AccessibilityIssueProcedure

From HTML WG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


PROPOSAL: Procedure to Promote Progress With Accessibility Issues in HTML5

Statement of Purpose

The HTML5 Charter states, "The HTML Working Group will cooperate with the Web Accessibility Initiative to ensure that the deliverables will satisfy accessibility requirements." To fulfill the Charter's mandate and facilitate progress, the aforementioned statement must be enacted. The purpose of this document is to establish and formalize a HTML working group procedure in order that:

Procedure Overview

The HTML WG will look to the W3C WAI groups for guidance, listen to their advice, and collaborate with them to reach mutually agreeable accessibility solutions. Furthermore, collaboration will be promoted in a pro-active manner, i.e., whenever possible, design features known or foreseen to have an impact on accessibility will be explored and discussed with the PFWG prior to decisions in order to ensure mutually beneficial resolution of issues.

Collaboration Framework

  1. Approach issues on the basis of the shared goal of making HTML 5 the best solution for everyone, including people with disabilities.
  2. Work from concrete issues as to what in HTML 5 needs to be improved by asking PFWG to clearly identify accessibility functional requirements and provide rationale.
    • Listen to their input, ask for clarification, and work together to devise solutions to satisfy accessibility requirements.
  3. Ask PFWG if proposed solutions meet accessibility requirements.
    • If they say no, ask what functionality is still needed and continue the collaboration.
    • If they say yes, incorporate text for the mutually agreed upon solution into the specification.

Collaboration Tools

Tools to facilitate the procedure include but are not limited to:

All interested parties, in particular HTML WG editors, are encouraged to make use of these collaboration tools and opportunities.

Signed

Respectfully,

  • Laura L. Carlson laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com
  • Bruce Lawson bruce@brucelawson.co.uk
  • Catherine Roy ecrire@catherine-roy.net
  • Debi Orton oradnio@gmail.com
  • Gez Lemon gez.lemon@gmail.com
  • Jason White jason@jasonjgw.net
  • John Foliot jfoliot@stanford.edu
  • Leif Halvard Silli lhs@malform.no
  • Robert J Burns rob@robburns.com
  • Steve Faulkner sfaulkner@paciellogroup.com