10. What are formal standards organizations

On a European level, there are three formal standards organizations: CEN, CENELEC and ETSI. These are recognized by the EU and meet the WTO criteria for standards setting. All three have cooperation arrangements in place with their global counterparts: ISO , IEC and ITU . In addition, there are several formal standards bodies working on a national level, which also have wider impact, such as DIN (Deutsches Institut für Normung), ANSI (American National Standards Institiute) or BSI (British Standards Institution).

[Back to questions]

See also

  1. How do standardization processes work5. How do standardization processes work
  2. What are industry consortia
  3. Do formal standards organizations always produce formal standards

Created by Bart Brusse & Rigo Wenning
last updated $Date: 2006/11/03 13:56:16 $