W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire ISSUE-205: Define what author guidance and/or methods should be provided to those that wish to create accessible text editors using canvas as a rendering surface - Straw Poll for Objections

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody. In addition, answers are sent to the following email addresses: pcotton@microsoft.com, rubys@intertwingly.net, mjs@apple.com, mike@w3.org

This questionnaire was open from 2012-05-29 to 2012-06-07.

2 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Objections to the Change Proposal to support creation of accessible text editors in Canvas.
  2. Objections to the Change Proposal that discourages creation of text editors using Canvas.

1. Objections to the Change Proposal to support creation of accessible text editors in Canvas.

We have a Change Proposal to modify existing the Canvas 2D API to include APIs that allow a screen magnifier to track caret and selection change movements to support the creation of accessible text editors in Canvas. If you have strong objections to adopting this Change Proposal, please state your objections below.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the Change Proposal to support creation of accessible text editors in Canvas.
Richard Schwerdtfeger
Janina Sajka

2. Objections to the Change Proposal that discourages creation of text editors using Canvas.

We have a Change Proposal that proposes to maintain the advise that authors not attempt to create text editors in Canvas. If you have strong objections to adopting this Change Proposal, please state your objections below.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the Change Proposal that discourages creation of text editors using Canvas.
Richard Schwerdtfeger I object to having this text in the HTML5 spec. as it states that authors should not do rich text editing using canvas because it is technicall hard. Yet, LibreOffice has already built a rich text editor in canvas that supports multiple languages. Furthermore, the fact that it has been done successfully and that the company advocating this change proposal is the largest producer of rich text editing products brings into question, for me, the motivation for making this change proposal.

If it were not technically feasible to produce a rich text editor in canvas or it were proven that we could not produce an accessible rich text editor with canvas then those arguments would be grounds for having this text in the document. Given that LibreOffice, written in HTML5 canvas, is available and that chairs have not ruled that the chairs have not ruled on http://www.w3.org/html/wg/wiki/ChangeProposals/CaretSelectionRevised and because the combined hit testing change proposal has not yet been submitted and reviewed it is premature to state that rich text editing cannot be made accessible.

On these ground I object to this change proposal.
Janina Sajka As already noted, this stricture has not worked. There's no evidence this will change. We have not heard that LibreOffice will withdraw, nor have we any evidence that some author will not ask something as simple as "Enter your name here:" in canvas.
So, if the WG cannot prevent text editing in canvas, it should recognize that a11y will be harmed if the technology to support assistive technologies
is excluded. Please do not undermine a11y over an unwinnable preference.

