W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire ISSUE-147: undefined behavior when the user agent can't play back at the requested rate - Straw Poll for Objections

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody.

This questionnaire was open from 2011-03-27 to 2011-04-05.

3 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Objections to the change proposal to describe what to do if the user agent is unable to play media at the requested rate
  2. Objections to the change proposal to Introduce requestedPlaybackRate/actualPlaybackRate
  3. Objections to the change proposal to consider the inability to play at a given playback rate a hardware limitation

1. Objections to the change proposal to describe what to do if the user agent is unable to play media at the requested rate

We have a Change Proposal to describe what to do if the user agent is unable to play media at the requested rate. If you have strong objections to adopting this Change Proposal, please state your objections below.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the change proposal to describe what to do if the user agent is unable to play media at the requested rate
Robert O'Callahan This change proposal requires the browser to determine immediately and synchronously whether it can play back the media at the new playback rate. As an implementor of the <video> element, I don't think we can implement this in general; we won't know whether we can maintain a given playback rate until we try to play back at that rate. Even then, whether we can sustain the rate will vary from moment to moment.
Ian Hickson This proposal would break the ability for Web apps to be able to tell when the user has switched to "fast-forward" mode in a UA interface for the media element, as while the UA would know the user was in such a mode, the Web app would be unable to notice a difference in the playbackRate API. (And also vice versa, with the UA unable to tell when the Web app thought the user was fast-forwarding.)

Also, the proposed text would be incompatible with a situation in which the user agent _can_ apply the requested rate for some part of the media but not all of it.
Theresa O'Connor If the user agent is unable to play back at the requested rate, it may be able to choose a rate better than that which was the case before the request. For example, suppose a video is playing back at 1x. The user interacts with a fast forward widget, which requests a playback rate of 5x. The user agent is incapable of playing back at this rate, but it can do 4x. This Change Proposal would have the UA ignore the 5x request and leave the playback rate at 1x, but it would be much better to play back at 4x.

2. Objections to the change proposal to Introduce requestedPlaybackRate/actualPlaybackRate

We have a Change Proposal to introduce requestedPlaybackRate/actualPlaybackRate to the HTML5 spec.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the change proposal to Introduce requestedPlaybackRate/actualPlaybackRate
Robert O'Callahan This proposal seems under-specified. In particular it is unclear how the "actualPlaybackRate" should be computed, in particular what time window should be used. Given that actualPlaybackRate can vary from moment to moment, it's unclear how scripts should use it. And actualPlaybackRate may not be adequate to reflect the quality of the user experience; e.g. if the UA plays a the requested playback rate, but only at one frame per second, should we report actualPlaybackRate == requestedPlaybackRate and let the script assume everything is OK?

There is interest in developing "media statistics" APIs for a broader variety of use-cases, such as performance analysis and adaptive streaming (and Webkit and Gecko already have demonstrated prototype implementations of such APIs). Those APIs will probably subsume "actualPlaybackRate" in a more general and better specified way.
Ian Hickson There seems to be agreement to add a general metrics feature. Given that, this proposal has been retracted: http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html/2011Mar/0709.html
Theresa O'Connor No use case is given for script to be able to access the requestedPlaybackRate after attempting to set the playback rate. Instead of adding an additional attribute, it would be simpler to retain just playbackRate, and to have it return the actual playback rate. This would also be more compatible with existing user agents.

3. Objections to the change proposal to consider the inability to play at a given playback rate a hardware limitation

We have a Change Proposal to consider the inability to play at a given playback rate a hardware limitation and not expose it via a dedicated API.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the change proposal to consider the inability to play at a given playback rate a hardware limitation
Robert O'Callahan I agree wholeheartedly with the arguments in this proposal. This seems like the safest approach for now, and we'll still have the option of adding new APIs in the future if this approach turns out to be inadequate.
Ian Hickson
Theresa O'Connor

