W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire Disposition of display, focus, semantics, and labels bugs

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody.

This questionnaire was open from 2010-05-19 to 2010-05-21.

4 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Bug 8652: what to display when images are not available is not well specified
  2. Bug 8657: Allow UA to reload fallback content if it fails to load
  3. Bug 8671: Requiring the label attribute
  4. Bug 8673: Restriction on command element as part of a menu
  5. Bug 8717: Usability and Element-level-focus-apis
  6. Bug 8723: image map is underspecified
  7. Bug 8738: Role-based navigation
  8. Bug 8747: Defining how a license applies to elements
  9. Bug 8750: User able to override the hidden attribute in incorrectly rendered pages
  10. Bug 8144: Is a 'visibility: hidden' element being rendered?
  11. Bug 8554: <progress> element should be labelable with a label

1. Bug 8652: what to display when images are not available is not well specified

Refer to Bug 8652.

Proposed disposition:

Close. We consider this addressed by the text alternatives and title attribute change proposals.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8652: what to display when images are not available is not well specified Comments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

2. Bug 8657: Allow UA to reload fallback content if it fails to load

Refer to Bug 8657.

Proposed disposition:

Take up in the media sub-group to develop a spec edit proposal. Assign the bug to John Foliot to track that this is addressed.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8657: Allow UA to reload fallback content if it fails to loadComments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

3. Bug 8671: Requiring the label attribute

Refer to Bug 8671.

Proposed disposition:

Close. Spec is now consistent with the change request in this bug.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8671: Requiring the label attribute Comments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

4. Bug 8673: Restriction on command element as part of a menu

Refer to Bug 8673.

Proposed disposition:

Take up in the mapping sub-group to develop a spec edit proposal. Assign the bug to Cynthia Shelly to track that this is addressed.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8673: Restriction on command element as part of a menuComments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

5. Bug 8717: Usability and Element-level-focus-apis

Refer to Bug 8717.

Proposed disposition:

Close. Spec is now consistent with the change request in this bug.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8717: Usability and Element-level-focus-apis Comments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

6. Bug 8723: image map is underspecified

Refer to Bug 8723.

Proposed disposition:

Assign to Charles McCathieNevile with a deadline of 10 June 2010. Close after that if no proposal received.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8723: image map is underspecified Comments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

7. Bug 8738: Role-based navigation

Refer to Bug 8738.

Proposed disposition:

Assign to Gregory Rosmaita to work with Cynthia Shelly. This is related to an upcoming command discussion in the mapping group but is not assigned to that group.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 3
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

(1 response didn't contain an answer to this question)

Details

Responder Bug 8738: Role-based navigationComments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita first consideration: accesskey as attribute or element?

second consideration: using XHTML Access Module as basis for Access Element draft:

http://www.w3.org/WAI/PF/HTML/wiki/Access/element_versus_module

Note 1: this comment will be updated when i post to the TF list on current accesskey issues & options

Note 2: the list of accesskey (replacement) requirements upon which we previously agreed is located at:

http://www.w3.org/WAI/PF/HTML/wiki/Access/access_key_requirements
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

8. Bug 8747: Defining how a license applies to elements

Refer to Bug 8747.

Proposed disposition:

Close and remove Task Force from further following. Ask on the main HTML list if someone wants to take over this bug to pursue getting the RDFa suggestion in the bug into the spec.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8747: Defining how a license applies to elements Comments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

9. Bug 8750: User able to override the hidden attribute in incorrectly rendered pages

Refer to Bug 8750.

Proposed disposition:

Close. We accept the response in this bug.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8750: User able to override the hidden attribute in incorrectly rendered pages Comments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

10. Bug 8144: Is a 'visibility: hidden' element being rendered?

Refer to Bug 8144.

Proposed disposition:

Remove Task Force tracking of this bug. Original submitter may pursue it further if they wish.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8144: Is a 'visibility: hidden' element being rendered? Comments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

11. Bug 8554: <progress> element should be labelable with a label

Refer to Bug 8554.

Proposed disposition:

Remove Task Force tracking of this bug. Original submitter may pursue it further if they wish, though it appears this one has been resolved satisfactorily.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Accept disposition of this bug. 4
Do not accept disposition of this bug.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Bug 8554: <progress> element should be labelable with a label Comments
Michael Cooper Accept disposition of this bug.
Gregory Rosmaita Accept disposition of this bug.
Cynthia Shelly Accept disposition of this bug.
John Foliot Accept disposition of this bug.

More details on responses

Non-responders

The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>
  2. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  3. Liam Quin <liam@w3.org>
  4. Wendy Chisholm <wendc@microsoft.com>
  5. Jim Allan <jimallan@tsbvi.edu>
  6. Charles McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>
  7. Philippe Le Hégaret <plh@w3.org>
  8. David Singer <singer@apple.com>
  9. Sean Hayes <sean.hayes@microsoft.com>
  10. Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
  11. Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
  12. Shane McCarron <shane@aptest.com>
  13. Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>
  14. Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
  15. Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
  16. Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
  17. David MacDonald <David100@sympatico.ca>
  18. Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
  19. Michael[tm] Smith <mike@w3.org>
  20. Kelly Ford <kelly.ford@microsoft.com>
  21. Edward O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com>
  22. Matthew Turvey <mcturvey@gmail.com>
  23. Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>
  24. Kenny Johar <kensingh@microsoft.com>
  25. Sally Cain <sally.cain@rnib.org.uk>
  26. David Bolter <dbolter@mozilla.com>
  27. Jeanne F Spellman <jeanne@w3.org>
  28. James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
  29. Jean-Pierre EVAIN <evain@ebu.ch>
  30. Frank Olivier <frank.olivier@microsoft.com>
  31. Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>
  32. Ian Pouncey <w3c@ipouncey.co.uk>
  33. Léonie Watson <lwatson@paciellogroup.com>
  34. Masatomo Kobayashi <mstm@jp.ibm.com>
  35. Bob Lund <b.lund@cablelabs.com>
  36. Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>
  37. Adrian Roselli <roselli@algonquinstudios.com>
  38. Jason Kiss <jason@accessibleculture.org>
  39. Jay Munro <jay@techtoons.com>
  40. Billy Gregory <bgregory@paciellogroup.com>
  41. Mark Sadecki <mark.sadecki+w3c@gmail.com>
  42. Suzanne Taylor <Suzanne.Taylor@pearson.com>
  43. Joseph Karr O'Connor <josephoconnor@mac.com>
  44. Joanmarie Diggs <jdiggs@igalia.com>

Send an email to all the non-responders.


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Completed and maintained by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.124 2014-10-06 13:46:23 dom Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to dom@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)