Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) 1.0 Specification

W3C Proposed Recommendation 19 July, 2001

This version:
(Available as: PDF, zip archive of HTML)
Latest version:
Previous version:
Jon Ferraiolo <jferraio@adobe.com>
See author list


This specification defines the features and syntax for Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG), a language for describing two-dimensional vector and mixed vector/raster graphics in XML.

Status of this document

This section describes the status of this document at the time of its publication. Other documents may supersede this document. The latest status of this document series is maintained at the W3C.

On 19 July, 2001, this document enters a Proposed Recommendation review period. From that date until 16 August, 2001, W3C Advisory Committee representatives are encouraged to review this specification and return comments to w3t-svg@w3.org, which is visible to the W3C Team only.

After the review, the W3C Director will announce the document's disposition: it may become a W3C Recommendation (possibly with minor changes), it may revert to Working Draft status, or it may be dropped as a W3C work item. This announcement should not be expected sooner than 14 days after the end of the review.

The SVG specification was a W3C Candidate Recommendation for a review period which ended on 02 February, 2001. During that period the W3C SVG Working Group members encouraged implementation using the specification and comment on it; the Working Group continues to do so. A report on implementation status was made at the end of the Candidate Recommendation review period. It is intended that this will be updated from time to time by the follow-on activity that oversees the SVG Recommendation, whatever that may be. The W3C SVG Working Group has maintained a public Web page http://www.w3.org/Graphics/SVG/ which contains further background information. A list of changes since the updated Candidate Recommendation specification of 02 November, 2000 is available.

Public discussion of issues related to vector graphics on the Web and SVG in particular takes place on the public mailing list of the SVG Working Group (list archives). To subscribe send an email to www-svg-request@w3.org with the word subscribe in the subject line.

The substantial implementation experience with generators, viewers and transcoders based on the SVG specification and the amount of SVG content that has been developed to date encouraged the Working Group to ask the W3C Director to advance this document to Proposed Recommendation status.

Publication as a Proposed Recommendation does not imply endorsement by the W3C membership. This is still a draft document and may be updated, replaced or made obsolete by other documents at any time. It is inappropriate to cite W3C Proposed Recommendations as other than "work in progress."

There are patent disclosures and license commitments associated with the SVG 1.0 specification. These may be found on the SVG 1.0 Patent Statements in conformance with W3C policy.

This document has been produced by the W3C SVG Working Group as part of the activity of the Graphics Activity within the W3C Document Formats Domain. The goals of the W3C SVG Working Group are discussed in the W3C SVG WG Charter (11 November 2000). The authors of this document are the SVG Working Group members. The editor is Jon Ferraiolo.

A list of current W3C Technical Reports can be found at http://www.w3.org/TR/.

Available languages

The English version of this specification is the only normative version. However, for translations in other languages see http://www.w3.org/Graphics/SVG/svg-updates/translations.html.

Table of Contents

The authors of the SVG 1.0 specification are the people who participated in the SVG 1.0 working group as members or alternates.

John Bowler, Microsoft Corporation <johnbo@microsoft.com>
Craig Brown, Canon <cmb@research.canon.com.au>
Milt Capsimalis, Autodesk Inc. <milt@autodesk.com>
Richard Cohn, Adobe Systems Incorporated <richard@covero.com>
Lee Cole, Quark <lcole@quark.com>
Thomas E Deweese, Kodak <thomas.deweese@kodak.com>
David Dodds, Lexica <ddodds@lexica.net>
Andrew Donoho, IBM <awd@us.ibm.com>
David Duce, Oxford Brookes University <daduce@brookes.ac.uk>
Jerry Evans, Sun Microsystems <jerry.evans@Eng.sun.com>
Jon Ferraiolo, Adobe Systems Incorporated <jferraio@adobe.com>
Jun Fujisawa, Canon <fujisawa.jun@canon.co.jp>
Scott Furman, Netscape Communications Corporation <fur@netscape.com>
Brent Getlin, Macromedia <bgetlin@macromedia.com>
Peter Graffagnino, Apple <pgraff@apple.com>
Rick Graham, BitFlash Inc. <rick@bitflash.com>
Vincent Hardy, Sun Microsystems, <vincent.hardy@sun.com>
Lofton Henderson, OASIS, <lofton@rockynet.com>
Jan Christian Herlitz , Excosoft, <J-C.Herlitz@excosoft.se>
Alan Hester, Xerox Corporation <Alan.Hester@usa.xerox.com>
Bob Hopgood, RAL (CCLRC) <frah@inf.rl.ac.uk>
Dean Jackson, CSIRO <dean.jackson@cmis.csiro.au>
Christophe Jolif, ILOG <jolif@ilog.fr>
Kelvin Lawrence, IBM <klawrenc@us.ibm.com>
Håkon Lie, Opera <howcome@operasoftware.com >
Chris Lilley, W3C <chris@w3.org>
Philip Mansfield, IntraNet Solutions, Inc. <philipm@schemasoft.com>
Kevin McCluskey, Netscape Communications Corporation <kmcclusk@netscape.com>
Tuan Nguyen, Microsoft Corporation <tuann@microsoft.com>
Troy Sandal, Visio Corporation <TroyS@visio.com>
Peter Santangeli, Macromedia <psantangeli@macromedia.com>
Haroon Sheikh, Corel Corporation <haroons@corel.ca>
Gavriel State, Corel Corporation <gavriels@COREL.CA>
Robert Stevahn, Hewlett-Packard Company <rstevahn@boi.hp.com>
Timothy Thompson, Kodak <timothy.thompson@kodak.com>
Rick Yardumian, Canon <richard.yardumian@cis.canon.com>
Shenxue Zhou, Quark <szhou@quark.com>

Valid HTML 4.0! Valid CSS!