The W3C Technical Architecture Group (TAG)

Introduction to the TAG

The TAG is a special working group within the W3C, chartered (under the W3C Process Document) with stewardship of the Web architecture.

As outlined in its charter, there are three aspects to this mission:

  • to document and build consensus around principles of Web architecture and to interpret and clarify these principles when necessary;
  • to resolve issues involving general Web architecture brought to the TAG;
  • to help coordinate cross-technology architecture developments inside and outside W3C.

See the TAG current work page for details of how to work with it, upcoming events, and its publications.

Who are the TAG?

W3C TAG @ Akamai San Francisco; Photo Credit: Matt Griffin
Photo Credit: Matt Griffin

The TAG at Akamai San Francisco, 23 April 2015
Left to right: Tim Berners-Lee, Mark Nottingham, Daniel Appelquist, Yan Zhu, Hadley Beeman, Peter Linss, Yves Lafon, Alex Russell, Travis Leithead

The TAG has 9 participants (5 elected, 3 appointed, and 1 chair) plus a staff contact:

  1. Tim Berners-Lee (W3C) (Chair)
  2. Yves Lafon (W3C) (staff contact)
  3. Daniel Appelquist (W3C Invited Expert) (Chair)1
  4. Peter Linss (HP) (Chair)1
  5. David Baron (Mozilla Foundation)1
  6. Andrew Betts (Financial Times / Nikkei)1
  7. Travis Leithead (Microsoft)2
  8. Mark Nottingham (Akamai)2
  9. Alex Russell (Google)2
  10. Hadley Beeman(W3C Invited Expert)3

The TAG is partly elected by the Advisory Committee and partly appointed by the Director. Each year the nomination period typically starts 1 November the election typically starts 1 December.