ISSUE-31: (Bugzilla 17329) AudioContext.activeSourceCount

activeSourceCount

(Bugzilla 17329) AudioContext.activeSourceCount

State:
CLOSED
Product:
Web Audio API
Raised by:
Philip J├Ągenstedt
Opened on:
2012-05-15
Description:
https://dvcs.w3.org/hg/audio/raw-file/tip/webaudio/specification.html#dfn-activeSourceCount

"currently playing" is not sufficiently defined.

Possibly, is it the number of AudioBufferSourceNodes with playbackState == PLAYING_STATE. However, which AudioBufferSourceNodes? After creating them, the spec doesn't define any association with the AudioContext, so it's not clear how to count them.

Seemingly, only AudioBufferSourceNodes are included in the count, but given the name including Oscillator and MediaElementAudioSourceNode ought to also be included, given that they also have playing states (directly or indirectly).

Finally, what is the use case for activeSourceCount? If it can be dropped, the above issues become moot.
Related Actions Items:
No related actions
Related emails:
  1. [web-audio-api] (activeSourceCount): AudioContext.activeSourceCount (#139) (from notifications@github.com on 2013-09-11)
  2. Re: State of issues as of 2012-05-30 (from philipj@opera.com on 2012-06-01)
  3. Re: Audio-ISSUE-31 (activeSourceCount): AudioContext.activeSourceCount [Web Audio API] (from philipj@opera.com on 2012-06-01)
  4. State of issues as of 2012-05-30 (from olivier.thereaux@bbc.co.uk on 2012-05-30)
  5. Re: Summary of issues (from crogers@google.com on 2012-05-22)
  6. Summary of issues (from mage@opera.com on 2012-05-22)
  7. Audio-ISSUE-31 (activeSourceCount): AudioContext.activeSourceCount [Web Audio API] (from sysbot+tracker@w3.org on 2012-05-15)

Related notes:

Agreed, we can probably create a more elegant solution to include Oscillator, etc.

Chris Rogers, 18 May 2012, 23:07:37

Editor acks. OPEN.

Olivier Thereaux, 30 May 2012, 20:27:40

[MikeSmith]: https://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/show_bug.cgi?id=17329

5 Jun 2012, 13:56:44

Display change log ATOM feed


Matthew Paradis <matthew.paradis@bbc.co.uk>, Raymond Toy <rtoy@google.com>, Chairs, Chris Lilley <chris@w3.org>, Staff Contact
Tracker: documentation, (configuration for this group), originally developed by Dean Jackson, is developed and maintained by the Systems Team <w3t-sys@w3.org>.
$Id: 31.html,v 1.1 2019/11/12 13:32:19 carcone Exp $