W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire ISSUE-189: Should HTML5 assign a special meaning to the prefix "web+"? - Straw Poll for Objections

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody. In addition, answers are sent to the following email addresses: pcotton@microsoft.com, rubys@intertwingly.net, mjs@apple.com, mike@w3.org

This questionnaire was open from 2012-07-06 to 2012-07-19.

2 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Objections to the Change Proposal to NOT assign a special meaning to the prefix "web+".
  2. Objections to the Change Proposal to disambiguate the "web+" prefix definition from IANA registrations.

1. Objections to the Change Proposal to NOT assign a special meaning to the prefix "web+".

We have a Change Proposal that proposes to NOT assign a special meaning to the prefix "web+". If you have strong objections to adopting this Change Proposal, please state your objections below.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the Change Proposal to NOT assign a special meaning to the prefix "web+".
Leonard Rosenthol
Julian Reschke

2. Objections to the Change Proposal to disambiguate the "web+" prefix definition from IANA registrations.

We have a Change Proposal that proposes to disambiguate the "web+" prefix definition from IANA registrations. If you have strong objections to adopting this Change Proposal, please state your objections below.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the Change Proposal to disambiguate the "web+" prefix definition from IANA registrations.
Leonard Rosenthol IANA and the IETF have always been and should continue to be the official arbiter for URL definitions, be it prefixes, or domain identifiers. Allowing the HTML5 committee to create it's own prefix that does NOT comply with the existing IETF standards will set a VERY BAD precedent for the industry and the future.

If HTML5 wishes to use this prefix, then simply register it with IANA.
Julian Reschke Feedback on <http://www.w3.org/html/wg/wiki/User:Eoconnor/ISSUE-189>

This CP fixes the problem of the specification trying to register a URI scheme prefix, when there is no such thing in the IANA URI registration procedure.

It does not address the problem of overloading the naming of URI schemes with semantics. Doing this in general is problematic as it doesn't scale; once a prefix is defined this extension point is essentially taken. This should not be done lightly, and should be coordinated with the standards body maintaining URI names; the IETF.

Finally an editorial comment: the CP proposes that URI scheme registrations cite a non-W3C specification with the definition of the "web+" semantics. It's unclear why this, if the CP was approved, wouldn't recommend citing the W3C HTML specification.

Procedural feedback:

W3C and IETF have discussed this topic in the liason conference call on July, 3, see <http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-ietf-w3c/2012Jul/0000.html>, but there was not sufficient time to conclude the discussion. I believe the plan is to proceed with this during the Vancouver IETF meeting in two weeks from now, and it seems it would be the right thing to wait for the outcome of that discussion.


