SMIL 2.1 Test Suite

This version
Other formats
Zip file (25 MB: includes all images, video, audio and testcases files)
Xicu Xabiel Garcia Pañeda, Universidad de Oviedo
Thierry Michel, W3C

Copyright ©2005 W3C® (MIT, ERCIM, Keio), All Rights Reserved. W3C liability, trademark and document use rules apply.


The public SMIL 2.1 Test Suite was designed to validate the SMIL2.1 specification and to insure that all features in the SMIL 2.1 specification are implemented at least twice in an interoperable way by implementations having been developed independently by different organizations and each test in the SMIL 2.1 Test Suite has at least two passing implementations.
The Implementation results are publicly released and are intended solely to be used as proof of SMIL 2.1 implementability. It is only a snap shot of the actual implementation behaviors at one moment of time, as these implementations may not be immediately available to the public.
The interoperability data is not intended to be used for assessing or grading the performance of any individual implementation.

Status of this document

This section describes the status of this document at the time of its publication. Other documents may supersede this document. The latest status of this document series is maintained at the W3C.

This is a document of the World Wide Web Consortium. Review comments on this specification should be sent to The archive of public comments is available at

The SMIL2.1 Test Suite has been produced as part of the W3C Synchronized Multimedia Activity. The document has been written by the SYMM Working Group (members only). The goals of the SYMM group are discussed in the SYMM Working Group charter (members only).

A list of current W3C Recommendations and other technical documents can be found at

Copyright and test suite distribution are governed by the W3C Document License and the W3C Member agreement.

Table of Content

New SMIL 2.1 Features:
[Layout] [Media] [Transition]

Other SMIL 2.1 Features (former testcases from SMIL 2.0):
[Animation] [Content] [Layout] [Linking] [Media] [Metadata] [Structure] [Timing] [Transition] [Time Manipulation] [Profile]


The SMIL 2.1 Test Suite is a collection of new testcases for the new features introduced in SMIL 2.1 and former test cases from the SMIL 2.0 Test Suite for the unchanged features of SMIL 2.1.

1- The following sections collect testcases for the new features introduced in SMIL 2.1.

2- The new SMIL 2.1 Profiles.

The SMIL 2.1 Language Profile, SMIL 2.1 Mobile Profile and SMIL 2.1 Extended Mobile Profile are tested throughout the previous testcases for the new SMIL 2.1 features. This involves testing Namespace and DTD profile naming.

3- The following sections remain unchanged from the SMIL 2.0 Test Suite. (The tests cases remain the same, apart from been updated with the SMIL 2.1 Namespace and DTD declaration).

The elements and attributes semantics in the following features remain the same as in SMIL 2.0 Recommendation.


This Test Suite has been prepared by the Synchronized Multimedia Working Group (SYMM WG) of the World Wide Web Consortium.

The SYMM WG which specified SMIL 2.1 included the following individuals:

Dick Bulterman, CW - Marisa DeMeglio, DAISY Consortium - Yoshihisa Gonno, Sony Corporation - Guido Grassel, Nokia - Markku Hakkinen, DAISY Consortium - Erik Hodge, RealNetworks - Eric Hyche, RealNetworks - Jack Jansen, CWI - Hiroshi Kawamura, NRCD - Antti Koivisto, Nokia - Nabil Layaïda, INRIA - Vincent Mahe, France Telecom - Thierry Michel, W3C - Sjoerd Mullender, CWI - Xabiel García Pañeda, Universidad de Oviedo - Andrei Popescu, Nokia - Masaru Sugano, KDDI Corporation - Daniel Zucker, Access Co., Ltd.

The former SYMM WG which specified SMIL 2.0 included the following individuals:

Hanan Rosenthal, Canon - Jin Yu, Compaq - Pietro Marchisio, CSELT - Lynda Hardman, CWI - Jacco van Ossenbruggen, CWI - Lloyd Rutledge, CWI - Olivier Avaro, France Telecom - Ted Wugofski, Gateway (Invited Expert) - Masayuki Hiyama, Glocomm - Keisuke Kamimura, Glocomm - Michelle Y. Kim, IBM - Steve Wood, IBM - Jeff Boston, IBM - Nabil Layaïda, INRIA - Muriel Jourdan, INRIA - Aaron Cohen, Intel - Wayne Carr, Intel - Marcel Wong, Ericsson - Ken Day, Macromedia - Daniel Weber, Panasonic - Patrick Schmitz, Microsoft - Debbie Newman, Microsoft - Pablo Fernicola, Microsoft - Aaron Patterson, Microsoft - Kevin Gallo, Microsoft - Paul David, Microsoft - Don Cone, Netscape/AOL - Wo Chang, NIST - Didier Chanut, Nokia - Antti Koivisto, Nokia - Roberto Castagno, Nokia - Jack Jansen, Oratrix - Sjoerd Mullender, Oratrix - Dick Bulterman, Oratrix - Kenichi Kubota, Panasonic - Warner ten Kate, Philips - Ramon Clout, Philips - Jeff Ayars, RealNetworks - Erik Hodge, RealNetworks - Rob Lanphier, RealNetworks - Bridie Saccocio, RealNetworks - Eric Hyche, RealNetworks - Robin Haglund, RealNetworks - Geoff Freed, WGBH - Philipp Hoschka, W3C - Philippe Le Hégaret, W3C - Thierry Michel, W3C.

Thierry Michel , (, W3C team contact.