More details on responses

Non-responders

The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Tantek Çelik <tantek@cs.stanford.edu>
  2. Patrick D F Ion <ion@ams.org>
  3. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  4. Liam Quin <liam@w3.org>
  5. Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>
  6. Chris Wilson <cwilso@google.com>
  7. David Carlisle <davidc@nag.co.uk>
  8. James Helman <jhelman@movielabs.com>
  9. Jim Allan <jimallan@tsbvi.edu>
  10. Chris Marrin <cmarrin@apple.com>
  11. Charles McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>
  12. Philippe Le Hégaret <plh@w3.org>
  13. Don Brutzman <brutzman@nps.edu>
  14. T.V. Raman <raman@google.com>
  15. David Singer <singer@apple.com>
  16. Daniel Glazman <daniel.glazman@disruptive-innovations.com>
  17. Karl Dubost <karl@la-grange.net>
  18. Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>
  19. Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
  20. Lisa Seeman <lisa.seeman@zoho.com>
  21. Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
  22. Wu Chou <wu.chou@huawei.com>
  23. Katsuhiko Momoi <momoi@google.com>
  24. Kangchan Lee <chan@w3.org>
  25. Roy Fielding <fielding@gbiv.com>
  26. Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>
  27. Johnny Stenback <jst@mozilla.com>
  28. Deborah Dahl <dahl@conversational-technologies.com>
  29. Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>
  30. Glenn Adams <glenn@skynav.com>
  31. Jonathan Jeon <hollobit@etri.re.kr>
  32. David Hyatt <hyatt@apple.com>
  33. WonSuk Lee <wonsuk.lee@etri.re.kr>
  34. Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
  35. Robert Accettura <robert@accettura.com>
  36. Jonathan Watt <jwatt@jwatt.org>
  37. Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
  38. Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo <emmanuelle@sidar.org>
  39. Patrick Lauke <redux@splintered.co.uk>
  40. David MacDonald <David100@sympatico.ca>
  41. Jack Jansen <jack@cwi.nl>
  42. Kazuhito Kidachi <k-kidachi@mitsue.co.jp>
  43. Markku Hakkinen <mhakkinen@ets.org>
  44. Cyril Concolato <cyril.concolato@telecom-paristech.fr>
  45. Jens Meiert <jens@meiert.com>
  46. Felix Sasaki <fsasaki@w3.org>
  47. Kazuyuki Ashimura <ashimura@w3.org>
  48. Tomas Caspers <tomas@tomascaspers.de>
  49. Han Xu <collin@w3china.org>
  50. Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
  51. Mark Crawford <mark.crawford@sap.com>
  52. Preety Kumar <preety.kumar@deque.com>
  53. Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>
  54. Ian Fette <ifette@google.com>
  55. Michael[tm] Smith <mike@w3.org>
  56. Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
  57. Cameron McCormack <cam@mcc.id.au>
  58. Stefan Schnabel <stefan.schnabel@sap.com>
  59. Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz>
  60. Travis Leithead <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>
  61. Youngsun Ryu <ysryu@samsung.com>
  62. Sierk Bornemann <sierkb@gmail.com>
  63. Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>
  64. James Graham <james@hoppipolla.co.uk>
  65. Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@hsivonen.fi>
  66. Krijn Hoetmer <w3c@qontent.nl>
  67. Markus Fischer <markus@fischer.name>
  68. Channy Yun <channy@gmail.com>
  69. Shane Thacker <shanethacker@gmail.com>
  70. Vilem Malek <murphy@malek.cz>
  71. Zhihong Mao <zhihong.mao@gmail.com>
  72. Benoit Piette <benoit.piette@gmail.com>
  73. Erik van Kempen <erikvankempen@gmail.com>
  74. Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>
  75. Nick Fitzsimons <w3@nickfitz.co.uk>
  76. Josh Lawton <w3c@joshlawton.com>
  77. Adele Peterson <adele@apple.com>
  78. S Emerson <w3c@accretewebsolutions.ca>
  79. Morten Tollefsen <morten@medialt.no>
  80. Daniel Schattenkirchner <schattenkirchner.daniel@gmx.de>
