W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire Selection of day and time for weekly HTML WG Media teleconference

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody. In addition, answers are sent to the following email addresses: Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com,rubys@intertwingly.net,mjs@apple.com,mike@w3.org

This questionnaire was open from 2012-05-15 to 2012-05-24.

33 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Picking a day and time for the weekly HTML WG Media teleconference

1. Picking a day and time for the weekly HTML WG Media teleconference

At the HTML WG F2F meeting May 3-4 the WG decided to commence work on the Encrypted Media and Media Sources proposals. In addition the F2F meeting suggested having a separate weekly HTML WG teleconference to cover discussion on these media related items.

Here are links to the proposals:

Encrypted Media Extensions
This proposal extends HTMLMediaElement to enable playback of protected content. The proposed API supports use cases ranging from simple clear key decryption to high value video (given an appropriate user agent implementation).
Media Source Extensions
This proposal extends HTMLMediaElement to allow JavaScript to generate media streams for playback. Allowing JavaScript to generate streams facilitates a variety of use cases like adaptive streaming and time shifting live streams.

Please indicate in the table below at which times you would be available for a weekly HTML WG Media teleconference.

1300 UTC is 6am PDT, 9am EDT, 3pm Paris, 9pm Beijing, 10pm Tokyo/Seoul, 11pm Sydney, 1am Auckland

1500 UTC is 8am PDT, 11am EDT, 5pm Paris, 11pm Beijing, 12midnight Tokyo/Seoul, 1am Sydney, 3am Auckland

2100 UTC is 2pm PDT, 5pm EDT, 11pm Paris, 5am Beijing, 6am Tokyo/Seoul, 7am Sydney, 9am Auckland

If your city or location is not listed then you can click on the time in the first column to get the local time in many different cities.

If any of your choices require qualification, please do so in the Comment field, below. In particular if you are only interested in working on one of the proposals (but not both) please supply that information in the Comment field.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
NoYes, but prefer notYesYes, and prefer
Tuesday, 1300 UTC 12 11 3 7
Tuesday, 1500 UTC 8 6 13 6
Tuesday, 2100 UTC 12 4 5 12
Wednesday, 1300 UTC 13 9 4 7
Wednesday, 1500 UTC 9 2 17 5
Wednesday, 2100 UTC 9 4 8 12

Ranking of choices in order of least unacceptable/most prefered:

RanksAll responders:
1Tuesday, 1500 UTC
2Wednesday, 1500 UTC
3Wednesday, 2100 UTC
4Tuesday, 2100 UTC
5Tuesday, 1300 UTC
6Wednesday, 1300 UTC

Details

Responder Tuesday, 1300 UTCTuesday, 1500 UTCTuesday, 2100 UTCWednesday, 1300 UTCWednesday, 1500 UTCWednesday, 2100 UTCComments
James Helman No Yes, and prefer Yes, and prefer No Yes, and prefer Yes, and prefer
Juhani Huttunen No Yes, but prefer not No Yes, and prefer Yes No
Bob Lund No Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer No Yes Yes, and prefer
John Simmons Yes Yes No Yes Yes Yes
Mark Vickers Yes, but prefer not No Yes, and prefer Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer Yes, and prefer Prefer the same time every week rather than alternating times.
Russell Berkoff No Yes, but prefer not No No No Yes, and prefer
Duncan Rowden Yes Yes No Yes Yes No
Aaron Colwell Yes, but prefer not Yes Yes, and prefer Yes, but prefer not Yes Yes, and prefer
Kevin Streeter Yes, but prefer not Yes No Yes, but prefer not No No
Petr Peterka Yes, but prefer not Yes Yes, and prefer Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer Yes
Martin Soukup Yes, and prefer Yes, but prefer not Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer Yes Yes, but prefer not
Giuseppe Pascale Yes, and prefer Yes No No Yes No
Andrew Scherkus No Yes Yes, and prefer No Yes Yes, and prefer
Glenn Adams Yes, but prefer not No Yes Yes, but prefer not Yes Yes
Youngsun Ryu Yes, and prefer No No Yes, and prefer No No
Adrian Bateman Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer Yes Yes, but prefer not Yes Yes
Bryan Sullivan Yes, but prefer not Yes Yes, and prefer No No Yes, and prefer
Ramesh Pendakur Yes, and prefer No No Yes, and prefer No No
Silvia Pfeiffer Yes, but prefer not No Yes, and prefer Yes, but prefer not No Yes, and prefer I'm in the Sydney time zone
Tatsuya Igarashi Yes, and prefer Yes, but prefer not No Yes, and prefer Yes, but prefer not No We can participate the call from home in the morning, but we can not go to the office by the regular business opening time, 8:30am, if the teleconference is held at 6am-7am Tokyo.


PS. Sony is considering to be a member of HTML WG.
Eric Carlson No Yes Yes, and prefer No Yes Yes, and prefer
Shunichi Gondo Yes, and prefer No Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer No Yes, but prefer not
David Dorwin No Yes Yes, and prefer No Yes Yes, and prefer
Donovan Steve White No Yes No No Yes Yes
Laura Carlson No No No No No No
Bent Christensen No Yes, and prefer Yes No Yes, and prefer Yes
jean-baptiste henry Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer No Yes Yes No
Yosuke Funahashi Yes, but prefer not No Yes Yes, but prefer not No Yes
Jason Lewis No Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer No Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer
Mark Arana Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer Yes, but prefer not Yes, but prefer not Yes Yes, but prefer not
Craig Smithpeters Yes, and prefer Yes Yes, but prefer not Yes, and prefer Yes Yes, but prefer not
Joe Steele Yes Yes, and prefer Yes Yes Yes, and prefer Yes
Christian Kaiser No Yes Yes, and prefer No Yes Yes, and prefer

More details on responses


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Maintained by Laurent Carcone, from a development by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.129 2015/07/01 16:13:23 kahan Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to lcarcone@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)