More details on responses

Non-responders

The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Tantek Çelik <tantek@cs.stanford.edu>
  2. Patrick D F Ion <ion@ams.org>
  3. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  4. Liam Quin <liam@w3.org>
  5. Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>
  6. Chris Wilson <cwilso@google.com>
  7. David Carlisle <davidc@nag.co.uk>
  8. James Helman <jhelman@movielabs.com>
  9. Jim Allan <jimallan@tsbvi.edu>
  10. Chris Marrin <cmarrin@apple.com>
  11. Charles McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>
  12. Philippe Le Hégaret <plh@w3.org>
  13. Don Brutzman <brutzman@nps.edu>
  14. T.V. Raman <raman@google.com>
  15. David Singer <singer@apple.com>
  16. Daniel Glazman <daniel.glazman@disruptive-innovations.com>
  17. Karl Dubost <karl@la-grange.net>
  18. Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>
  19. Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
  20. Lisa Seeman <lisa.seeman@zoho.com>
  21. Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
  22. Wu Chou <wu.chou@huawei.com>
  23. Katsuhiko Momoi <momoi@google.com>
  24. Kangchan Lee <chan@w3.org>
  25. Roy Fielding <fielding@gbiv.com>
  26. Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>
  27. Johnny Stenback <jst@mozilla.com>
  28. Deborah Dahl <dahl@conversational-technologies.com>
  29. Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>
  30. Glenn Adams <glenn@skynav.com>
  31. Jonathan Jeon <hollobit@etri.re.kr>
  32. David Hyatt <hyatt@apple.com>
  33. WonSuk Lee <wonsuk.lee@etri.re.kr>
  34. Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
  35. Robert Accettura <robert@accettura.com>
  36. Jonathan Watt <jwatt@jwatt.org>
  37. Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
  38. Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo <emmanuelle@sidar.org>
  39. Patrick Lauke <redux@splintered.co.uk>
  40. David MacDonald <David100@sympatico.ca>
  41. Jack Jansen <jack@cwi.nl>
  42. Kazuhito Kidachi <k-kidachi@mitsue.co.jp>
  43. Markku Hakkinen <mhakkinen@ets.org>
  44. Cyril Concolato <cyril.concolato@telecom-paristech.fr>
  45. Jens Meiert <jens@meiert.com>
  46. Felix Sasaki <fsasaki@w3.org>
  47. Kazuyuki Ashimura <ashimura@w3.org>
  48. Tomas Caspers <tomas@tomascaspers.de>
  49. Han Xu <collin@w3china.org>
  50. Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
  51. Mark Crawford <mark.crawford@sap.com>
  52. Preety Kumar <preety.kumar@deque.com>
  53. Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>
  54. Ian Fette <ifette@google.com>
  55. Michael[tm] Smith <mike@w3.org>
  56. Cameron McCormack <cam@mcc.id.au>
  57. Stefan Schnabel <stefan.schnabel@sap.com>
  58. Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz>
  59. Travis Leithead <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>
  60. Youngsun Ryu <ysryu@samsung.com>
  61. Sierk Bornemann <sierkb@gmail.com>
  62. Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>
  63. James Graham <james@hoppipolla.co.uk>
  64. Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@hsivonen.fi>
  65. Krijn Hoetmer <w3c@qontent.nl>
  66. Channy Yun <channy@gmail.com>
  67. Shane Thacker <shanethacker@gmail.com>
  68. Vilem Malek <murphy@malek.cz>
  69. Zhihong Mao <zhihong.mao@gmail.com>
  70. Benoit Piette <benoit.piette@gmail.com>
  71. Erik van Kempen <erikvankempen@gmail.com>
  72. Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>
  73. Nick Fitzsimons <w3@nickfitz.co.uk>
  74. Josh Lawton <w3c@joshlawton.com>
  75. Adele Peterson <adele@apple.com>
  76. S Emerson <w3c@accretewebsolutions.ca>
  77. Morten Tollefsen <morten@medialt.no>
  78. Daniel Schattenkirchner <schattenkirchner.daniel@gmx.de>
  79. Theresa O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com>
  80. Justin Anthony Knapp <justinkoavf@gmail.com>
  81. Simon Myers <Smylers@stripey.com>
  82. Samuel Weinig <weinig@apple.com>
  83. Alexey Proskuryakov <ap@webkit.org>
  84. Alejandro Fernandez <alejandro@mediadvanced.com>
  85. Doug Jones <doug_b_jones@me.com>
  86. Marc Drumm <mdrumm@wcupa.edu>
  87. Danny Liang <danny.glue@gmail.com>
  88. Michael Puls II <shadow2531@gmail.com>
  89. Ron Reisor <ron@udel.edu>
  90. Marat Tanalin <mtanalin@yandex.ru>
  91. Andrew Norman <idonothaveacat@gmail.com>
  92. Craig Buckler <craigbuckler@gmail.com>
  93. Matthew Turvey <mcturvey@gmail.com>
  94. Dale Hudjik <dale.hudjik@gmail.com>
  95. James Cassell <w3c@cyberpear.com>
  96. Joseph D'Andrea <jdandrea@gmail.com>
  97. Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>
  98. Michael Turnwall <w3c@turnwall.net>
  99. Don Kiely <donkiely@computer.org>
  100. Robert Marshall <rdm@rdmsoft.com>
  101. David Child <dave@addedbytes.com>
  102. Mark DuBois <Mark@webprofessionals.org>
  103. David Bills <w3@dfbills.com>
  104. Nik Thierry <me@thisemail.ca>
  105. Andrew Ramsden <andrew@irama.org>
  106. John Foliot <john.foliot@deque.com>
  107. Shefik Macauley <allknightaccess@gmail.com>
  108. Joe Steele <steele@adobe.com>
  109. John Vernaleo <john@netpurgatory.com>
  110. Jeremy Keith <jeremy@adactio.com>
  111. Jedi Lin <JediLin@Gmail.com>
  112. Jon Hughes <jon@phazm.com>
  113. Samuel Santos <samaxes@gmail.com>
  114. Dean Jackson <dino@apple.com>
  115. Mohammed DADAS <mohammed.dadas@orange.com>
  116. Sally Cain <sally.cain@rnib.org.uk>
  117. Dan Romascanu <dromasca@avaya.com>
  118. David Bolter <dbolter@mozilla.com>
  119. James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
  120. MING JIN <ming.jin.web@gmail.com>
  121. Adrian Bateman <adrianba@microsoft.com>
  122. Dionysios Synodinos <synodinos@gmail.com>
  123. Jean-Pierre EVAIN <evain@ebu.ch>
  124. Mark Pilgrim <pilgrim@google.com>
  125. Matt Lee <mattl@cnuk.org>
  126. Magnus Olsson <magnus.olsson@ericsson.com>
  127. Chris Pearce <cpearce@mozilla.com>
  128. Mark Miller <erights@google.com>
  129. Andrew Wilson <atwilson@google.com>
  130. Per-Erik Brodin <per-erik.brodin@ericsson.com>
  131. Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>
  132. Martin McEvoy <martin@weborganics.co.uk>
  133. Aryeh Gregor <ayg@aryeh.name>
  134. Jonathan Griffin <jgriffin@mozilla.com>
  135. Anders Bondehagen <anders@bondehagen.com>
  136. Steven Pemberton <Steven.Pemberton@cwi.nl>
  137. Raul Hudea <rhudea@adobe.com>
  138. Raghavan Gurumurthy <raghavan@adobe.com>
  139. Mayank Kumar <mayankk@adobe.com>
  140. Dragos Georgita <dgeorgit@adobe.com>
  141. Christopher Bank <cbank@adobe.com>
  142. Ole Riesenberg <or@oleriesenberg.com>
  143. Takuya Oikawa <takuya@google.com>
  144. Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>
  145. Robert Stern <rstern@gmail.com>
  146. Eihab Ibrahim <eihabibrahim@gmail.com>
  147. Kensaku KOMATSU <kensaku.komatsu@gmail.com>
  148. Jer Noble <jer.noble@apple.com>
  149. Masatomo Kobayashi <mstm@jp.ibm.com>
  150. Peter Beverloo <beverloo@google.com>
  151. Andrew Scherkus <scherkus@google.com>
  152. Greg Johnson <greg.johnson@gmail.com>
  153. Martijn Croonen <martijn@martijnc.be>
  154. Stanley Manoski <manoski@mitre.org>
  155. Yosuke Funahashi <yosuke@w3.org>
  156. Mounir Lamouri <mlamouri@google.com>
  157. Tony Gentilcore <tonyg@google.com>
  158. Joseph Pecoraro <pecoraro@apple.com>
  159. Othmane Benyoucef <othmane_benyoucef@hotmail.com>
  160. Bob Lund <b.lund@cablelabs.com>
  161. Tatsuya Igarashi <Tatsuya.Igarashi@jp.sony.com>
  162. John Simmons <johnsim@microsoft.com>
  163. Mathias Bynens <mathias@qiwi.be>
  164. Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>
