W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire Canvas Change Proposal

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody.

This questionnaire was open from 2010-06-08 to 2010-06-10.

10 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Send Canavas change proposal to the HTML Working Group?

1. Send Canavas change proposal to the HTML Working Group?

Refer to the 7 June 2010 Canvas change proposal draft.

This proposal is to address visual focus and caret/selection tracking support for screen magnifiers. The change proposal relates to ISSUE-74 canvas-accessibility.

Note the referenced change proposal copies the entire spec on canvas. Proposed changes from the spec are identified with <ZZ> and </ZZ> tags.

Send this change proposal to the HTML WG?

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed. 8
Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG with the following changes. 2
Do not submit this change proposal to the HTML WG for the following reasons.
Abstain.

Details

Responder Send Canavas change proposal to the HTML Working Group?Comments
Frank Olivier Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed.
Laura Carlson Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG with the following changes. Is this proposal in addition to Chaals' proposal? I'd like to see them both submitted if possible.

It would be helpful if the Change Proposal template was completed for this Canvas proposal so people are provided the standard summary, rationale, and impact information required of a HTMLWG change proposal. This would facilitate better understanding of the proposal in the larger group. The template is at:
http://www.w3.org/html/wg/wiki/ChangeProposalTemplate

Or maybe just add:
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-canvas-api/2010AprJun/att-0054/2dcontext10-June-7.html

to the existing page proposal page:
http://www.w3.org/html/wg/wiki/ChangeProposals/canvasaccessibility

And update that one as needed.

Thanks.
Joshue O Connor Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed.
Gez Lemon Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed.
John Foliot Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed.
Richard Schwerdtfeger Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed.
Gregory Rosmaita Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed. would like this to be linked to Chaals' proposal for use of imagemap but realize that under a strict deadline, it may only be feasible to submit RichS' proposal and then Chaals'
Martin Kliehm Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed.
Charles McCathie Nevile Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG with the following changes. We should note that we are expecting a detailed alternative change proposal, based on http://www.w3.org/html/wg/wiki/ChangeProposals/Map4NotAdom (with the details filled in).

Either proposal achieves the desired goals. But deciding between them is probably better than having twice as much to implement and having authors do the same thing in two different ways.

The choice of which proposal leads to more natural editing is one that should be made by the wider group, since it isn't about accessibility outcomes (they are the same when either proposal is implemented) but about what is a more natural way for non-experts to try and include accessibility.
Steve Faulkner Submit this change proposal to the HTML WG as proposed.

More details on responses

Non-responders

The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  2. Liam Quin <liam@w3.org>
  3. Wendy Chisholm <wendc@microsoft.com>
  4. Jim Allan <jimallan@tsbvi.edu>
  5. Philippe Le Hégaret <plh@w3.org>
  6. David Singer <singer@apple.com>
  7. Cynthia Shelly <cyns@microsoft.com>
  8. Sean Hayes <sean.hayes@microsoft.com>
  9. Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
  10. Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
  11. Shane McCarron <shane@aptest.com>
  12. Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>
  13. Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
  14. Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>
  15. Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
  16. David MacDonald <David100@sympatico.ca>
  17. Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
  18. Michael[tm] Smith <mike@w3.org>
  19. Kelly Ford <kelly.ford@microsoft.com>
  20. Edward O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com>
  21. Matthew Turvey <mcturvey@gmail.com>
  22. Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>
  23. Kenny Johar <kensingh@microsoft.com>
  24. Sally Cain <sally.cain@rnib.org.uk>
  25. David Bolter <dbolter@mozilla.com>
  26. Jeanne F Spellman <jeanne@w3.org>
  27. James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
  28. Jean-Pierre EVAIN <evain@ebu.ch>
  29. Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>
  30. Ian Pouncey <w3c@ipouncey.co.uk>
  31. Léonie Watson <lwatson@paciellogroup.com>
  32. Masatomo Kobayashi <mstm@jp.ibm.com>
  33. Bob Lund <b.lund@cablelabs.com>
  34. Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>
  35. Adrian Roselli <roselli@algonquinstudios.com>
  36. Jason Kiss <jason@accessibleculture.org>
  37. Jay Munro <jaymunro@microsoft.com>
  38. Billy Gregory <bgregory@paciellogroup.com>
  39. Mark Sadecki <mark.sadecki+w3c@gmail.com>
  40. Suzanne Taylor <Suzanne.Taylor@pearson.com>
  41. Joseph Karr O'Connor <josephoconnor@mac.com>
  42. Joanmarie Diggs <jdiggs@igalia.com>

Send an email to all the non-responders.


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Completed and maintained by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.123 2013-09-26 09:46:56 dom Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to dom@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)