ISSUE-271: 9.3.2 Smooth transition reference unavailable or requires purchase to resolve

nigel

9.3.2 Smooth transition reference unavailable or requires purchase to resolve

State:
CLOSED
Product:
TTML 1.0
Raised by:
Nigel Megitt
Opened on:
2013-08-12
Description:
It's unfortunate that the reference to CEA-608-C in the note on section 9.3.2 does not directly resolve to a document, but to the CEA website from which the referenced document is extremely hard to find (I failed, though I did find 608-E) and which appears to require a purchase to obtain the referenced document. Does anyone know of an alternative document that could be referenced as an example of smooth transition behaviour that does not have this 'feature'?
Related Actions Items:
No related actions
Related emails:
  1. TTML Agenda for 19/09/13 (from Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com on 2013-09-19)
  2. No Meeting today 12-09-13 (from Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com on 2013-09-12)
  3. Minutes for 05/09/13 (from nigel.megitt@bbc.co.uk on 2013-09-05)
  4. Agenda for 05/09/13 (from glenn@skynav.com on 2013-09-04)
  5. RE: TTML Agenda for 29/08/13 (from mdolan@newtbt.com on 2013-08-28)
  6. TTML Agenda for 29/08/13 (from glenn@skynav.com on 2013-08-28)
  7. TTML Agenda for 15/08/13 (from Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com on 2013-08-15)
  8. ISSUE-271 (nigel): 9.3.2 Smooth transition reference requires purchase to resolve [TTML 1.0] (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2013-08-12)

Related notes:

Amended title to add unavailability.

Nigel Megitt, 12 Aug 2013, 14:33:50

[glenn]: update refs to 608/708 to current version

15 Aug 2013, 15:37:31

Although 608-E should be retained, the smooth scrolling provision of interest can also be found in the US FCC regulations: 47 CFR 79.101(f)(iii):
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2012-title47-vol4/pdf/CFR-2012-title47-vol4-part79.pdf
We could also cite that.

Mike Dolan, 15 Aug 2013, 18:19:46

Fixed. https://dvcs.w3.org/hg/ttml/rev/04809ef5e60a

Glenn Adams, 24 Aug 2013, 00:49:32

Display change log ATOM feed


David Singer <singer@apple.com>, Nigel Megitt <nigel.megitt@bbc.co.uk>, Chairs, Thierry Michel <tmichel@w3.org>, Philippe Le H├ęgaret <plh@w3.org>, Staff Contacts
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: index.php,v 1.326 2018/10/13 17:29:51 vivien Exp $