ISSUE-31: Advisory text indicating change of context needs to be visible for SC 3.2.2

G13-WCAG2-Techniques

Advisory text indicating change of context needs to be visible for SC 3.2.2

State:
OPEN
Product:
HTML & ARIA Techniques TF
Raised by:
Sailesh Panchang
Opened on:
2014-07-16
Description:
SC 3.2.2 serves users other than VI users too.
I have often faced lots of resistance when I suggest that instructional / label text preceding a SELECT / other form control that triggers context change should indicate the context-change behavior visually to benefit all users ... not just screen-reader users. Just off-screen text or a suffix to a title attribute will only help VI-AT users.
This view will be supported if G13 explicitly recommends this.
I suggest:
After the sentence ending with , "makes the user aware of the behavior in advance.", add:
Visible instructional text will help a wider group of users that includes all served by this SC".
Add a line to the texts / modify the test to say that the "instructional text is visible".
Thanks for the support,
Sailesh


Related Actions Items:
No related actions
Related emails:
  1. Re: Cleaning up working branches (from cooper@w3.org on 2017-08-28)
  2. WCAG-ISSUE-31 (G13-WCAG2-Techniques): Advisory text indicating change of context needs to be visible for SC 3.2.2 [HTML & ARIA Techniques TF] (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2014-07-16)

Related notes:

No additional notes.

Display change log ATOM feed


Andrew Kirkpatrick <akirkpat@adobe.com>, Alastair Campbell <acampbell@nomensa.com>, Chairs, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Shadi Abou-Zahra <shadi@w3.org>, Shawn Henry <shawn@w3.org>, Ruoxi Ran <ran@w3.org>, Staff Contacts
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: index.php,v 1.326 2018/10/13 17:29:51 vivien Exp $