  81. Theresa O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com>
  82. Justin Anthony Knapp <justinkoavf@gmail.com>
  83. Simon Myers <Smylers@stripey.com>
  84. Samuel Weinig <weinig@apple.com>
  85. Alexey Proskuryakov <ap@webkit.org>
  86. Alejandro Fernandez <alejandro@mediadvanced.com>
  87. Doug Jones <doug_b_jones@me.com>
  88. Marc Drumm <mdrumm@wcupa.edu>
  89. Danny Liang <danny.glue@gmail.com>
  90. Michael Puls II <shadow2531@gmail.com>
  91. Ron Reisor <ron@udel.edu>
  92. Marat Tanalin <mtanalin@yandex.ru>
  93. Andrew Norman <idonothaveacat@gmail.com>
  94. Craig Buckler <craigbuckler@gmail.com>
  95. Matthew Turvey <mcturvey@gmail.com>
  96. Dale Hudjik <dale.hudjik@gmail.com>
  97. James Cassell <w3c@cyberpear.com>
  98. Joseph D'Andrea <jdandrea@gmail.com>
  99. Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>
  100. Michael Turnwall <w3c@turnwall.net>
  101. Don Kiely <donkiely@computer.org>
  102. Robert Marshall <rdm@rdmsoft.com>
  103. David Child <dave@addedbytes.com>
  104. Mark DuBois <Mark@webprofessionals.org>
  105. David Bills <w3@dfbills.com>
  106. Nik Thierry <me@thisemail.ca>
  107. Andrew Ramsden <andrew@irama.org>
  108. John Foliot <john.foliot@deque.com>
  109. Shefik Macauley <allknightaccess@gmail.com>
  110. Joe Steele <steele@adobe.com>
  111. John Vernaleo <john@netpurgatory.com>
  112. Jeremy Keith <jeremy@adactio.com>
  113. Jedi Lin <JediLin@Gmail.com>
  114. Jon Hughes <jon@phazm.com>
  115. Samuel Santos <samaxes@gmail.com>
  116. Dean Jackson <dino@apple.com>
  117. Mohammed DADAS <mohammed.dadas@orange.com>
  118. Sally Cain <sally.cain@rnib.org.uk>
  119. Dan Romascanu <dromasca@avaya.com>
  120. David Bolter <dbolter@mozilla.com>
  121. James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
  122. MING JIN <ming.jin.web@gmail.com>
  123. Leonard Rosenthol <lrosenth@adobe.com>
  124. Adrian Bateman <adrianba@microsoft.com>
  125. Dionysios Synodinos <synodinos@gmail.com>
  126. Jean-Pierre EVAIN <evain@ebu.ch>
  127. Mark Pilgrim <pilgrim@google.com>
  128. Matt Lee <mattl@cnuk.org>
  129. Magnus Olsson <magnus.olsson@ericsson.com>
  130. Chris Pearce <cpearce@mozilla.com>
  131. Mark Miller <erights@google.com>
  132. Andrew Wilson <atwilson@google.com>
  133. Per-Erik Brodin <per-erik.brodin@ericsson.com>
  134. Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>
  135. Martin McEvoy <martin@weborganics.co.uk>
  136. Aryeh Gregor <ayg@aryeh.name>
  137. Jonathan Griffin <jgriffin@mozilla.com>
  138. Anders Bondehagen <anders@bondehagen.com>
  139. Steven Pemberton <Steven.Pemberton@cwi.nl>
  140. Raul Hudea <rhudea@adobe.com>
  141. Raghavan Gurumurthy <raghavan@adobe.com>
  142. Mayank Kumar <mayankk@adobe.com>
  143. Dragos Georgita <dgeorgit@adobe.com>
  144. Christopher Bank <cbank@adobe.com>
  145. Ole Riesenberg <or@oleriesenberg.com>
  146. Takuya Oikawa <takuya@google.com>
  147. Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>
  148. Robert Stern <rstern@gmail.com>
  149. Dean Leigh <dean.leigh@deanleigh.co.uk>
  150. Eihab Ibrahim <eihabibrahim@gmail.com>
  151. Kensaku KOMATSU <kensaku.komatsu@gmail.com>
  152. Jer Noble <jer.noble@apple.com>
  153. Masatomo Kobayashi <mstm@jp.ibm.com>
  154. Peter Beverloo <beverloo@google.com>
  155. Andrew Scherkus <scherkus@google.com>
  156. Greg Johnson <greg.johnson@gmail.com>
  157. Martijn Croonen <martijn@martijnc.be>
  158. Stanley Manoski <manoski@mitre.org>
  159. Yosuke Funahashi <yosuke@w3.org>
  160. Mounir Lamouri <mlamouri@google.com>
  161. Tony Gentilcore <tonyg@google.com>
  162. Joseph Pecoraro <pecoraro@apple.com>
  163. Othmane Benyoucef <othmane_benyoucef@hotmail.com>
  164. Bob Lund <b.lund@cablelabs.com>
  165. Tatsuya Igarashi <Tatsuya.Igarashi@jp.sony.com>
  166. John Simmons <johnsim@microsoft.com>