More details on responses

Non-responders

The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Tantek Çelik <tantek@cs.stanford.edu>
  2. Patrick D F Ion <ion@ams.org>
  3. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  4. Liam Quin <liam@w3.org>
  5. Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>
  6. Chris Wilson <cwilso@google.com>
  7. David Carlisle <davidc@nag.co.uk>
  8. James Helman <jhelman@movielabs.com>
  9. Jim Allan <jimallan@tsbvi.edu>
  10. Chris Marrin <cmarrin@apple.com>
  11. Charles McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>
  12. Philippe Le Hégaret <plh@w3.org>
  13. Don Brutzman <brutzman@nps.edu>
  14. T.V. Raman <raman@google.com>
  15. David Singer <singer@apple.com>
  16. Daniel Glazman <daniel.glazman@disruptive-innovations.com>
  17. Karl Dubost <karl@la-grange.net>
  18. Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>
  19. Lisa Seeman <lisa.seeman@zoho.com>
  20. Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
  21. Wu Chou <wu.chou@huawei.com>
  22. Katsuhiko Momoi <momoi@google.com>
  23. Kangchan Lee <chan@w3.org>
  24. Roy Fielding <fielding@gbiv.com>
  25. Johnny Stenback <jst@mozilla.com>
  26. Deborah Dahl <dahl@conversational-technologies.com>
  27. Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>
  28. Glenn Adams <glenn@skynav.com>
  29. Jonathan Jeon <hollobit@etri.re.kr>
  30. David Hyatt <hyatt@apple.com>
  31. WonSuk Lee <wonsuk.lee@etri.re.kr>
  32. Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
  33. Robert Accettura <robert@accettura.com>
  34. Jonathan Watt <jwatt@jwatt.org>
  35. Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
  36. Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo <emmanuelle@sidar.org>
  37. Patrick Lauke <redux@splintered.co.uk>
  38. David MacDonald <David100@sympatico.ca>
  39. Jack Jansen <jack@cwi.nl>
  40. Kazuhito Kidachi <k-kidachi@mitsue.co.jp>
  41. Markku Hakkinen <mhakkinen@ets.org>
  42. Cyril Concolato <cyril.concolato@telecom-paristech.fr>
  43. Jens Meiert <jens@meiert.com>
  44. Felix Sasaki <fsasaki@w3.org>
  45. Kazuyuki Ashimura <ashimura@w3.org>
  46. Tomas Caspers <tomas@tomascaspers.de>
  47. Han Xu <collin@w3china.org>
  48. Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
  49. Mark Crawford <mark.crawford@sap.com>
  50. Preety Kumar <preety.kumar@deque.com>
  51. Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>
  52. Ian Fette <ifette@google.com>
  53. Michael[tm] Smith <mike@w3.org>
  54. Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
  55. Cameron McCormack <cam@mcc.id.au>
  56. Stefan Schnabel <stefan.schnabel@sap.com>
  57. Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz>
  58. Travis Leithead <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>
  59. Youngsun Ryu <ysryu@samsung.com>
  60. Sierk Bornemann <sierkb@gmail.com>
  61. Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>
  62. James Graham <james@hoppipolla.co.uk>
  63. Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@hsivonen.fi>
  64. Krijn Hoetmer <w3c@qontent.nl>
  65. Channy Yun <channy@gmail.com>
  66. Shane Thacker <shanethacker@gmail.com>
  67. Vilem Malek <murphy@malek.cz>
  68. Zhihong Mao <zhihong.mao@gmail.com>
  69. Benoit Piette <benoit.piette@gmail.com>
  70. Erik van Kempen <erikvankempen@gmail.com>
  71. Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>
  72. Nick Fitzsimons <w3@nickfitz.co.uk>
  73. Josh Lawton <w3c@joshlawton.com>
  74. Adele Peterson <adele@apple.com>
  75. S Emerson <w3c@accretewebsolutions.ca>
