The W3C Technical Architecture Group (TAG)

What Is The TAG?

The TAG is a special working group within the W3C, chartered (under the W3C Process Document) with stewardship of the Web architecture.

As outlined in our charter, there are three aspects to this mission:

  • to document and build consensus around principles of Web architecture and to interpret and clarify these principles when necessary;
  • to resolve issues involving general Web architecture brought to the TAG;
  • to help coordinate cross-technology architecture developments inside and outside W3C.

W3C TAG @ Mozilla San Francisco; Photo Credit: Anne van Kesteren
Photo Credit: Anne van Kesteren

The TAG at Mozilla San Francisco, 2 April 2014
Left to right: Alex Russell, Sergey Konstantinov, Peter Linss, Tim Berners-Lee, Daniel Appelquist, Yves Lafon, Yehuda Katz, Domenic Denicola, Jeni Tennison, David Herman

The TAG has 9 participants (5 elected, 3 appointed, and 1 chair) plus a staff contact:

  1. Tim Berners-Lee (W3C) (Chair)
  2. Daniel Appelquist (Telefónica) (Chair)1
  3. David Herman (Mozilla Foundation)1
  4. Yves Lafon (W3C) (staff contact)
  5. Travis Leithead (Microsoft)2
  6. Peter Linss (HP) (Chair)1
  7. Mark Nottingham (Akamai)2
  8. Alex Russell (Google)2
  9. Yan Zhu (Yahoo!)2
  10. Hadley Beeman(W3C Invited Expert)3

The TAG is partly elected by the Advisory Committee and partly appointed by the Director. Each year the nomination period typically starts 1 November the election typically starts 1 December.

Current Work

The TAG repositories on GitHub may be found under the w3ctag organization.

We are tracking issues and holding some discussions using GitHub's issue tracker, on a document-by-document basis.

The TAG issue list shows issues that the TAG plans to address; by charter, issues are added to this list by majority vote.


Group policies

Recent face-to-face meetings