  167. Mathias Bynens <mathias@qiwi.be>
  168. Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>
  169. Clarke Stevens <c.stevens@cablelabs.com>
  170. Mark Vickers <mark_vickers@comcast.com>
  171. Sree Kotay <Sree_Kotay@cable.comcast.com>
  172. Cameron Jones <cmhjones@gmail.com>
  173. Rik Cabanier <Cabanier@adobe.com>
  174. Jeremy LaCivita <jeremy.lacivita@theplatform.com>
  175. Denis Ah-Kang <denis@w3.org>
  176. Alvar Laigna <laigna@gmail.com>
  177. Kunio Ito <kunio.ito@mail.rakuten.com>
  178. David Mays <david_mays@comcast.com>
  179. Michael Chen <michael_chen@cable.comcast.com>
  180. jongyoul Park <jongyoul@etri.re.kr>
  181. Kilroy Hughes <kilroy.hughes@microsoft.com>
  182. Reinaldo Ferraz <reinaldo@nic.br>
  183. Bill Mandel <bill.mandel@nbcuni.com>
  184. Eva Lingyun Jing <jinglingyun@baidu.com>
  185. GANG LIANG <gang.liang@huawei.com>
  186. Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>
  187. Jason Kiss <jason@accessibleculture.org>
  188. Gian Luca Marroni <gmarroni@libero.it>
  189. Ian Devlin <ian@iandevlin.com>
  190. Xingrong Guo <guoxingrong@baidu.com>
  191. Jet Villegas <w3c@junglecode.net>
  192. Alexander Surkov <surkov.alexander@gmail.com>
  193. Hasan Savran <hsavran@kent.edu>
  194. Marco Kotrotsos <Marco@mlabs.nl>
  195. Eric VonColln <eric.voncolln@navy.mil>
  196. Jason Boyd <jason@pixelboxdesign.co.uk>
  197. Jungkee Song <jungkee.song@samsung.com>
  198. Rayi Lei <leiyi@baidu.com>
  199. Daniel Austin <daniel.austin@grintech.net>
  200. David Dorwin <ddorwin@google.com>
  201. jiexuan gao <gaojiexuan@baidu.com>
  202. Xiaoqing Yang <yangxiaoqing@baidu.com>
  203. Aaron Colwell <acolwell@google.com>
  204. Alex Giladi <alex.giladi@huawei.com>
  205. Motomasa Futagami <Motomasa.Futagami@jp.sony.com>
  206. Kevin Streeter <kstreete@adobe.com>
  207. Christian Kaiser <kaiserc@google.com>
  208. Xuejian Li <lixuejian@baidu.com>
  209. Zuncheng Yang <yangzuncheng@baidu.com>
  210. Qianglong Zheng <zhengqianglong@baidu.com>
  211. Zhou Shen <shenzhou@baidu.com>
  212. Duoyi Wu <wuduoyi@baidu.com>
  213. Zheng Jia <jiazheng@baidu.com>
  214. Weifeng Feng <fengweifeng@baidu.com>
  215. Damin Hu <hudamin@baidu.com>
  216. Yang Liu <liuyang12@baidu.com>
  217. Zhixing Lei <leizhixing@baidu.com>
  218. Honggang Tang <tanghonggang@baidu.com>
  219. Kefeng Li <buaadallas@gmail.com>
  220. Xu Ma <maxu@baidu.com>
  221. Junzhong Liu <liujunzhong@baidu.com>
  222. Stefan Kaiser <stefan.kaiser@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  223. Sheau Ng <Sheau.ng@nbcuni.com>
  224. Stefan Pham <stefan.pham@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  225. Ami Fischman <fischman@google.com>
  226. Arnaud Braud <arnaud.braud@orange.com>
  227. Futomi Hatano <futomi.hatano@newphoria.co.jp>
  228. Bram Tullemans <tullemans@ebu.ch>
  229. Petr Peterka <ppeterka@verimatrix.com>
  230. lei wang <wanglei03@baidu.com>
  231. Milan Patel <Milan.Patel@huawei.com>
  232. Yiling Gu <guyiling@baidu.com>
  233. Zefa Xiong <xiongzefa@baidu.com>
  234. shanglin chen <chenshanglin@baidu.com>
  235. Yaso Córdova <who@yaso.is>
  236. Ping Wu <wuping02@baidu.com>
  237. Bin Chen <chenbin01@baidu.com>
  238. Youichi Takashima <takashima.youichi@lab.ntt.co.jp>
  239. Patrick Ladd <Pat_Ladd2@cable.comcast.com>
  240. Norifumi Kikkawa <norifumi.kikkawa@jp.sony.com>
  241. Hanrui Gao <gaohanrui@360.cn>
  242. Hao Jing <jh.jinghao@huawei.com>
  243. Glenn Deen <glenn.deen@nbcuni.com>
  244. Lei Wang <wanglei@baidu.com>
  245. Tom Handal <thandal@verimatrix.com>
  246. Tsutomu Ogasawara <tsutomu.ogasawara@mail.rakuten.com>
  247. Jose Segura <jose.segura@mail.rakuten.com>
  248. Pengcheng Guo <guopengcheng@baidu.com>
  249. Tom Wiltzius <wiltzius@google.com>
  250. Pierre-Anthony Lemieux <pal@sandflow.com>
