>
  155. jongyoul Park <jongyoul@etri.re.kr>
  156. Kilroy Hughes <kilroy.hughes@microsoft.com>
  157. Reinaldo Ferraz <reinaldo@nic.br>
  158. Bill Mandel <bill.mandel@nbcuni.com>
  159. Eva Lingyun Jing <jinglingyun@baidu.com>
  160. GANG LIANG <gang.liang@huawei.com>
  161. Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>
  162. Gian Luca Marroni <gmarroni@libero.it>
  163. Ian Devlin <ian@iandevlin.com>
  164. Xingrong Guo <guoxingrong@baidu.com>
  165. Jet Villegas <w3c@junglecode.net>
  166. Alexander Surkov <surkov.alexander@gmail.com>
  167. Hasan Savran <hsavran@kent.edu>
  168. Eric VonColln <eric.voncolln@navy.mil>
  169. Jungkee Song <jungkee.song@samsung.com>
  170. Rayi Lei <leiyi@baidu.com>
  171. Daniel Austin <daniel.austin@grintech.net>
  172. David Dorwin <ddorwin@google.com>
  173. jiexuan gao <gaojiexuan@baidu.com>
  174. Xiaoqing Yang <yangxiaoqing@baidu.com>
  175. Aaron Colwell <acolwell@google.com>
  176. Alex Giladi <alex.giladi@huawei.com>
  177. Motomasa Futagami <Motomasa.Futagami@jp.sony.com>
  178. Kevin Streeter <kstreete@adobe.com>
  179. Christian Kaiser <kaiserc@google.com>
  180. Xuejian Li <lixuejian@baidu.com>
  181. Zuncheng Yang <yangzuncheng@baidu.com>
  182. Qianglong Zheng <zhengqianglong@baidu.com>
  183. Zhou Shen <shenzhou@baidu.com>
  184. Duoyi Wu <wuduoyi@baidu.com>
  185. Zheng Jia <jiazheng@baidu.com>
  186. Weifeng Feng <fengweifeng@baidu.com>
  187. Damin Hu <hudamin@baidu.com>
  188. Yang Liu <liuyang12@baidu.com>
  189. Zhixing Lei <leizhixing@baidu.com>
  190. Honggang Tang <tanghonggang@baidu.com>
  191. Kefeng Li <buaadallas@gmail.com>
  192. Xu Ma <maxu@baidu.com>
  193. Junzhong Liu <liujunzhong@baidu.com>
  194. Stefan Kaiser <stefan.kaiser@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  195. Sheau Ng <Sheau.ng@nbcuni.com>
  196. Stefan Pham <stefan.pham@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  197. Ami Fischman <fischman@google.com>
  198. Arnaud Braud <arnaud.braud@orange.com>
  199. Futomi Hatano <futomi.hatano@newphoria.co.jp>
  200. Bram Tullemans <tullemans@ebu.ch>
  201. Petr Peterka <ppeterka@verimatrix.com>
  202. lei wang <wanglei03@baidu.com>
  203. Milan Patel <Milan.Patel@huawei.com>
  204. Yiling Gu <guyiling@baidu.com>
  205. Zefa Xiong <xiongzefa@baidu.com>
  206. shanglin chen <chenshanglin@baidu.com>
  207. Yaso Córdova <who@yaso.is>
  208. Ping Wu <wuping02@baidu.com>
  209. Bin Chen <chenbin01@baidu.com>
  210. Youichi Takashima <takashima.youichi@lab.ntt.co.jp>
  211. Patrick Ladd <Pat_Ladd2@cable.comcast.com>
  212. Norifumi Kikkawa <norifumi.kikkawa@jp.sony.com>
  213. Hanrui Gao <gaohanrui@360.cn>
  214. Hao Jing <jh.jinghao@huawei.com>
  215. Glenn Deen <glenn.deen@nbcuni.com>
  216. Lei Wang <wanglei@baidu.com>
  217. Tom Handal <thandal@verimatrix.com>
  218. Pengcheng Guo <guopengcheng@baidu.com>
  219. Tom Wiltzius <wiltzius@google.com>
  220. Pierre-Anthony Lemieux <pal@sandflow.com>
  221. Xie Jianhui <xiejianhui@baidu.com>
  222. Yujie Jiang <jiangyujie@baidu.com>
  223. Kazuhiko Takabayashi <kazuhiko.takabayashi@jp.sony.com>
  224. Brady Eidson <beidson@apple.com>
  225. Jerry Smith <jdsmith@microsoft.com>
  226. Michael Thornburgh <mthornbu@adobe.com>
  227. Cyril Rickelton-Abdi <cyril.rickelton-abdi@turner.com>
  228. Andrew Davis <andrew@diff.mx>
  229. Mick Hakobyan <mhakobyan@netflix.com>
