W3C User Interface Domain HTML Icon

"Shaping the Future of HTML"

Position Papers


This page lists the position papers we have received as input to the W3C workshop on 4th and 5th May 1998 on the future of HTML. W3C is running the workshop to set directions for further work on the future of HTML. The workshop will be held at the Hyatt Regency near to San Francisco Airport. We will add links to speaker slides after the workshop.

Back to the workshop overview page.


Zhengrong Song <song@cse.psu.edu>
Proposal for a mirror element for linking to a mirror site.
Mike McGhan, Database Administrator and HWG Governing Board
Database Applications and the Future of HTML
Ashvil D'Costa <ashvil@inet2001.com>
HTMLX An Universal Container
Sebastian Rahtz <s.rahtz@elsevier.co.uk> and Herbert van Zijl
The future of HTML, from the perspective of Elsevier Science
Ramon Casha <rcasha@technologist.com>
Recommendations for a preprocessor attribute in HTML
Al Gilman <asgilman@access5.digex.net>
Accessibility and Dynamic HTML, Frames and Tables
Masayasu Ishikawa
Harmonizing the "subset" of HTML; Internationalization
Robert S. Smith <rsmith@mitec.net>
"I believe there needs to be a way to designate a list of HTML pages as a book so that the browser can search them all for a specific word instead of just searching one page, just like a regular book. HTML books are becoming increasingly common."
Frank Boumphrey <bckman@ix.netcom.com>
Proposal for an XML wrapper
David Richmond <david_richmond@nl.compuware.com>
Data-Type Formatting and CSS aliases
Todd Fahrner <fahrner@pobox.com>
Architectural Forms and HTML
Russell Steven Shawn O'Connor <roconnor@uwaterloo.ca>
HTML and Architectural Forms
William Song <william@sisu.se>
A Description of MMB Concepts in RDF
Rob Rothenburg <wlkngowl@unix.asb.com>
Dictionaries
Curtis Yarvin <Curtis_Yarvin@geoworks.com>, Ian Porteous <ian@geoworks.com>
Bringing the Web to Handheld Devices: Practical Issues
Daniel Austin <daniela@cnet.com>, Greg Sherwin <gregs@cnet.com>
The Role of HTML as a Display Format
Hidetaka Ohto <ohto@isl.mei.co.jp>
A Proposal for Mobile HTML Architecture
Rohit Khare <rohit@uci.edu>
next generation form affordances,
Requirements for Interactive Access to HTML and XML Documents
Ben Trafford <ben@aerosoftsys.com>
XML and HTML.
John Robert Boynton <jrb@tdl.com>
An Information Choreographer's Manifesto.
Joel Nava <jnava@adobe.com>, Bruce Hunt <bhunt@adobe.com>, T.V. Raman <raman@adobe.com>, Adobe Systems Inc.
HTML as an XML application

Last modified: $Date: $ by $Author: $