SocialWebTeleconferences

From W3C Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Social Web Incubator Group Teleconferences

First Teleconference to be conducted on March 4, 2009 at 21:00 GMT. See other time zones below.

The purpose of this teleconference is to summarize all decisions made about the Social Web's charter, including deliverables and the possibility of a task forces model, by people posting on the XG list (see below) at least 48 hours prior to the start of the teleconference as well as to iron out/address any remaining details.

If consensus is not reached on agenda topics via voting and/or by negotiation between posters on the list, this teleconference may be rescheduled or not considered binding due to lack of quorum. A questionnaire has been put forward to the listserv whose answers will be taken into consideration by the teleconference. The teleconference will operate by W3C Process guidelines as regards reaching consensus and decision-making.

4 March 2009 Meeting Agenda

[Revised March 4]

  • 5 minutes: statement of objectives of the meeting
    • Question 1: to decide if there will be one Unified XG with multiple Task Forces or if there will be multiple XGs [moved up from Point 4: Agree on whether or not to use task-force based model]<--poll results indicate majority wants one XG with task forces.
    • Question 2: to refine/revise mission and other parts of charter(s), including the number of deliverables, based on information sent to the list by parties 2 days in advance of the telecon. A new charter is called Take Four. it is a first attempt to merge three previous proposals: smaller charter the larger charteror the Take Three Charterproposed today by Dan Brickley.
    • Question 3: Agree on number of task forces, description of above agreed deliverables, and editors for specific deliverables. Each deliverable must have 2 editors.
    • Question 4: [was "Agree on whether or not to use task-force based model." this has been moved up to Point 1] Agree on how many lists there will be, what protocols for list posting, and how many teleconferences/month <-- poll results indicate multiple telecons, many voted for both single and multiple lists. This needs to be sorted out
    • Question 5: procedure for nomination or confirmation of XG Chairs and next steps for submission of charter.
  • 5 minutes: any discussion/edits to the above teleconference objectives?
  • 5 minutes on Objective 1
  • 10 minutes on Objective 2
  • 10 minutes on Objective 3
  • 5 minutes on Objective 4
  • 10 minutes on Objective 5
  • 5 minutes conclusions/next steps

Teleconference Chairs

Scribe:

  • Benjamin Nguyen

Participants

Open to the public. You do not need to be a member of the W3C or an invited expert to attend this teleconference.

If you plan to attend, edit this page and insert your name below.

  • Tim Anglade, af83
  • Krishna Sankar (I have a conflict with a customer mtg @1:30, so will drop off early)
  • Christine Perey, PEREY Research & Consulting
  • Renato Iannella, NICTA
  • MiquelMartin, NEC Europe Labs
  • Benjamin Nguyen, University of Versailles St-Quentin
  • Adam Boyet, Boeing
  • Alexandre Passant, DERI Galway
  • KarlDubost
  • Daniel Appelquist, Vodafone
  • Fabien Gandon, INRIA], Edelweiss (I will probably be a few minutes late because of another meeting)
  • Julian Pye, Vodafone
  • Pam Yurczyk, Boeing
  • Harry Halpin, University of Edinburgh
  • Joaquin Salvachua, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid (Can not attend due to family problems).
  • Davide Palmisano, Asemantics

Recommendations

It is HIGHLY encouraged that those planning to speak on the Social Web XG teleconference and voice an opinion or make a contribution already have read the February archives of the mailing list and have posted at least once. In addition, all those proposing a position on the topics under discussion need to submit their position in writing to the list at least 48 hours in advance. Also, as many of the concrete proposals as possible have been forward by in a questionnaire.

Teleconference Call Numbers and Time

  • Dial in number: +1.617.761.6200
  • PIN Code: 76932 ("SOWEB")
  • Participants: 30

Datetime of call is Wed 4 March at 21:00 GMT which is equivalent to:

  • London: 9pm (Wed March 4)
  • Paris: 10pm (Wed March 4)
  • Boston: 4pm (Wed March 4)
  • San Francisco: 1pm (Wed March 4)
  • Tokyo: 6am (Thu March 5)
  • Brisbane: 7am (Thu March 5)

Other major cities at 21:00UTC

Teleconference IRC

The Teleconference will also be tracked via IRC for notes, minutes and actions:

Any Questions

Please post all questions or recommendations for this meeting to the public-social-web-talk@w3.org mailing list.