  230. Vladimir Sinelnikov <sinelnikov@gmail.com>
  231. Chris Wong <huanghoujin@baidu.com>
  232. Yiliang LIU <liuyiliang@baidu.com>
  233. Hernan Beati <hernanbeati@gmail.com>
  234. mingqiang zhang <imcnan@gmail.com>
  235. yubo zhou <zhouyubo@360.cn>
  236. Ben Barber <barberboy@gmail.com>
  237. Suzanne Taylor <Suzanne.Taylor@pearson.com>
  238. Grzegorz Babula <gbabula@gmail.com>
  239. Brian Kardell <hitchjs@gmail.com>
  240. xueliang fan <fanxueliang@baidu.com>
  241. Niels Thorwirth <nthorwirth@verimatrix.com>
  242. David Evans <david.evans@rd.bbc.co.uk>
  243. Danny O'Brien <danny@eff.org>
  244. Joseph Karr O'Connor <josephoconnor@mac.com>
  245. Seth Schoen <schoen@eff.org>
  246. Yusuke Kagiwada <block.rxckin.beats@gmail.com>
  247. smallni ding <smallniding@tencent.com>
  248. Jamil Ellis <jamil.ellis@hbo.com>
  249. Jim Walsh <jim@jwalshcreative.com>
  250. Greg Davis <greg.davis@pearson.com>
  251. Gabino Alonso <gabinovincent@gmail.com>
  252. Sam Langdon <sam.langdon@hachette.co.uk>
  253. Michael Kelly <mkelly@mozilla.com>
  254. Xiaoqian Wu <xiaoqian@w3.org>
  255. Yue Min <minyue@baidu.com>
  256. Min Li <limin04@baidu.com>
  257. A.S. Krishnakumar <ask@avaya.com>
  258. Jonathan Neal <jonathantneal@gmail.com>
  259. Joanmarie Diggs <jdiggs@igalia.com>
  260. Pedro Xavier Jorge <pedro.xavierjorge@gmail.com>
  261. Akira Torii <Torii.Akira@bp.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  262. So Vang <svang@nab.org>
  263. Nathalia Sautchuk Patrício <nathalia@nic.br>
  264. Deblyn prado <deblyn@nic.br>
  265. Vicente García Díaz <vicegd@live.com>
  266. Nolan Butcher <nolan.butcher@hbo.com>
  267. Shinya Maruyama <Shinya.Maruyama@jp.sony.com>
  268. RAVI CHANDRA RAVULAPATI <ravichandra480@gmail.com>
  269. Yusuke Yokosuka <Yokosuka.Yusuke@bx.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  270. John Riviello <john_riviello@comcast.com>
  271. yaolong wang <wangyaolong@baidu.com>
  272. Tao Liang <liangtao01@baidu.com>
  273. Glenn Eguchi <geguchi@adobe.com>
  274. Lukáš Čihák <lukas.cihak@mensa.cz>
  275. WOOGLAE KIM <wlkim@inswave.com>
  276. Min Ren <minren@tencent.com>
  277. Rustam Khashimkhodjaev <Rustam_Khashimkhodjaev@cable.comcast.com>
  278. Jason White <jjwhite@ets.org>
  279. Hyejin Lee <hjlee@html5forum.or.kr>
  280. Richard Grzeczkowski <richard_grzeczkowski@cable.comcast.com>
  281. qigang huang <qiganghuang@tencent.com>
  282. Pascal Perrot <pascal.perrot@orange.com>
  283. Dapeng Liu <max.ldp@alibaba-inc.com>
  284. Matthew Wolenetz <wolenetz@google.com>
  285. Cory Heslip <cory_heslip@cable.comcast.com>
  286. Shaohang Yang <shaohang.ysh@alibaba-inc.com>
  287. Pramod Patlolla <pramod.patlolla@turner.com>
  288. Cooper Pope <cooper.pope@turner.com>
  289. Choon-Sik Cho <admin@wizvera.com>
  290. Seiji Okumura <Okumura.Seiji@bc.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  291. Eiji Yamamoto <Yamamoto.Eiji@db.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>

Send an email to all the non-responders.

Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire

Maintained by Laurent Carcone, from a development by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.132 2015/11/30 15:46:52 carcone Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to lcarcone@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)