  76. Morten Tollefsen <morten@medialt.no>
  77. Daniel Schattenkirchner <schattenkirchner.daniel@gmx.de>
  78. Justin Anthony Knapp <justinkoavf@gmail.com>
  79. Simon Myers <Smylers@stripey.com>
  80. Samuel Weinig <weinig@apple.com>
  81. Alexey Proskuryakov <ap@webkit.org>
  82. Alejandro Fernandez <alejandro@mediadvanced.com>
  83. Doug Jones <doug_b_jones@me.com>
  84. Marc Drumm <mdrumm@wcupa.edu>
  85. Danny Liang <danny.glue@gmail.com>
  86. Michael Puls II <shadow2531@gmail.com>
  87. Ron Reisor <ron@udel.edu>
  88. Marat Tanalin <mtanalin@yandex.ru>
  89. Andrew Norman <idonothaveacat@gmail.com>
  90. Craig Buckler <craigbuckler@gmail.com>
  91. Matthew Turvey <mcturvey@gmail.com>
  92. Dale Hudjik <dale.hudjik@gmail.com>
  93. James Cassell <w3c@cyberpear.com>
  94. Joseph D'Andrea <jdandrea@gmail.com>
  95. Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>
  96. Michael Turnwall <w3c@turnwall.net>
  97. Don Kiely <donkiely@computer.org>
  98. David Child <dave@addedbytes.com>
  99. Mark DuBois <Mark@webprofessionals.org>
  100. David Bills <w3@dfbills.com>
  101. Nik Thierry <me@thisemail.ca>
  102. Andrew Ramsden <andrew@irama.org>
  103. John Foliot <john.foliot@deque.com>
  104. Shefik Macauley <allknightaccess@gmail.com>
  105. Joe Steele <steele@adobe.com>
  106. John Vernaleo <john@netpurgatory.com>
  107. Jeremy Keith <jeremy@adactio.com>
  108. Jedi Lin <JediLin@Gmail.com>
  109. Jon Hughes <jon@phazm.com>
  110. Samuel Santos <samaxes@gmail.com>
  111. Dean Jackson <dino@apple.com>
  112. Mohammed DADAS <mohammed.dadas@orange.com>
  113. Sally Cain <sally.cain@rnib.org.uk>
  114. Dan Romascanu <dromasca@avaya.com>
  115. David Bolter <dbolter@mozilla.com>
  116. James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
  117. MING JIN <ming.jin.web@gmail.com>
  118. Leonard Rosenthol <lrosenth@adobe.com>
  119. Adrian Bateman <adrianba@microsoft.com>
  120. Dionysios Synodinos <synodinos@gmail.com>
  121. Jean-Pierre EVAIN <evain@ebu.ch>
  122. Mark Pilgrim <pilgrim@google.com>
  123. Matt Lee <mattl@cnuk.org>
  124. Magnus Olsson <magnus.olsson@ericsson.com>
  125. Chris Pearce <cpearce@mozilla.com>
  126. Mark Miller <erights@google.com>
  127. Andrew Wilson <atwilson@google.com>
  128. Per-Erik Brodin <per-erik.brodin@ericsson.com>
  129. Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>
  130. Martin McEvoy <martin@weborganics.co.uk>
  131. Aryeh Gregor <ayg@aryeh.name>
  132. Jonathan Griffin <jgriffin@mozilla.com>
  133. Anders Bondehagen <anders@bondehagen.com>
  134. Steven Pemberton <Steven.Pemberton@cwi.nl>
  135. Raul Hudea <rhudea@adobe.com>
  136. Raghavan Gurumurthy <raghavan@adobe.com>
  137. Mayank Kumar <mayankk@adobe.com>
  138. Dragos Georgita <dgeorgit@adobe.com>
  139. Christopher Bank <cbank@adobe.com>
  140. Ole Riesenberg <or@oleriesenberg.com>
  141. Takuya Oikawa <takuya@google.com>
  142. Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>
  143. Robert Stern <rstern@gmail.com>
  144. Eihab Ibrahim <eihabibrahim@gmail.com>
  145. Kensaku KOMATSU <kensaku.komatsu@gmail.com>
  146. Jer Noble <jer.noble@apple.com>
  147. Masatomo Kobayashi <mstm@jp.ibm.com>
  148. Peter Beverloo <beverloo@google.com>
  149. Andrew Scherkus <scherkus@google.com>
  150. Greg Johnson <greg.johnson@gmail.com>
  151. Martijn Croonen <martijn@martijnc.be>
  152. Stanley Manoski <manoski@mitre.org>
  153. Yosuke Funahashi <yosuke@w3.org>
  154. Mounir Lamouri <mlamouri@google.com>
  155. Tony Gentilcore <tonyg@google.com>
  156. Joseph Pecoraro <pecoraro@apple.com>
