W3C Advisory Board

"Created in March 1998, the Advisory Board provides ongoing guidance to the Team on issues of strategy, management, legal matters, process, and conflict resolution. The Advisory Board also serves the Members by tracking issues raised between Advisory Committee meetings, soliciting Member comments on such issues, and proposing actions to resolve these issues. The Advisory Board manages the evolution of the Process Document. The Advisory Board hears appeals of Member Submission requests that are rejected for reasons unrelated to Web architecture; see also the TAG." -Process Document-

Who is on the Advisory Board (AB)

The year after each entry indicates the year first elected to the Advisory Board.

Chris Wilson and Tzviya Siegman are the current (2021) co-chairs of the Advisory Board.

As stated in the W3C Process Document, individuals on the Advisory Board participate as individual contributors and not representatives of their organizations. Advisory Board participants use their best judgment to find the best solutions for the Web, not just for any particular network, technology, vendor, or user.

Visit the Member-only AB home page, or the public wiki.


We thank the following individuals for their past participation on the AB: Jean-François Abramatic (2004-2012), Art Barstow (2014-2015), Ann Bassetti (1999-2014), Jim Bell (2002-2014), Klaus Birkenbihl (2003-2005), Carl Cargill (1998-2004), Michael Champion (2010-2019), Paul Cotton (2000-2002), Don Deutsch (2002-2004,2005-2011), Dale Dougherty (1998-1999), Elika J Etemad (2019-2021), David Fallside (2001-2002), Bob Freund (2010-2013), Virginie Galindo (2014-2018), Paul Grosso (1998-2000), Eduardo Gutentag (2004-2010, 2011-2013), Steve Holbrook (2002-2009,2012-2014), Renato Iannella (1999-2003), Jay (Junichi) Kishigami (2014-2020), Ken Laskey (2001-2009), Ora Lassila (1998-2013), Håkon Lie (2000-2002), Larry Masinter (1998-2001), Bede McCall (1998-2000), Takeshi Natsuno (2009-2013), Charles Nevile (2009-2020), Qiuling Pan (2012-2014), Soohong Daniel Park (2014-2016), Arun Ranganathan (2007-2010), Thomas Reardon (1998-2000), Claus von Riegen (2005-2007), Natasha Rooney (2017-2019), David Singer (IBM) (1998-2001), Jeffrey Ullman (1998-1999), Jean-Charles Verdié (2013-2014), Lauren Wood (2002-2005), Steve Zilles (2000-2001 and interim Chair November 2001 to September 2013).

We also thank W3C Team members who supported the Advisory Board: Ian Jacobs (2002-2005); Coralie Mercier (2005-2017); Wendy Seltzer (2017-2020);

Process Document Management

The Advisory Board manages the evolution of the W3C Process Document. The Process Document governs W3C's operations and describes the processes W3C follows in pursuit of its mission. It is a public document divided into sections that cover the W3C organization, W3C Activities and groups, how consensus governs W3C work, the W3C Recommendation Track, and the W3C Submission Process. People may send comments on the Process Document to either process-issues@w3.org (Member-only archive) or public-process-comments@w3.org (Public archive). The AB is currently managing Process revisions through the W3C Process Community Group and its Github repository.

Ralph Swick, Team Contact for the AB