W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire ISSUE-126: Requirement to break RFC 2616 compliance - Straw Poll for Objections

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody.

This questionnaire was open from 2011-03-02 to 2011-03-10.

4 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Objections to the Change Proposal to parse backslash escapes in Content-Type headers in elements in a HTTP compliant manner
  2. Objections to the Change Proposal to not have special handling for backslash

1. Objections to the Change Proposal to parse backslash escapes in Content-Type headers in elements in a HTTP compliant manner

We have a Change Proposal to parse backslash escapes in Content-Type headers in "meta" elements in a HTTP compliant manner. If you have strong objections to adopting this Change Proposal, please state your objections below.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the Change Proposal to parse backslash escapes in Content-Type headers in elements in a HTTP compliant manner
Philip Jägenstedt The proposal aims to align processing with the HTTP spec in order to remove a willfull violation, but does not achieve that, even assuming that the sibling proposal for ISSUE-125 is adopted.

The "algorithm for extracting an encoding from a Content-Type" should be applied to the value of the content="" attribute on <meta http-equiv="Content-Type">. In order to claim conformance with HTTP, that value should be processed like the media-type production in RFC 2616:

media-type = type "/" subtype *( ";" parameter )
type = token
subtype = token

parameter = attribute "=" value
attribute = token
value = token | quoted-string

quoted-string = ( <"> *(qdtext | quoted-pair ) <"> )
qdtext = <any TEXT except <">>
quoted-pair = "\" CHAR

The critical part of the suggested change is "Return the encoding corresponding to the backslash-unescaped string between this characters and the next earliest occurrence of this character." This is more liberal than the quoted-string production, allowing e.g. content='text/html;charset="UTF-8"garbage'.

Furthermore, earlier steps of the algorithm are nowhere near close to the HTTP spec, simply finding the first occurence of "charset", allowing e.g. content='garbagecharset=UTF-8'.

Only if the algorithm as a whole matches exactly the media-type production will the spec not require "recipients to parse Content-Type headers in <meta> elements in a way breaking HTTP's parsing rules." Since the change proposal does not achieve that, I object to its adoption.
Anne van Kesteren I object to this change proposal because we are in the process of changing Opera's behavior here (and Safari is as well) precisely because of compatibility.
Julian Reschke
Edward O'Connor We believe this change would harm compatibility and do not intend to implement it.

2. Objections to the Change Proposal to not have special handling for backslash

We have a Change Proposal to not have special handling for backslash.

Keep in mind, you must actually state an objection, not merely cite someone else. If you feel that your objection has already been adequately addressed by someone else, then it is not necessary to repeat it.

Details

Responder Objections to the Change Proposal to not have special handling for backslash
Philip Jägenstedt
Anne van Kesteren
Julian Reschke I'm ok with this as long as the spec stops claiming this is needed for compatibility (as no legal charset name contains a backslash anyway), and it's also made clear that this applies to meta/@http-equiv only. (see also comments on ISSUE-125, plus my feedback to Philip's objection in http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html/2011Mar/0140.html, plus the subsequent thread).
Edward O'Connor

