ISSUE-25: Technique G1 (skip links): remove / amend first step in test procedure

Technique G1 (skip links): remove / amend first step in test procedure

State:
OPEN
Product:
Ready to survey
Raised by:
Sailesh Panchang
Opened on:
2014-06-03
Description:
G1: Adding a link at the top of each page that goes directly to the main content area
The title of the technique and the first step in the test cause testers and tools to flag a violation if the skip link is literally not the first focusable item on the page.
This is not the intent of the SC.
The skip link should be just before the repetitive block of content / links.
The guidance should suggest that the skip link should generally be a link or two before the preceding block of content / links.
The skip link is link #2 for instance on
http://www.dars.state.tx.us/

The link#1 (for home page) occurs consistently across the site before the skip link.
The current procedure causes this page to fail G1 if relied upon to pass SC 2.4.1
Ref: WCAG Techniques (Apr 2014)
Thanks,
Sailesh
Related Actions Items:
No related actions
Related emails:
  1. Re: Cleaning up working branches (from cooper@w3.org on 2017-08-28)
  2. WCAG-ISSUE-25: Technique G1 (skip links): remove / amend first step in test procedure [Ready to survey] (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2014-06-03)

Related notes:

No additional notes.

Display change log ATOM feed


Andrew Kirkpatrick <akirkpat@adobe.com>, Alastair Campbell <acampbell@nomensa.com>, Chairs, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Shadi Abou-Zahra <shadi@w3.org>, Shawn Henry <shawn@w3.org>, Ruoxi Ran <ran@w3.org>, Staff Contacts
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: index.php,v 1.326 2018/10/13 17:29:51 vivien Exp $