  157. Bob Lund <b.lund@cablelabs.com>
  158. Tatsuya Igarashi <Tatsuya.Igarashi@jp.sony.com>
  159. John Simmons <johnsim@microsoft.com>
  160. Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>
  161. Clarke Stevens <c.stevens@cablelabs.com>
  162. Mark Vickers <mark_vickers@comcast.com>
  163. Sree Kotay <Sree_Kotay@cable.comcast.com>
  164. Rik Cabanier <Cabanier@adobe.com>
  165. Jeremy LaCivita <jeremy.lacivita@theplatform.com>
  166. Denis Ah-Kang <denis@w3.org>
  167. Alvar Laigna <laigna@gmail.com>
  168. Kunio Ito <kunio.ito@mail.rakuten.com>
  169. David Mays <david_mays@comcast.com>
  170. Michael Chen <michael_chen@cable.comcast.com>
  171. jongyoul Park <jongyoul@etri.re.kr>
  172. Reinaldo Ferraz <reinaldo@nic.br>
  173. Bill Mandel <bill.mandel@nbcuni.com>
  174. Eva Lingyun Jing <jinglingyun@baidu.com>
  175. GANG LIANG <gang.liang@huawei.com>
  176. Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>
  177. Jason Kiss <jason@accessibleculture.org>
  178. Gian Luca Marroni <gmarroni@libero.it>
  179. Ian Devlin <ian@iandevlin.com>
  180. Xingrong Guo <guoxingrong@baidu.com>
  181. Jet Villegas <w3c@junglecode.net>
  182. Alexander Surkov <surkov.alexander@gmail.com>
  183. Hasan Savran <hsavran@kent.edu>
  184. Eric VonColln <eric.voncolln@navy.mil>
  185. Jungkee Song <jungkee.song@samsung.com>
  186. Rayi Lei <leiyi@baidu.com>
  187. Daniel Austin <daniel.austin@grintech.net>
  188. David Dorwin <ddorwin@google.com>
  189. jiexuan gao <gaojiexuan@baidu.com>
  190. Xiaoqing Yang <yangxiaoqing@baidu.com>
  191. Aaron Colwell <acolwell@google.com>
  192. Alex Giladi <alex.giladi@huawei.com>
  193. Motomasa Futagami <Motomasa.Futagami@jp.sony.com>
  194. Kevin Streeter <kstreete@adobe.com>
  195. Christian Kaiser <kaiserc@google.com>
  196. Xuejian Li <lixuejian@baidu.com>
  197. Zuncheng Yang <yangzuncheng@baidu.com>
  198. Qianglong Zheng <zhengqianglong@baidu.com>
  199. Zhou Shen <shenzhou@baidu.com>
  200. Duoyi Wu <wuduoyi@baidu.com>
  201. Zheng Jia <jiazheng@baidu.com>
  202. Weifeng Feng <fengweifeng@baidu.com>
  203. Damin Hu <hudamin@baidu.com>
  204. Yang Liu <liuyang12@baidu.com>
  205. Zhixing Lei <leizhixing@baidu.com>
  206. Honggang Tang <tanghonggang@baidu.com>
  207. Kefeng Li <buaadallas@gmail.com>
  208. Xu Ma <maxu@baidu.com>
  209. Junzhong Liu <liujunzhong@baidu.com>
  210. Stefan Kaiser <stefan.kaiser@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  211. Sheau Ng <Sheau.ng@nbcuni.com>
  212. Stefan Pham <stefan.pham@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  213. Ami Fischman <fischman@google.com>
  214. Arnaud Braud <arnaud.braud@orange.com>
  215. Futomi Hatano <futomi.hatano@newphoria.co.jp>
  216. Bram Tullemans <tullemans@ebu.ch>
  217. Petr Peterka <ppeterka@verimatrix.com>
  218. lei wang <wanglei03@baidu.com>
  219. Milan Patel <Milan.Patel@huawei.com>
  220. Yiling Gu <guyiling@baidu.com>
  221. Zefa Xiong <xiongzefa@baidu.com>
  222. shanglin chen <chenshanglin@baidu.com>
  223. Yaso Córdova <who@yaso.is>
  224. Ping Wu <wuping02@baidu.com>
  225. Bin Chen <chenbin01@baidu.com>
  226. Youichi Takashima <takashima.youichi@lab.ntt.co.jp>
  227. Patrick Ladd <Pat_Ladd2@cable.comcast.com>
  228. Norifumi Kikkawa <norifumi.kikkawa@jp.sony.com>
  229. Hanrui Gao <gaohanrui@360.cn>
  230. Hao Jing <jh.jinghao@huawei.com>
  231. Glenn Deen <glenn.deen@nbcuni.com>
  232. Lei Wang <wanglei@baidu.com>
  233. Tom Handal <thandal@verimatrix.com>
  234. Pengcheng Guo <guopengcheng@baidu.com>