More details on responses

Non-responders

The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Tantek Çelik <tantek@cs.stanford.edu>
  2. Patrick D F Ion <ion@ams.org>
  3. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  4. Liam Quin <liam@w3.org>
  5. Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>
  6. Chris Wilson <cwilso@google.com>
  7. David Carlisle <davidc@nag.co.uk>
  8. James Helman <jhelman@movielabs.com>
  9. Jim Allan <jimallan@tsbvi.edu>
  10. Chris Marrin <cmarrin@apple.com>
  11. Charles McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>
  12. Philippe Le Hégaret <plh@w3.org>
  13. Don Brutzman <brutzman@nps.edu>
  14. T.V. Raman <raman@google.com>
  15. David Singer <singer@apple.com>
  16. Daniel Glazman <daniel.glazman@disruptive-innovations.com>
  17. Karl Dubost <karl@la-grange.net>
  18. Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>
  19. Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
  20. Lisa Seeman <lisa.seeman@zoho.com>
  21. Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
  22. Wu Chou <wu.chou@huawei.com>
  23. Katsuhiko Momoi <momoi@google.com>
  24. Kangchan Lee <chan@w3.org>
  25. Roy Fielding <fielding@gbiv.com>
  26. Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>
  27. Johnny Stenback <jst@mozilla.com>
  28. Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
  29. Deborah Dahl <dahl@conversational-technologies.com>
  30. Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>
  31. Glenn Adams <glenn@skynav.com>
  32. Jonathan Jeon <hollobit@etri.re.kr>
  33. David Hyatt <hyatt@apple.com>
  34. WonSuk Lee <wonsuk.lee@etri.re.kr>
  35. Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
  36. Robert Accettura <robert@accettura.com>
  37. Jonathan Watt <jwatt@jwatt.org>
  38. Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
  39. Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo <emmanuelle@sidar.org>
  40. Patrick Lauke <redux@splintered.co.uk>
  41. David MacDonald <David100@sympatico.ca>
  42. Jack Jansen <jack@cwi.nl>
  43. Kazuhito Kidachi <k-kidachi@mitsue.co.jp>
  44. Markku Hakkinen <mhakkinen@ets.org>
  45. Cyril Concolato <cyril.concolato@telecom-paristech.fr>
  46. Jens Meiert <jens@meiert.com>
  47. Felix Sasaki <fsasaki@w3.org>
  48. Kazuyuki Ashimura <ashimura@w3.org>
  49. Tomas Caspers <tomas@tomascaspers.de>
  50. Han Xu <collin@w3china.org>
  51. Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
  52. Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
  53. Mark Crawford <mark.crawford@sap.com>
  54. Preety Kumar <preety.kumar@deque.com>
  55. Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>
  56. Ian Fette <ifette@google.com>
  57. Michael[tm] Smith <mike@w3.org>
  58. Cameron McCormack <cam@mcc.id.au>
  59. Stefan Schnabel <stefan.schnabel@sap.com>
  60. Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz>
  61. Travis Leithead <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>
  62. Youngsun Ryu <ysryu@samsung.com>
  63. Sierk Bornemann <sierkb@gmail.com>
  64. Martijn Wargers <martijn.martijn@gmail.com>
  65. Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>
  66. James Graham <james@hoppipolla.co.uk>
