Web Accessibility Standards

Shadi Abou-Zahra, W3C/WAI

(alternate presentation format available)

World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

"Leading the Web to its full potential"

W3C Members

Currently nearly 400 organizations from:

Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)

WAI develops strategies, guidelines, resources to make the Web accessible:

Illustration of the Components

Essential Components of Web Accessibility


Authoring Tool Accessibility Guidelines (ATAG):


User Agent Accessibility Guidelines (UAAG):


Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0
Internationally recognized standard for web accessibility:

WCAG 2.0 Adoption

WCAG 2.0 is being increasingly adopted by policies internationally:


WCAG 2.0 is now also ISO/IEC 40500:


Applying WCAG 2.0 to Non-Web ICTs (WCAG2ICT):

WCAG 2.0 - Structure

Supported by WCAG 2.0 Techniques

WCAG 2.0 - Principles

Functional principles of WCAG 2.0:

WCAG 2.0 - Guidelines

Examples of WCAG 2.0 Guidelines:

WCAG 2.0 - Success Criteria

Examples of WCAG 2.0 Success Criteria:

Educational Resources

W3C/WAI also develops educational resources such as:

Get Involved in WAI

Using WAI resources and contributing to WAI:


Thank You

Shadi Abou-Zahra, W3C/WAI
Activity Lead, WAI International Program Office