  235. Tom Wiltzius <wiltzius@google.com>
  236. Pierre-Anthony Lemieux <pal@sandflow.com>
  237. Xie Jianhui <xiejianhui@baidu.com>
  238. Yujie Jiang <jiangyujie@baidu.com>
  239. Kazuhiko Takabayashi <kazuhiko.takabayashi@jp.sony.com>
  240. Brady Eidson <beidson@apple.com>
  241. Jerry Smith <jdsmith@microsoft.com>
  242. Michael Thornburgh <mthornbu@adobe.com>
  243. Andrew Davis <andrew@diff.mx>
  244. Mick Hakobyan <mhakobyan@netflix.com>
  245. Vladimir Sinelnikov <sinelnikov@gmail.com>
  246. Chris Wong <huanghoujin@baidu.com>
  247. Yiliang LIU <liuyiliang@baidu.com>
  248. Hernan Beati <hernanbeati@gmail.com>
  249. mingqiang zhang <imcnan@gmail.com>
  250. yubo zhou <zhouyubo@360.cn>
  251. Ben Barber <barberboy@gmail.com>
  252. Suzanne Taylor <Suzanne.Taylor@pearson.com>
  253. Grzegorz Babula <gbabula@gmail.com>
  254. Brian Kardell <hitchjs@gmail.com>
  255. xueliang fan <fanxueliang@baidu.com>
  256. Niels Thorwirth <nthorwirth@verimatrix.com>
  257. David Evans <david.evans@rd.bbc.co.uk>
  258. Danny O'Brien <danny@eff.org>
  259. Joseph Karr O'Connor <josephoconnor@mac.com>
  260. Seth Schoen <schoen@eff.org>
  261. Yusuke Kagiwada <block.rxckin.beats@gmail.com>
  262. smallni ding <smallniding@tencent.com>
  263. Jim Walsh <jim@jwalshcreative.com>
  264. Greg Davis <greg.davis@pearson.com>
  265. Gabino Alonso <gabinovincent@gmail.com>
  266. Sam Langdon <sam.langdon@hachette.co.uk>
  267. Michael Kelly <mkelly@mozilla.com>
  268. Xiaoqian Wu <xiaoqian@w3.org>
  269. Yue Min <minyue@baidu.com>
  270. Min Li <limin04@baidu.com>
  271. A.S. Krishnakumar <ask@avaya.com>
  272. Jonathan Neal <jonathantneal@gmail.com>
  273. Joanmarie Diggs <jdiggs@igalia.com>
  274. Pedro Xavier Jorge <pedro.xavierjorge@gmail.com>
  275. Akira Torii <Torii.Akira@bp.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  276. So Vang <svang@nab.org>
  277. Nathalia Sautchuk Patrício <nathalia@nic.br>
  278. Deblyn prado <deblyn@nic.br>
  279. Vicente García Díaz <vicegd@live.com>
  280. Shinya Maruyama <Shinya.Maruyama@jp.sony.com>
  281. RAVI CHANDRA RAVULAPATI <ravichandra480@gmail.com>
  282. Yusuke Yokosuka <Yokosuka.Yusuke@bx.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  283. John Riviello <john_riviello@comcast.com>
  284. yaolong wang <wangyaolong@baidu.com>
  285. Tao Liang <liangtao01@baidu.com>
  286. Glenn Eguchi <geguchi@adobe.com>
  287. Lukáš Čihák <lukas.cihak@mensa.cz>
  288. WOOGLAE KIM <wlkim@inswave.com>
  289. Min Ren <minren@tencent.com>
  290. Rustam Khashimkhodjaev <Rustam_Khashimkhodjaev@cable.comcast.com>
  291. Jason White <jjwhite@ets.org>
  292. Hyejin Lee <hjlee@html5forum.or.kr>
  293. Richard Grzeczkowski <richard_grzeczkowski@cable.comcast.com>
  294. qigang huang <qiganghuang@tencent.com>
  295. Pascal Perrot <pascal.perrot@orange.com>
  296. Dapeng Liu <max.ldp@alibaba-inc.com>
  297. Matthew Wolenetz <wolenetz@google.com>
  298. Cory Heslip <cory_heslip@cable.comcast.com>
  299. Shaohang Yang <shaohang.ysh@alibaba-inc.com>
  300. Seiji Okumura <Okumura.Seiji@bc.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  301. Eiji Yamamoto <Yamamoto.Eiji@db.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>

Send an email to all the non-responders.


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Maintained by Laurent Carcone, from a development by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.132 2015/11/30 15:46:52 carcone Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to lcarcone@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)