  67. Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@hsivonen.fi>
  68. Krijn Hoetmer <w3c@qontent.nl>
  69. Markus Fischer <markus@fischer.name>
  70. Channy Yun <channy@gmail.com>
  71. Shane Thacker <shanethacker@gmail.com>
  72. Bill Mason <billm@accessibleinter.net>
  73. Vilem Malek <murphy@malek.cz>
  74. Zhihong Mao <zhihong.mao@gmail.com>
  75. Benoit Piette <benoit.piette@gmail.com>
  76. Erik van Kempen <erikvankempen@gmail.com>
  77. Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>
  78. Nick Fitzsimons <w3@nickfitz.co.uk>
  79. Josh Lawton <w3c@joshlawton.com>
  80. Giovanni Gentili <giovanni.gentili@gmail.com>
  81. Adele Peterson <adele@apple.com>
  82. S Emerson <w3c@accretewebsolutions.ca>
  83. Morten Tollefsen <morten@medialt.no>
  84. Daniel Schattenkirchner <schattenkirchner.daniel@gmx.de>
  85. Justin Anthony Knapp <justinkoavf@gmail.com>
  86. Simon Myers <Smylers@stripey.com>
  87. Samuel Weinig <weinig@apple.com>
  88. Alexey Proskuryakov <ap@webkit.org>
  89. Alejandro Fernandez <alejandro@mediadvanced.com>
  90. Doug Jones <doug_b_jones@me.com>
  91. Marc Drumm <mdrumm@wcupa.edu>
  92. Danny Liang <danny.glue@gmail.com>
  93. Michael Puls II <shadow2531@gmail.com>
  94. Ron Reisor <ron@udel.edu>
  95. Marat Tanalin <mtanalin@yandex.ru>
  96. Andrew Norman <idonothaveacat@gmail.com>
  97. Craig Buckler <craigbuckler@gmail.com>
  98. Matthew Turvey <mcturvey@gmail.com>
  99. Dale Hudjik <dale.hudjik@gmail.com>
  100. James Cassell <w3c@cyberpear.com>
  101. Joseph D'Andrea <jdandrea@gmail.com>
  102. Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>
  103. Michael Turnwall <w3c@turnwall.net>
  104. Don Kiely <donkiely@computer.org>
  105. Robert Marshall <rdm@rdmsoft.com>
  106. David Child <dave@addedbytes.com>
  107. Mark DuBois <Mark@webprofessionals.org>
  108. David Bills <w3@dfbills.com>
  109. Nik Thierry <me@thisemail.ca>
  110. Andrew Ramsden <andrew@irama.org>
  111. John Foliot <john.foliot@deque.com>
  112. Shefik Macauley <allknightaccess@gmail.com>
  113. Joe Steele <steele@adobe.com>
  114. John Vernaleo <john@netpurgatory.com>
  115. Jeremy Keith <jeremy@adactio.com>
  116. Jedi Lin <JediLin@Gmail.com>
  117. Jon Hughes <jon@phazm.com>
  118. Samuel Santos <samaxes@gmail.com>
  119. Dean Jackson <dino@apple.com>
  120. Mohammed DADAS <mohammed.dadas@orange.com>
  121. Sally Cain <sally.cain@rnib.org.uk>
  122. Dan Romascanu <dromasca@avaya.com>
  123. David Bolter <dbolter@mozilla.com>
  124. James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
  125. MING JIN <ming.jin.web@gmail.com>
  126. Leonard Rosenthol <lrosenth@adobe.com>
  127. Adrian Bateman <adrianba@microsoft.com>
  128. Dionysios Synodinos <synodinos@gmail.com>
  129. Jean-Pierre EVAIN <evain@ebu.ch>
  130. Mark Pilgrim <pilgrim@google.com>
  131. Matt Lee <mattl@cnuk.org>
  132. Magnus Olsson <magnus.olsson@ericsson.com>
  133. Chris Pearce <cpearce@mozilla.com>
  134. Mark Miller <erights@google.com>
  135. Andrew Wilson <atwilson@google.com>
  136. Per-Erik Brodin <per-erik.brodin@ericsson.com>
  137. Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>
  138. Martin McEvoy <martin@weborganics.co.uk>
  139. Aryeh Gregor <ayg@aryeh.name>
  140. Jonathan Griffin <jgriffin@mozilla.com>
  141. Anders Bondehagen <anders@bondehagen.com>
  142. Steven Pemberton <Steven.Pemberton@cwi.nl>
  143. Raul Hudea <rhudea@adobe.com>
  144. Raghavan Gurumurthy <raghavan@adobe.com>
  145. Mayank Kumar <mayankk@adobe.com>
  146. Monikandan S <smonikan@adobe.com>
  147. Dragos Georgita <dgeorgit@adobe.com>
  148. Christopher Bank <cbank@adobe.com>
  149. Ole Riesenberg <or@oleriesenberg.com>
  150. Takuya Oikawa <takuya@google.com>
  151. Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>
  152. Robert Stern <rstern@gmail.com>
  153. Dean Leigh <dean.leigh@deanleigh.co.uk>
  154. Eihab Ibrahim <eihabibrahim@gmail.com>
  155. Kensaku KOMATSU <kensaku.komatsu@gmail.com>
  156. Jer Noble <jer.noble@apple.com>
  157. Masatomo Kobayashi <mstm@jp.ibm.com>
  158. Grant Simpson <glsimpso@gmail.com>
  159. Peter Beverloo <beverloo@google.com>
  160. Andrew Scherkus <scherkus@google.com>
  161. Greg Johnson <greg.johnson@gmail.com>
  162. Martijn Croonen <martijn@martijnc.be>
  163. Stanley Manoski <manoski@mitre.org>
  164. Jonas Schneider <js.sokrates@gmail.com>
  165. Yosuke Funahashi <yosuke@w3.org>
  166. Mounir Lamouri <mlamouri@google.com>
  167. Mike Amundsen <mamund@yahoo.com>
  168. Tony Gentilcore <tonyg@google.com>
  169. Joseph Pecoraro <pecoraro@apple.com>
  170. Othmane Benyoucef <othmane_benyoucef@hotmail.com>
  171. Shoko Okuma <okuma@tomo-digi.co.jp>
  172. Fumitaka Watanabe <fwtnb@tomo-digi.co.jp>
  173. Yoshimitsu Tsurimaki <tsurimaki@tomo-digi.co.jp>
  174. Bob Lund <b.lund@cablelabs.com>
  175. Tatsuya Igarashi <Tatsuya.Igarashi@jp.sony.com>
  176. John Simmons <johnsim@microsoft.com>
  177. Mathias Bynens <mathias@qiwi.be>
  178. Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>
  179. Clarke Stevens <c.stevens@cablelabs.com>
  180. Mark Vickers <mark_vickers@cable.comcast.com>
  181. Sree Kotay <Sree_Kotay@cable.comcast.com>
  182. Cameron Jones <cmhjones@gmail.com>
  183. Rik Cabanier <Cabanier@adobe.com>
  184. Jeremy LaCivita <jeremy.lacivita@theplatform.com>
  185. Denis Ah-Kang <denis@w3.org>
  186. Alvar Laigna <laigna@gmail.com>
  187. Kunio Ito <kunio.ito@mail.rakuten.com>
  188. David Mays <david_mays@comcast.com>
  189. Michael Chen <michael_chen@cable.comcast.com>
  190. jongyoul Park <jongyoul@etri.re.kr>
  191. Adrian Roselli <aroselli@gmail.com>
  192. Colin Ihrig <cjihrig@gmail.com>
  193. Kilroy Hughes <kilroy.hughes@microsoft.com>
  194. Reinaldo Ferraz <reinaldo@nic.br>
  195. Bill Mandel <bill.mandel@nbcuni.com>
  196. Eva Lingyun Jing <jinglingyun@baidu.com>
  197. GANG LIANG <gang.liang@huawei.com>
  198. Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>
  199. Jason Kiss <jason@accessibleculture.org>
  200. Gian Luca Marroni <gmarroni@libero.it>
  201. Ian Devlin <ian@iandevlin.com>
  202. Xingrong Guo <guoxingrong@baidu.com>
  203. Jet Villegas <w3c@junglecode.net>
  204. Alexander Surkov <surkov.alexander@gmail.com>
  205. Hasan Savran <hsavran@kent.edu>
  206. Marco Kotrotsos <Marco@mlabs.nl>
  207. Eric VonColln <eric.voncolln@navy.mil>
  208. Jason Boyd <jason@pixelboxdesign.co.uk>