  251. Xie Jianhui <xiejianhui@baidu.com>
  252. Yujie Jiang <jiangyujie@baidu.com>
  253. Leslie Sikos <sikos@sikoswebconsulting.com.au>
  254. Kazuhiko Takabayashi <kazuhiko.takabayashi@jp.sony.com>
  255. Brady Eidson <beidson@apple.com>
  256. Jerry Smith <jdsmith@microsoft.com>
  257. Michael Thornburgh <mthornbu@adobe.com>
  258. Cyril Rickelton-Abdi <cyril.rickelton-abdi@turner.com>
  259. Andrew Davis <andrew@diff.mx>
  260. Mick Hakobyan <mhakobyan@netflix.com>
  261. Vladimir Sinelnikov <sinelnikov@gmail.com>
  262. Chris Wong <huanghoujin@baidu.com>
  263. Yiliang LIU <liuyiliang@baidu.com>
  264. Hernan Beati <hernanbeati@gmail.com>
  265. mingqiang zhang <imcnan@gmail.com>
  266. yubo zhou <zhouyubo@360.cn>
  267. Ben Barber <barberboy@gmail.com>
  268. Suzanne Taylor <Suzanne.Taylor@pearson.com>
  269. Grzegorz Babula <gbabula@gmail.com>
  270. Brian Kardell <hitchjs@gmail.com>
  271. xueliang fan <fanxueliang@baidu.com>
  272. Niels Thorwirth <nthorwirth@verimatrix.com>
  273. David Evans <david.evans@rd.bbc.co.uk>
  274. Danny O'Brien <danny@eff.org>
  275. Joseph Karr O'Connor <josephoconnor@mac.com>
  276. Seth Schoen <schoen@eff.org>
  277. Yusuke Kagiwada <block.rxckin.beats@gmail.com>
  278. smallni ding <smallniding@tencent.com>
  279. Jamil Ellis <jamil.ellis@hbo.com>
  280. Jim Walsh <jim@jwalshcreative.com>
  281. Greg Davis <greg.davis@pearson.com>
  282. Gabino Alonso <gabinovincent@gmail.com>
  283. Sam Langdon <sam.langdon@hachette.co.uk>
  284. Michael Kelly <mkelly@mozilla.com>
  285. Xiaoqian Wu <xiaoqian@w3.org>
  286. Yue Min <minyue@baidu.com>
  287. Min Li <limin04@baidu.com>
  288. A.S. Krishnakumar <ask@avaya.com>
  289. Jonathan Neal <jonathantneal@gmail.com>
  290. Joanmarie Diggs <jdiggs@igalia.com>
  291. Pedro Xavier Jorge <pedro.xavierjorge@gmail.com>
  292. Akira Torii <Torii.Akira@bp.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  293. So Vang <svang@nab.org>
  294. Nathalia Sautchuk Patrício <nathalia@nic.br>
  295. Deblyn prado <deblyn@nic.br>
  296. Vicente García Díaz <vicegd@live.com>
  297. Nolan Butcher <nolan.butcher@hbo.com>
  298. Shinya Maruyama <Shinya.Maruyama@jp.sony.com>
  299. RAVI CHANDRA RAVULAPATI <ravichandra480@gmail.com>
  300. Yusuke Yokosuka <Yokosuka.Yusuke@bx.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  301. John Riviello <john_riviello@comcast.com>
  302. yaolong wang <wangyaolong@baidu.com>
  303. Tao Liang <liangtao01@baidu.com>
  304. Glenn Eguchi <geguchi@adobe.com>
  305. Lukáš Čihák <lukas.cihak@mensa.cz>
  306. WOOGLAE KIM <wlkim@inswave.com>
  307. Min Ren <minren@tencent.com>
  308. Rustam Khashimkhodjaev <Rustam_Khashimkhodjaev@cable.comcast.com>
  309. Jason White <jjwhite@ets.org>
  310. Hyejin Lee <hjlee@html5forum.or.kr>
  311. Richard Grzeczkowski <richard_grzeczkowski@cable.comcast.com>
  312. qigang huang <qiganghuang@tencent.com>
  313. Pascal Perrot <pascal.perrot@orange.com>
  314. Dapeng Liu <max.ldp@alibaba-inc.com>
  315. Matthew Wolenetz <wolenetz@google.com>
  316. Cory Heslip <cory_heslip@cable.comcast.com>
  317. Shaohang Yang <shaohang.ysh@alibaba-inc.com>
  318. Pramod Patlolla <pramod.patlolla@turner.com>
  319. Cooper Pope <cooper.pope@turner.com>
  320. Choon-Sik Cho <admin@wizvera.com>
  321. Seiji Okumura <Okumura.Seiji@bc.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  322. Eiji Yamamoto <Yamamoto.Eiji@db.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>

Send an email to all the non-responders.


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Maintained by Laurent Carcone, from a development by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.132 2015/11/30 15:46:52 carcone Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to lcarcone@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)