Web Payment Security Interest Group

The payments ecosystem is complex and undergoing significant change due to technology advances, the rise of mobile computing, regulatory changes, faster payments initiatives, and more. The complexity and rapid changes increase the challenge of securing end-to-end payments and ensuring privacy protection.

The mission of the Web Payment Security Interest Group is to enhance the security and interoperability of Web payments. The group pursues its mission by creating a forum for organizations to define areas of collaboration and identify gaps between existing technical specifications in order to increase compatibility among different technologies.


The Interest Group is a discussion forum for the Members of Partner Consortia. The initial Partner Consortia are W3C, EMVCo, and the FIDO Alliance.

The following companies participate in the group (in addition to staff from EMVCo, FIDO, and W3C):

  • Aetna
  • Airbnb
  • Alibaba
  • American Express
  • Australian Payments Network
  • Bank of America
  • Brave Software
  • Capital One
  • Certus Cybersecurity Solutions
  • Coil Technologies
  • Coinbase
  • Chase
  • Conexxus
  • Discover Financial Services
  • Entersekt
  • Feitian
  • Giesecke & Devrient GmbH
  • Global Payments
  • Google
  • Hedera Hashgraph
  • HID Global
  • Huawei
  • Infineon
  • ISO 20022 Registration Authority
  • JCB
  • Knowbility
  • Lenovo
  • LastPass
  • Line
  • LogMeIn
  • Mastercard
  • Merchant Advisory Group (MAG)
  • Microsoft
  • Netflix
  • mSignia
  • Nok Nok Labs
  • Onespan
  • PayPal
  • Ping Identity
  • Rakuten
  • Ripple
  • Reach
  • Shopify
  • SK Telecom
  • Stripe
  • StrongAuth
  • Telecommunications Technology Association
  • Thales Group
  • The Clearing House
  • 2 Open China Ecommerce
  • UnionPay
  • Verizon
  • VinCSS
  • Visa
  • WebComm Technology
  • Who Are You Holdings
  • Worldline
  • FIS/Worldpay
  • Yubico


Each Partner Consortium determines the eligibility requirements of its Membership. In particular:

  • From W3C: W3C staff and W3C Member representatives.
  • From EMVCo: EMVCo staff and employees of any EMVCo Member. This does not include Associates and Subscribers. However, EMVCo staff may also invite an Associate or Subscriber to participate, in which case that organization's employees become eligible to participate in this Interest Group on behalf of that organization.
  • From FIDO: FIDO staff and employees of any FIDO Member.

All participants must follow the W3C Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct and W3C's Antitrust and Competition Guidance.

For questions about participation as a new Partner Consortium, contact Ian Jacobs <ij@w3.org>.

Guidelines for Invited Experts

As described in the Web Payment Security Interest Group charter, an individual who is not an employee of a Partner Consortium or its Membership may be invited from time to time to share their expertise as a group participant. The Chairs will evaluate the need for expertise based on a variety of factors, including the group’s current agenda, whether current participants can represent that expertise, and the individual’s leadership roles in related groups or organizations.


  • Bastien Latge, EMVCo <bastien.latge@emvco.com>
  • Christina Hulka, FIDO Alliance <christina@fidoalliance.org>
  • Ian Jacobs, W3C <ij@w3.org>


Communications of this Interest Group are visible to the eligible Members of each Partner Consortium.

Each Partner Consortium has its own mechanism for distributing and archiving communications of this Interest Group with its respective membership: