W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire EOWG Review: Web Accessibility Basics

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody.

This questionnaire was open from 2012-07-24 to 2012-08-14.

11 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Support for publishing the page
  2. Comments
  3. Which version are you commenting on?

1. Support for publishing the page

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
I support publishing it as is 8
I support publishing it; however, I suggest the changes in the comments section below (for editors' discretion now or for a later revision) 2
I support publishing it only with the changes indicated as [important to be addressed before publication] in the comments section below 1
I do not support publishing it because of the comments indicated as [important to be addressed before publication] in the comments section below
I abstain (not vote)

Details

Responder Support for publishing the page
Shawn Henry I support publishing it as is
Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo I support publishing it as is
Suzette Keith I support publishing it as is
Sylvie Duchateau I support publishing it only with the changes indicated as [important to be addressed before publication] in the comments section below
Vicki Menezes Miller I support publishing it as is
Jennifer Sutton I support publishing it; however, I suggest the changes in the comments section below (for editors' discretion now or for a later revision)
Shadi Abou-Zahra I support publishing it as is
Denis Boudreau I support publishing it as is
Helle Bjarnø I support publishing it; however, I suggest the changes in the comments section below (for editors' discretion now or for a later revision)
Ian Pouncey I support publishing it as is
Andrew Arch I support publishing it as is

2. Comments

Remember to include priority, location, suggested revision, and rationale for each comment.)

Details

Responder Comments
Shawn Henry
Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo
Suzette Keith One of my goals of this 'basic' piece was to provide useful basic content on the page and minimise the number of links off the page.
Rationale - the huge number of cross-referencing links in WAI materials confuse my brain and I tend to find myself going round in ever decreasing or possibly expanding circles.
I am pleased with the result. Please continue to keep the number of links in this piece to the minimum essential.
Sylvie Duchateau Editor's discretion:
Location: h2 "Understand how people use the Web" secon bullet on Ms Laitinen
Actual wording: "Ms. Laitinen is the chief accountant at an insurance company that uses web-based documents and forms over a corporate intranet. She is blind and, like many other people who are blind, she does not read braille."
Proposed change: check that this description corresponds to the modified version of this storry, as, if I remember correctly, Ms Laitinen reads braille but she uses it only to check things, like spelling.
In the following paragraphs, check that if the links to diversityof Web users or the following link text correspond to the agreed title, when it has been agreed.
Vicki Menezes Miller
Jennifer Sutton I've one comment. It's very much editor's discretion. Should the {@@...} notes above the conent be removed at this point? Since it's a Wiki, comments/changes may come in, but we may want this version to appear more or less "final."
Shadi Abou-Zahra Looks really good for the audience that it is targeting!
Denis Boudreau
Helle Bjarnø Really good content whish I had time to translate it and use here.
Priority: Editors discression.
Location: Under h2 The web is for all people and especially under h3 "What is web accessibility"
Suggested revision: Make this section shorter by removing 2nd paragraph: Web accessibility encompasses all disabilities that affect access to the Web, including people with auditory, cognitive, neurological, physical, speech, and visual disabilities. Accessibility includes people with impairments due to ageing."
Rationale: When reading this intro section I feel that we are really saying the same thing in many different ways, and maybe too many
I relly had to tell myself to continue reading. But I can live with it - not all people have heard this as many times as we have...
Ian Pouncey
Andrew Arch

3. Which version are you commenting on?

summary | by responder | by choice

The version is right after the first contents list:
Status: Draft Updated 00 Month 2011

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
date not listed here, put in comments below 1
28 June 2012 9

(1 response didn't contain an answer to this question)

Skip to view by choice.

View by responder

Details

Responder Which version are you commenting on?Comments
Shawn Henry
  • 28 June 2012
Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo
  • 28 June 2012
Suzette Keith
  • 28 June 2012
Sylvie Duchateau
  • 28 June 2012
Vicki Menezes Miller
  • 28 June 2012
Jennifer Sutton
  • 28 June 2012
Shadi Abou-Zahra
Denis Boudreau
  • 28 June 2012
Helle Bjarnø
  • 28 June 2012
Ian Pouncey
  • 28 June 2012
Andrew Arch
  • date not listed here, put in comments below
10 August 2012

View by choice

ChoiceResponders
date not listed here, put in comments below
  • Andrew Arch
28 June 2012
  • Shawn Henry
  • Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo
  • Suzette Keith
  • Sylvie Duchateau
  • Vicki Menezes Miller
  • Jennifer Sutton
  • Denis Boudreau
  • Helle Bjarnø
  • Ian Pouncey

More details on responses

Non-responders

The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  2. Eric Velleman <evelleman@bartimeus.nl>
  3. Roberto Castaldo <r.castaldo@webprofession.com>
  4. Brian Stonebridge <brian.stonebridge@agimo.gov.au>
  5. Pasquale Popolizio <p.popolizio@webprofession.com>
  6. Wayne Dick <wayneedick@gmail.com>
  7. Swaran Lata <slata@mit.gov.in>
  8. Sharron Rush <srush@knowbility.org>
  9. Eric Eggert <ee@w3.org>
  10. Massimiliano Navacchia <massimiliano@navacchia.it>
  11. Bim Egan <bim.egan1@gmail.com>
  12. Scott Hollier <scott.hollier@mediaaccess.org.au>
  13. Wilco Fiers <w.fiers@accessibility.nl>
  14. Somnath Chandra <Schandra@mit.gov.in>
  15. Mary Jo Mueller <maryjom@us.ibm.com>
  16. Jason Bell <jason.bell@actionforblindpeople.org.uk>
  17. Reinaldo Ferraz <reinaldo@nic.br>
  18. Jonathan Metz <metzessible@gmail.com>
  19. David Berman <berman@davidberman.com>
  20. Howard Kramer <hkramer@colorado.edu>
  21. Anna Belle Leiserson <ableiserson@gmail.com>
  22. Paul Schantz <paul.schantz@csun.edu>
  23. Vivienne Conway <v.conway@webkeyit.com>
  24. Jan McSorley <jan.mcsorley@pearson.com>
  25. Monique Viengkhou <monique.viengkhou@hp.com>
  26. Anthony Fernando <anthony.fernando@pearson.com>
  27. Kevin White <kevin@w3.org>
  28. Lydia Harkey <LHarkey@suddenlink.net>
  29. Brent Bakken <brent.bakken@pearson.com>
  30. Melody Ma <melody.yy.ma@gmail.com>
  31. Dale Cruse <dale.cruse@deque.com>
  32. George Heake <waimojo@gmail.com>
  33. James Green <jgreen@visa.com>

Send an email to all the non-responders.


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Maintained by Laurent Carcone, from a development by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.129 2015/07/01 16:13:23 kahan Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to lcarcone@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)