  209. Jungkee Song <jungkee.song@samsung.com>
  210. Rayi Lei <leiyi@baidu.com>
  211. Daniel Austin <daniel.austin@grintech.net>
  212. David Dorwin <ddorwin@google.com>
  213. jiexuan gao <gaojiexuan@baidu.com>
  214. Mathew Marquis <mat@matmarquis.com>
  215. Xiaoqing Yang <yangxiaoqing@baidu.com>
  216. Aaron Colwell <acolwell@google.com>
  217. Alex Giladi <alex.giladi@huawei.com>
  218. Motomasa Futagami <Motomasa.Futagami@jp.sony.com>
  219. Kevin Streeter <kstreete@adobe.com>
  220. Christian Kaiser <kaiserc@google.com>
  221. Xuejian Li <lixuejian@baidu.com>
  222. Zuncheng Yang <yangzuncheng@baidu.com>
  223. Qianglong Zheng <zhengqianglong@baidu.com>
  224. Zhou Shen <shenzhou@baidu.com>
  225. Duoyi Wu <wuduoyi@baidu.com>
  226. Zheng Jia <jiazheng@baidu.com>
  227. Weifeng Feng <fengweifeng@baidu.com>
  228. Damin Hu <hudamin@baidu.com>
  229. Yang Liu <liuyang12@baidu.com>
  230. Zhixing Lei <leizhixing@baidu.com>
  231. Honggang Tang <tanghonggang@baidu.com>
  232. Kefeng Li <buaadallas@gmail.com>
  233. Xu Ma <maxu@baidu.com>
  234. Junzhong Liu <liujunzhong@baidu.com>
  235. Yusuke Maehama <maehama@tomo-digi.co.jp>
  236. Stefan Kaiser <stefan.kaiser@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  237. Sheau Ng <Sheau.ng@nbcuni.com>
  238. Stefan Pham <stefan.pham@fokus.fraunhofer.de>
  239. Ami Fischman <fischman@google.com>
  240. Arnaud Braud <arnaud.braud@orange.com>
  241. Futomi Hatano <futomi.hatano@newphoria.co.jp>
  242. Bram Tullemans <tullemans@ebu.ch>
  243. Petr Peterka <ppeterka@verimatrix.com>
  244. lei wang <wanglei03@baidu.com>
  245. Milan Patel <Milan.Patel@huawei.com>
  246. Yiling Gu <guyiling@baidu.com>
  247. Zefa Xiong <xiongzefa@baidu.com>
  248. shanglin chen <chenshanglin@baidu.com>
  249. Yaso Córdova <yaso@nic.br>
  250. Ping Wu <wuping02@baidu.com>
  251. Bin Chen <chenbin01@baidu.com>
  252. Youichi Takashima <takashima.youichi@lab.ntt.co.jp>
  253. Patrick Ladd <Pat_Ladd2@cable.comcast.com>
  254. Norifumi Kikkawa <norifumi.kikkawa@jp.sony.com>
  255. Hanrui Gao <gaohanrui@360.cn>
  256. Hao Jing <jh.jinghao@huawei.com>
  257. Glenn Deen <glenn.deen@nbcuni.com>
  258. Lei Wang <wanglei@baidu.com>
  259. Tom Handal <thandal@verimatrix.com>
  260. Tsutomu Ogasawara <tsutomu.ogasawara@mail.rakuten.com>
  261. Jose Segura <jose.segura@mail.rakuten.com>
  262. Pengcheng Guo <guopengcheng@baidu.com>
  263. Tom Wiltzius <wiltzius@google.com>
  264. Pierre-Anthony Lemieux <pal@sandflow.com>
  265. Xie Jianhui <xiejianhui@baidu.com>
  266. Yujie Jiang <jiangyujie@baidu.com>
  267. Leslie Sikos <sikos@sikoswebconsulting.com.au>
  268. Mark Sadecki <mark@sadecki.com>
  269. Kazuhiko Takabayashi <kazuhiko.takabayashi@jp.sony.com>
  270. Brady Eidson <beidson@apple.com>
  271. Jerry Smith <jdsmith@microsoft.com>
  272. Michael Thornburgh <mthornbu@adobe.com>
  273. Cyril Rickelton-Abdi <cyril.rickelton-abdi@turner.com>
  274. Andrew Davis <andrew@diff.mx>
  275. Mick Hakobyan <mhakobyan@netflix.com>
  276. Vladimir Sinelnikov <sinelnikov@gmail.com>
  277. Chris Wong <huanghoujin@baidu.com>
  278. Yiliang LIU <liuyiliang@baidu.com>
  279. Hernan Beati <hernanbeati@gmail.com>