  165. Clarke Stevens <c.stevens@cablelabs.com>
  166. Mark Vickers <mark_vickers@comcast.com>
  167. Sree Kotay <Sree_Kotay@cable.comcast.com>
  168. Cameron Jones <cmhjones@gmail.com>
  169. Rik Cabanier <Cabanier@adobe.com>
  170. Jeremy LaCivita <jeremy.lacivita@theplatform.com>
  171. Denis Ah-Kang <denis@w3.org>
  172. Alvar Laigna <laigna@gmail.com>
  173. Kunio Ito <kunio.ito@mail.rakuten.com>
  174. David Mays <david_mays@comcast.com>
  175. Michael Chen <michael_chen@cable.comcast.com>
  176. jongyoul Park <jongyoul@etri.re.kr>
  177. Kilroy Hughes <kilroy.hughes@microsoft.com>
  178. Reinaldo Ferraz <reinaldo@nic.br>
  179. Bill Mandel <bill.mandel@nbcuni.com>
  180. Eva Lingyun Jing <jinglingyun@baidu.com>
  181. GANG LIANG <gang.liang@huawei.com>
  182. Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>
  183. Jason Kiss <jason@accessibleculture.org>
  184. Gian Luca Marroni <gmarroni@libero.it>
  185. Ian Devlin <ian@iandevlin.com>
  186. Xingrong Guo <guoxingrong@baidu.com>
  187. Jet Villegas <w3c@junglecode.net>
  188. Alexander Surkov <surkov.alexander@gmail.com>
  189. Hasan Savran <hsavran@kent.edu>
  190. Marco Kotrotsos <Marco@mlabs.nl>
  191. Eric VonColln <eric.voncolln@navy.mil>
  192. Jason Boyd <jason@pixelboxdesign.co.uk>
  193. Jungkee Song <jungkee.song@samsung.com>
  194. Rayi Lei <leiyi@baidu.com>
  195. Daniel Austin <daniel.austin@grintech.net>
  196. David Dorwin <ddorwin@google.com>
  197. jiexuan gao <gaojiexuan@baidu.com>
  198. Xiaoqing Yang <yangxiaoqing@baidu.com>
  199. Aaron Colwell <acolwell@google.com>
  200. Alex Giladi <alex.giladi@huawei.com>
  201. Motomasa Futagami <Motomasa.Futagami@jp.sony.com>
  202. Kevin Streeter <kstreete@adobe.com>
  203. Christian Kaiser <kaiserc@google.com>
  204. Xuejian Li <lixuejian@baidu.com>
  205. Zuncheng Yang <yangzuncheng@baidu.com>
  206. Qianglong Zheng <zhengqianglong@baidu.com>
  207. Zhou Shen <shenzhou@baidu.com>
  208. Duoyi Wu <wuduoyi@baidu.com>
  209. Zheng Jia <jiazheng@baidu.com>
  210. Weifeng Feng <fengweifeng@baidu.com>
  211. Damin Hu <hudamin@baidu.com>
  212. Yang Liu <liuyang12@baidu.com>
  213. Zhixing Lei <leizhixing@baidu.com>
  214. Honggang Tang <tanghonggang@baidu.com>
  215. Kefeng Li <buaadallas@gmail.com>
  216. Xu Ma <maxu@baidu.com>
  217. Junzhong Liu <liujunzhong@baidu.com>
  218. Stefan Kaiser <stefan.kaiser@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  219. Sheau Ng <Sheau.ng@nbcuni.com>
  220. Stefan Pham <stefan.pham@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  221. Ami Fischman <fischman@google.com>
  222. Arnaud Braud <arnaud.braud@orange.com>
  223. Futomi Hatano <futomi.hatano@newphoria.co.jp>
  224. Bram Tullemans <tullemans@ebu.ch>
  225. Petr Peterka <ppeterka@verimatrix.com>
  226. lei wang <wanglei03@baidu.com>
  227. Milan Patel <Milan.Patel@huawei.com>
  228. Yiling Gu <guyiling@baidu.com>
  229. Zefa Xiong <xiongzefa@baidu.com>
  230. shanglin chen <chenshanglin@baidu.com>
  231. Yaso Córdova <who@yaso.is>
  232. Ping Wu <wuping02@baidu.com>
  233. Bin Chen <chenbin01@baidu.com>
  234. Youichi Takashima <takashima.youichi@lab.ntt.co.jp>
  235. Patrick Ladd <Pat_Ladd2@cable.comcast.com>
  236. Norifumi Kikkawa <norifumi.kikkawa@jp.sony.com>
  237. Hanrui Gao <gaohanrui@360.cn>
  238. Hao Jing <jh.jinghao@huawei.com>
  239. Glenn Deen <glenn.deen@nbcuni.com>
  240. Lei Wang <wanglei@baidu.com>
  241. Tom Handal <thandal@verimatrix.com>
  242. Tsutomu Ogasawara <tsutomu.ogasawara@mail.rakuten.com>
  243. Jose Segura <jose.segura@mail.rakuten.com>
  244. Pengcheng Guo <guopengcheng@baidu.com>
  245. Tom Wiltzius <wiltzius@google.com>
  246. Pierre-Anthony Lemieux <pal@sandflow.com>
  247. Xie Jianhui <xiejianhui@baidu.com>
