Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) 1.0 Specification

W3C Candidate Recommendation 2 August 2000

This version:
(Available as: PDF, zip archive of HTML)
Latest version:
Previous version:
Jon Ferraiolo <jferraio@adobe.com>
See author list


This specification defines the features and syntax for Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG), a language for describing two-dimensional vector and mixed vector/raster graphics in XML.

Status of this document

This is the Candidate Recommendation of the Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) 1.0 specification. This means that the SVG Working Group (Members-only) considers the specification to be stable and encourages implementation and comment on the specification during this period. The Candidate Recommendation review period ends when there exists at least one SVG implementation which passes each of the Basic Effectivity (BE) tests in the SVG test suite. Due to the already very good implementation status of SVG, we anticipate this to take approximately one month. Please send review comments before the review period ends to svg-comments@w3.org.

Should this specification prove very difficult or impossible to implement, the Working Group will return the document to Working Draft status and make necessary changes. Otherwise, the Working Group anticipates asking the W3C Director to advance this document to Proposed Recommendation.

This is a W3C Working Draft for review by W3C Members and other interested parties. It is a draft document and may be updated, replaced or obsoleted by other documents at any time. It is inappropriate to use W3C Working Drafts as reference material or to cite them as other than "work in progress". This is work in progress and does not imply endorsement by, or the consensus of, the W3C Membership.

This document has been produced as part of the Graphics Activity. The authors of this document are the SVG WG members. The editor is Jon Ferraiolo.

A list of current W3C Recommendations and other technical documents can be found at http://www.w3.org/TR/.

Quick Table of Contents

The following sections have not been written yet, but are expected to be be present in later versions of this specification:

Full Table of Contents

The following sections have not been written yet, but are expected to be be present in later versions of this specification:

John Bowler, Microsoft Corporation <johnbo@microsoft.com>
Milt Capsimalis, Autodesk Inc. <milt@autodesk.com>
Richard Cohn, Adobe Systems Incorporated <cohn@adobe.com>
David Dodds, Lexica <ddodds@lexica.net>
Andrew Donoho, IBM <awd@us.ibm.com>
David Duce, Oxford Brookes University <daduce@brookes.ac.uk>
Jerry Evans, Sun Microsystems <jerry.evans@Eng.sun.com>
Jon Ferraiolo, Adobe Systems Incorporated <jferraio@adobe.com>
Scott Furman, Netscape Communications Corporation <fur@netscape.com>
Brent Getlin, Macromedia <bgetlin@macromedia.com>
Peter Graffagnino, Apple <pgraff@apple.com>
Rick Graham, BitFlash Inc. <rick@bitflash.com>
Vincent Hardy, Sun Microsystems, <vincent.hardy@sun.com>
Lofton Henderson, OASIS, <lofton@rockynet.com>
Alan Hester, Xerox Corporation <Alan.Hester@usa.xerox.com>
Bob Hopgood, RAL (CCLRC) <frah@inf.rl.ac.uk>
Dean Jackson, CSIRO <dean.jackson@cmis.csiro.au>
Christophe Jolif, ILOG <jolif@ilog.fr>
Kelvin Lawrence, IBM <klawrenc@us.ibm.com>
Chris Lilley, W3C <chris@w3.org>
Philip Mansfield, IntraNet Solutions, Inc. <philipm@schemasoft.com>
Kevin McCluskey, Netscape Communications Corporation <kmcclusk@netscape.com>
Tuan Nguyen, Microsoft Corporation <tuann@microsoft.com>
Troy Sandal, Visio Corporation <TroyS@visio.com>
Peter Santangeli, Macromedia <psantangeli@macromedia.com>
Haroon Sheikh, Corel Corporation <haroons@corel.ca>
Gavriel State, Corel Corporation <gavriels@COREL.CA>
Robert Stevahn, Hewlett-Packard Company <rstevahn@boi.hp.com>
Timothy Thompson, Kodak <timothy.thompson@kodak.com>
Shenxue Zhou, Quark <szhou@quark.com>

Valid HTML 4.0! Valid CSS!