  280. mingqiang zhang <imcnan@gmail.com>
  281. yubo zhou <zhouyubo@360.cn>
  282. Ben Barber <barberboy@gmail.com>
  283. Suzanne Taylor <Suzanne.Taylor@pearson.com>
  284. Grzegorz Babula <gbabula@gmail.com>
  285. Brian Kardell <hitchjs@gmail.com>
  286. xueliang fan <fanxueliang@baidu.com>
  287. Niels Thorwirth <nthorwirth@verimatrix.com>
  288. David Evans <david.evans@rd.bbc.co.uk>
  289. Danny O'Brien <danny@eff.org>
  290. Joseph Karr O'Connor <josephoconnor@mac.com>
  291. Seth Schoen <schoen@eff.org>
  292. Yusuke Kagiwada <block.rxckin.beats@gmail.com>
  293. smallni ding <smallniding@tencent.com>
  294. Jamil Ellis <jamil.ellis@hbo.com>
  295. Jim Walsh <jim@jwalshcreative.com>
  296. Greg Davis <greg.davis@pearson.com>
  297. Gabino Alonso <gabinovincent@gmail.com>
  298. Sam Langdon <sam.langdon@hachette.co.uk>
  299. Michael Kelly <mkelly@mozilla.com>
  300. Xiaoqian Wu <xiaoqian@w3.org>
  301. Yue Min <minyue@baidu.com>
  302. Min Li <limin04@baidu.com>
  303. A.S. Krishnakumar <ask@avaya.com>
  304. Jonathan Neal <jonathantneal@gmail.com>
  305. Joanmarie Diggs <jdiggs@igalia.com>
  306. Pedro Xavier Jorge <pedro.xavierjorge@gmail.com>
  307. Akira Torii <Torii.Akira@bp.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  308. So Vang <svang@nab.org>
  309. Nathalia Sautchuk Patrício <nathalia@nic.br>
  310. Deblyn prado <deblyn@nic.br>
  311. Vicente García Díaz <vicegd@live.com>
  312. Nolan Butcher <nolan.butcher@hbo.com>
  313. Shinya Maruyama <Shinya.Maruyama@jp.sony.com>
  314. RAVI CHANDRA RAVULAPATI <ravichandra480@gmail.com>
  315. Yusuke Yokosuka <Yokosuka.Yusuke@bx.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  316. John Riviello <john_riviello@comcast.com>
  317. yaolong wang <wangyaolong@baidu.com>
  318. Tao Liang <liangtao01@baidu.com>
  319. Glenn Eguchi <geguchi@adobe.com>
  320. Chockalingam Muthian <chockam@gmail.com>
  321. Lukáš Čihák <lukas.cihak@mensa.cz>
  322. WOOGLAE KIM <wlkim@inswave.com>
  323. Min Ren <minren@tencent.com>
  324. Rustam Khashimkhodjaev <Rustam_Khashimkhodjaev@cable.comcast.com>
  325. Jason White <jjwhite@ets.org>
  326. Hyejin Lee <hjlee@html5forum.or.kr>
  327. Richard Grzeczkowski <richard_grzeczkowski@cable.comcast.com>
  328. qigang huang <qiganghuang@tencent.com>
  329. Pascal Perrot <pascal.perrot@orange.com>
  330. Dapeng Liu <max.ldp@alibaba-inc.com>
  331. Matthew Wolenetz <wolenetz@google.com>
  332. Cory Heslip <cory_heslip@cable.comcast.com>
  333. Shaohang Yang <shaohang.ysh@alibaba-inc.com>
  334. Pramod Patlolla <pramod.patlolla@turner.com>
  335. Cooper Pope <cooper.pope@turner.com>
  336. Choon-Sik Cho <admin@wizvera.com>
  337. Seiji Okumura <Okumura.Seiji@bc.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>
  338. Eiji Yamamoto <Yamamoto.Eiji@db.MitsubishiElectric.co.jp>

Send an email to all the non-responders.


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Maintained by Laurent Carcone, from a development by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.132 2015/11/30 15:46:52 carcone Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to lcarcone@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)