  248. Yujie Jiang <jiangyujie@baidu.com>
  249. Leslie Sikos <sikos@sikoswebconsulting.com.au>
  250. Kazuhiko Takabayashi <kazuhiko.takabayashi@jp.sony.com>
  251. Brady Eidson <beidson@apple.com>
  252. Jerry Smith <jdsmith@microsoft.com>
  253. Michael Thornburgh <mthornbu@adobe.com>
  254. Cyril Rickelton-Abdi <cyril.rickelton-abdi@turner.com>
  255. Andrew Davis <andrew@diff.mx>
  256. Mick Hakobyan <mhakobyan@netflix.com>
  257. Vladimir Sinelnikov <sinelnikov@gmail.com>
  258. Chris Wong <huanghoujin@baidu.com>
  259. Yiliang LIU <liuyiliang@baidu.com>
  260. Hernan Beati <hernanbeati@gmail.com>
  261. mingqiang zhang <imcnan@gmail.com>
  262. yubo zhou <zhouyubo@360.cn>
  263. Ben Barber <barberboy@gmail.com>
  264. Suzanne Taylor <Suzanne.Taylor@pearson.com>
  265. Grzegorz Babula <gbabula@gmail.com>
  266. Brian Kardell <hitchjs@gmail.com>
  267. xueliang fan <fanxueliang@baidu.com>
  268. Niels Thorwirth <nthorwirth@verimatrix.com>
  269. David Evans <david.evans@rd.bbc.co.uk>
  270. Danny O'Brien <danny@eff.org>
  271. Joseph Karr O'Connor <josephoconnor@mac.com>
  272. Seth Schoen <schoen@eff.org>
  273. Yusuke Kagiwada <block.rxckin.beats@gmail.com>
  274. smallni ding <smallniding@tencent.com>
  275. Jamil Ellis <jamil.ellis@hbo.com>
  276. Jim Walsh <jim@jwalshcreative.com>
  277. Greg Davis <greg.davis@pearson.com>
  278. Gabino Alonso <gabinovincent@gmail.com>
  279. Sam Langdon <sam.langdon@hachette.co.uk>
  280. Michael Kelly <mkelly@mozilla.com>
  281. Xiaoqian Wu <xiaoqian@w3.org>
  282. Yue Min <minyue@baidu.com>
  283. Min Li <limin04@baidu.com>
  284. A.S. Krishnakumar <ask@avaya.com>
  285. Jonathan Neal <jonathantneal@gmail.com>
  286. Joanmarie Diggs <jdiggs@igalia.com>
  287. Pedro Xavier Jorge <pedro.xavierjorge@gmail.com>
  288. Akira Torii <Torii.Akira@bp.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  289. So Vang <svang@nab.org>
  290. Nathalia Sautchuk Patrício <nathalia@nic.br>
  291. Deblyn prado <deblyn@nic.br>
  292. Vicente García Díaz <vicegd@live.com>
  293. Nolan Butcher <nolan.butcher@hbo.com>
  294. Shinya Maruyama <Shinya.Maruyama@jp.sony.com>
  295. RAVI CHANDRA RAVULAPATI <ravichandra480@gmail.com>
  296. Yusuke Yokosuka <Yokosuka.Yusuke@bx.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  297. John Riviello <john_riviello@comcast.com>
  298. yaolong wang <wangyaolong@baidu.com>
  299. Tao Liang <liangtao01@baidu.com>
  300. Glenn Eguchi <geguchi@adobe.com>
  301. Lukáš Čihák <lukas.cihak@mensa.cz>
  302. WOOGLAE KIM <wlkim@inswave.com>
  303. Min Ren <minren@tencent.com>
  304. Rustam Khashimkhodjaev <Rustam_Khashimkhodjaev@cable.comcast.com>
  305. Jason White <jjwhite@ets.org>
  306. Hyejin Lee <hjlee@html5forum.or.kr>
  307. Richard Grzeczkowski <richard_grzeczkowski@cable.comcast.com>
  308. qigang huang <qiganghuang@tencent.com>
  309. Pascal Perrot <pascal.perrot@orange.com>
  310. Dapeng Liu <max.ldp@alibaba-inc.com>
  311. Matthew Wolenetz <wolenetz@google.com>
  312. Cory Heslip <cory_heslip@cable.comcast.com>
  313. Shaohang Yang <shaohang.ysh@alibaba-inc.com>
  314. Pramod Patlolla <pramod.patlolla@turner.com>
  315. Cooper Pope <cooper.pope@turner.com>
  316. Choon-Sik Cho <admin@wizvera.com>
  317. Seiji Okumura <Okumura.Seiji@bc.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  318. Eiji Yamamoto <Yamamoto.Eiji@db.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>

Send an email to all the non-responders.


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Maintained by Laurent Carcone, from a development by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.132 2015/11/30 15:46:52 carcone Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to lcarcone@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)