ISSUE-18: We should have a discussion about complex maps

We should have a discussion about complex maps

State:
OPEN
Product:
HTML & ARIA Techniques TF
Raised by:
David MacDonald
Opened on:
2014-05-19
Description:
We have a requirement to provide text for all non text content, including complex maps, but we've never to my knowledge given concrete advice about how that might be accomplished (or failed) for maps where there are thousands of points, in some cases with increased granularity with zoom. It feels like a bit of an elephant in the room.

I don't propose to have an answer, but we should probably address it. The question arises a lot.

We could begin the conversation with how to apply the requirement of "equivalent purpose" alt text in this case. I would like others thoughts on this.
Related Actions Items:
No related actions
Related emails:
  1. Re: Cleaning up working branches (from cooper@w3.org on 2017-08-28)
  2. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from josh@interaccess.ie on 2017-08-24)
  3. RE: Animation from Interactions (from alands289@gmail.com on 2017-08-24)
  4. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from marc.johlic@gmail.com on 2017-08-23)
  5. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from detlev.fischer@testkreis.de on 2017-08-23)
  6. RE: Animation from Interactions (from srchakravarthula@informatica.com on 2017-08-23)
  7. RE: Animation from Interactions (from Jake.Abma@ing.nl on 2017-08-23)
  8. RE: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from kathy@interactiveaccessibility.com on 2017-08-23)
  9. RE: Animation from Interactions (from ryladog@gmail.com on 2017-08-22)
  10. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from john.foliot@deque.com on 2017-08-22)
  11. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from glenda.sims@deque.com on 2017-08-22)
  12. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from denis.boudreau@deque.com on 2017-08-22)
  13. RE: Animation from Interactions (from denis.boudreau@deque.com on 2017-08-22)
  14. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from tink@tink.uk on 2017-08-22)
  15. RE: Animation from Interactions (from kimberlee.dirks@thomsonreuters.com on 2017-08-22)
  16. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com on 2017-08-22)
  17. Re: CFC: Animation from Interactions (from david100@sympatico.ca on 2017-08-22)
  18. CFC: Animation from Interactions (from josh@interaccess.ie on 2017-08-22)
  19. WCAG-ISSUE-18 (DavidMacD): We should have a discussion about complex maps [HTML & ARIA Techniques TF] (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2014-05-19)

Related notes:

No additional notes.

Display change log ATOM feed


Andrew Kirkpatrick <akirkpat@adobe.com>, Alastair Campbell <acampbell@nomensa.com>, Chairs, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Shadi Abou-Zahra <shadi@w3.org>, Shawn Henry <shawn@w3.org>, Ruoxi Ran <ran@w3.org>, Staff Contacts
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: index.php,v 1.326 2018/10/13 17:29:51 vivien Exp $