ISSUE-92: xml:base not included

xml:base

xml:base not included

State:
CLOSED
Product:
TTML 1.0
Raised by:
Sean Hayes
Opened on:
2009-05-05
Description:
We did not include xml:base in the timed text specification, because as timed text makes no external references it was deemed unnecessary. However this may cause an unfortunate side effect making it unable to interoperate with XInclude.

The XInclude spec says:

"Each element information item in the top-level included items which has a different base URI than its include parent has an attribute information item added to its attributes property. This attribute has the following properties: .... [describes xml;base attribute]"

Since timed text has no external references, it has no base URI, so it’s not 100% clear whether the xml:base should be added as a result of this clause (and it may be suppressed by user option), however if it is (which it seems to be in practice); this would prevent the resulting dfxp document from validating against the schema.

proposal: allow xml:base on elements in the schema, but indicating that its value is ignored in the prose.
Related Actions Items:
No related actions
Related emails:
  1. Agenda for meeting 22-05-09 (from Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com on 2009-05-22)
  2. Re: ISSUE-92 (xml:base): xml:base not included [DFXP 1.0] (from gadams@xfsi.com on 2009-05-06)
  3. RE: ISSUE-92 (xml:base): xml:base not included [DFXP 1.0] (from Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com on 2009-05-06)
  4. Re: ISSUE-92 (xml:base): xml:base not included [DFXP 1.0] (from gadams@xfsi.com on 2009-05-06)
  5. RE: ISSUE-92 (xml:base): xml:base not included [DFXP 1.0] (from Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com on 2009-05-06)
  6. Re: ISSUE-92 (xml:base): xml:base not included [DFXP 1.0] (from gadams@xfsi.com on 2009-05-06)
  7. ISSUE-92 (xml:base): xml:base not included [DFXP 1.0] (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2009-05-05)

Related notes:

resolved in TTAF1-DFXP WD Editor's Copy Update - 20090529

Glenn Adams, 29 May 2009, 04:30:03

Display change log ATOM feed


David Singer <singer@apple.com>, Nigel Megitt <nigel.megitt@bbc.co.uk>, Chairs, Thierry Michel <tmichel@w3.org>, Philippe Le Hégaret <plh@w3.org>, Staff Contacts
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: index.php,v 1.325 2014-09-10 21:42:02 ted Exp $