ISSUE-35: SCR21 and WCAG Scripting proposal

SCR21 and Scripting

SCR21 and WCAG Scripting proposal

State:
OPEN
Product:
Raised by:
Wilco Fiers
Opened on:
2014-07-17
Description:
SR21 is a technique relating to accessible scripting. The use of innerHTML can support the creation of accessible content if it is used to inject structured accessible HTML. The use of document.write will output a string directly to a page, and is considered an out of date method of adding content.
SCR21 needs to be re-written to take into consideration changes in user agent/AT support. The working group also acknowledge that this is a wider issue relating to the use of accessible scripting techniques and WCAG. [1]

Wilco suggested a proposal for dynamic content to the group. [1]
The suggestion in the 'WCAG Techniques for dynamic content' doc was surveyed by the WCAG working group ion the 15th April and overall got positive feedback. [2]

There were some outstanding action items

<Joshue> ACTION: Josh to ping Cynthia for some background on SCR21 [recorded in http://www.w3.org/2014/04/15-wai-wcag-minutes.html#action01] [DONE]

ACTION: David to connect with GOV of Canada regarding their objections to the discouraged parts of SCR21 [recorded in http://www.w3.org/2014/04/15-wai-wcag-minutes.html#action02]

[1] https://www.w3.org/2002/09/wbs/35422/15thApril2014/
[2] https://www.w3.org/WAI/GL/wiki/WCAG_Techniques_for_dynamic_content
Related Actions Items:
No related actions
Related emails:
  1. Re: Cleaning up working branches (from cooper@w3.org on 2017-08-28)
  2. WCAG-ISSUE-35 (SCR21 and Scripting): SCR21 and WCAG Scripting proposal (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2014-07-17)

Related notes:


[1] Origina Survey https://www.w3.org/2002/09/wbs/35422/15thApril2014/
[2] Proposal: https://www.w3.org/WAI/GL/wiki/WCAG_Techniques_for_dynamic_content
[3] Related WCAG minutes: http://www.w3.org/2014/04/15-wai-wcag-minutes.html

Joshue O Connor, 17 Jul 2014, 13:03:50

Related to LC-2891:
https://www.w3.org/2006/02/lc-comments-tracker/35422/WD-WCAG20-TECHS-20140107/2891

Joshue O Connor, 17 Jul 2014, 13:06:08

Davids Action Item: http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/w3c-wai-gl/2014AprJun/0051.html

Joshue O Connor, 18 Jul 2014, 11:09:25

Display change log ATOM feed


Alastair Campbell <acampbell@nomensa.com>, Rachael Montgomery <rachael@accessiblecommunity.org>, Charles Adams <charles.adams@oracle.com>, Chairs, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Shadi Abou-Zahra <shadi@w3.org>, Shawn Henry <shawn@w3.org>, Ruoxi Ran <ran@w3.org>, Staff Contacts
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: index.php,v 1.326 2018/10/13 17:29:51 vivien Exp $