XForms 1.0

W3C Working Draft 16 February 2001

This version:
(Available as: PDF, zip archive of HTML)
Latest version:
Previous version:
Micah Dubinko (Cardiff) <mdubinko@Cardiff.com>
Josef Dietl (Mozquito Technologies) <josef@mozquito.com>
Roland Merrick (IBM) <Roland_Merrick@uk.ibm.com>
Dave Raggett (W3C/OpenWave) <dsr@w3.org>
T. V. Raman (IBM) <tvraman@almaden.ibm.com>
Linda Bucsay Welsh (Intel) <linda@intel.com>
See author list


This document presents a description of the architecture, concepts, processing model, and terminology underlying XForms, the next generation Web forms. Except as noted, it represents the current consensus of the Working Group.

"XForms" is W3C's name for a specification of Web forms that can be used with a wide variety of platforms of varying capabilities, for instance, desktop computers, television sets, personal digital assistants, cell phones, computer peripherals and even paper.

Status of this document

This section describes the status of this document at the time of its publication. Other documents may supersede this document. The latest status of this document series is maintained at the W3C.

This is a Working Draft that incorporates new material regarding the XForms Processing Model. Additionally, this draft includes minor editorial clarifications and changes to highlight areas where the Working Group desires additional input from outside sources. Interested parties are encouraged to provide feedback and comments.

This document is a W3C Working Draft for review by W3C members and other interested parties. It is a draft document and may be updated, replaced, or obsoleted by other documents at any time. It is inappropriate to use W3C Working Drafts as reference material or to cite them as other than "work in progress". A list of current public W3C Working Drafts can be found at http://www.w3.org/TR.

This document has been produced as part of the W3C HTML Activity.

Please send detailed comments on this document to www-forms@w3.org, the public forum for discussion of W3C's work on Web forms. To subscribe, send an email to <www-forms-request@w3.org> with the word subscribe in the subject line (include the word unsubscribe if you want to unsubscribe). The archive for the list is accessible online.

Table of Contents

Steven Pemberton, CWI (co-chair)
Sebastian Schnitzenbaumer, Mozquito Technologies (co-chair)
Micah Dubinko, Cardiff
Peter Stark, Ericsson
Roland Merrick, IBM
T. V. Raman, IBM
Linda Bucsay Welsh, Intel
Gavin McKenzie, JetForm
Rob McDougall, JetForm
John McCarthy, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Until November 2000)
Frank Olken, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Until November 2000)
Ray Waldin, Lexica
Tantek Çelik, Microsoft
Reveliotis Panagiotis, Philips (Until December 2000)
David Cleary, Progress Software
Mike Mansell, PureEdge
Josef Dietl, Mozquito Technologies
Michael Fergusson, SoftQuad Software
Dave Raggett, W3C/Openwave
Leigh Klotz, Xerox