ISSUE-267: Wording in 12.1.7 doesn't convey intended meaning

nigel

Wording in 12.1.7 doesn't convey intended meaning

State:
CLOSED
Product:
TTML 1.0
Raised by:
Nigel Megitt
Opened on:
2013-08-09
Description:
The comment in https://dvcs.w3.org/hg/ttml/raw-file/default/ttml10/spec/ttml-changes.html#change-history-per-to-rec-23 in section 1.1:

* In 12.1.7, clarify that agent attribute on ttm:actor must reference a "significant" ttm:agent
element, i.e., a ttm:agent appearing as a child of head or a child of a metadata child of head.

attaches a meaning to the word "significant" that is non-obvious within the draft text. I suggest rewording the sentence to:

The agent attribute of a ttm:actor element must reference a ttm:agent element that denotes the person, group, or organization acting the part of a character, and that appears as a descendant of head.
Related Actions Items:
No related actions
Related emails:
  1. TTML Agenda for 15/08/13 (from Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com on 2013-08-15)
  2. Re: ISSUE-267 (nigel): Wording in 12.1.7 doesn't convey intended meaning [TTML 1.0] (from nigel.megitt@bbc.co.uk on 2013-08-12)
  3. Re: ISSUE-267 (nigel): Wording in 12.1.7 doesn't convey intended meaning [TTML 1.0] (from glenn@skynav.com on 2013-08-09)
  4. ISSUE-267 (nigel): Wording in 12.1.7 doesn't convey intended meaning [TTML 1.0] (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2013-08-09)

Related notes:

Perhaps you didn't see the text in 12.1.5:

"A ttm:agent metadata item is considered to be significant only when specified as a child of the head element or as a child of a metadata element child of the head element."

Thus "significant" is well defined in this case.

Glenn Adams, 9 Aug 2013, 15:54:59

No change needed.

Glenn Adams, 9 Aug 2013, 15:55:23

Display change log ATOM feed


David Singer <singer@apple.com>, Nigel Megitt <nigel.megitt@bbc.co.uk>, Chairs, Thierry Michel <tmichel@w3.org>, Philippe Le H├ęgaret <plh@w3.org>, Atsushi Shimono <atsushi@w3.org>, Staff Contacts
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: 267.html,v 1.1 2019/11/12 10:06:34 carcone Exp $