ACTION-2056: Review css properties and values api level 1 https://www.w3.org/tr/css-properties-values-api-1/

Review css properties and values api level 1 https://www.w3.org/tr/css-properties-values-api-1/

State:
closed
Person:
Fred Esch
Due on:
June 29, 2016
Created on:
June 8, 2016
Associated Product:
Spec reviews
Related emails:
  1. Minutes APA Meeting: Wednesday, 10 August 2016 (from jdiggs@igalia.com on 2016-08-10)
  2. minutes from 7 July 2016 APA meeting (from fesch@us.ibm.com on 2016-07-06)
  3. Re: Agenda: APA Telecon Wednesday 6 July at 16:00Z (from tink@tink.uk on 2016-07-05)
  4. Agenda: APA Telecon Wednesday 6 July at 16:00Z (from janina@rednote.net on 2016-07-05)
  5. Agenda: APA Telecon Wednesday 29 June at 16:00Z (from janina@rednote.net on 2016-06-28)
  6. Please put action-2056 CSS Properties and Values API Level 1 on the agenda (from fesch@us.ibm.com on 2016-06-24)
  7. Minutes for June 15, 2016 meeting (from shane@spec-ops.io on 2016-06-15)
  8. apa-ACTION-2056: Review css properties and values api level 1 https://www.w3.org/tr/css-properties-values-api-1/ (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2016-06-08)

Related notes:

API is for defining custom variables which translate into properties that affect rendering.

It would be a good research question to see if they can be adopted for accessibility purposes. For instance could COGA use them like a media query? Could they be used in SVG to support color blind users?

I don't see accessibility issues with the API. This is a First Public Working Draft, we might want to revisit if research shows the API might be useful for accessibility.

Updated wiki page https://www.w3.org/WAI/APA/wiki/CSS_Properties_and_Values_API_Level_1

Fred Esch, 24 Jun 2016, 12:32:31

Display change log.


Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, Chair, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>, Ruoxi Ran <ran@w3.org>, Staff Contacts
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: index.php,v 1.326 2018/10/13 17:29:51 vivien Exp $