W3C WBS Home

Results of Questionnaire EOWG Review: Developing Websites for Older People - September 2010

The results of this questionnaire are available to anybody.

This questionnaire was open from 2010-09-13 to 2010-09-29.

15 answers have been received.

Jump to results for question:

  1. Support for publishing and announcing the page:
  2. Comments

1. Support for publishing and announcing the page:

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
I support publishing this page as it is 10
I support publishing this page; however, I suggest the changes in the comments section below (for editors' discretion) 4
I support publishing this page only with the changes in the comments section below
I do not support publishing this page, because of the comments in the comments section below
I abstain (not vote) 1

Details

Responder Support for publishing and announcing the page:
Doyle Saylor I support publishing this page as it is
Ian Pouncey I support publishing this page; however, I suggest the changes in the comments section below (for editors' discretion)
Sylvie Duchateau I support publishing this page as it is
Jack Welsh I abstain (not vote)
Helle Bjarnø I support publishing this page as it is
Michael Stenitzer I support publishing this page as it is
Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo I support publishing this page; however, I suggest the changes in the comments section below (for editors' discretion)
Jennifer Sutton I support publishing this page; however, I suggest the changes in the comments section below (for editors' discretion)
Shawn Henry I support publishing this page; however, I suggest the changes in the comments section below (for editors' discretion)
Darren Lunn I support publishing this page as it is
Yeliz Yesilada I support publishing this page as it is
Shadi Abou-Zahra I support publishing this page as it is
Andrew Arch I support publishing this page as it is
Sharron Rush I support publishing this page as it is
Liam McGee I support publishing this page as it is

2. Comments

First select which version of the Developing Websites for Older People: How Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Applies these comments apply to. The version date is in the "status" section just before the main heading level 1.

For each comment, remember to indicate if it is a suggestion for editor's discretion or if you feel it must be addressed before this page is published.

Summary

ChoiceAll responders
Results
updated 22 September 2010 2
updated 14 September 2010 7
Other date, included in Review Comments field below. 1

(5 responses didn't contain an answer to this question)

Details

Responder CommentsReview Comments
Doyle Saylor
Ian Pouncey updated 14 September 2010 priority: editor's discretion
location: Text style and text layout, Example techniques to consider, 4th item
current wording: 'Avoiding chunks of italic text'
suggested revision: 'Avoiding blocks of italic text'
rationale: Clearer wording

priority: editor's discretion
location: CAPTCHA, Example techniques to consider, 1st item
current wording: 'Providing access to a human customer service representative who can bypass CAPTCHA'
suggested revision: Remove or place last in the list
rationale: While providing human customer service is a good idea it is not a solution to an inaccessible CAPTCHA as it forces the user to access content in a different way to others. It also requires that the user wants to access content at a time when customer service is available, which for most organisations is not going to be 24/7. I would like to see this removed or if it must stay to be last on the list so that readers do not accept this as an acceptable first and only solution.

priority: editor's discretion
location: Navigation and location, opening paragraph
current wording: 'Many older people need navigation to be particularly clear due declining cognitive abilities.'
suggested revision: 'Many older people need navigation to be particularly clear due to declining cognitive abilities.'
rationale: Missing word 'to'

priority: editor's discretion
location: Page organization, opening paragraph
current wording: 'Many older people read the whole page, so good page organization is important.'
suggested wording: 'Many older people are inexperienced web users without advanced browsing habits, and therefore read the whole page so good page organization is important.'
I think this needs some explanation, such as the suggested wording. While most readers will link age with decline in vision or motor control in this case the correlation between cause and effect is not clear. A similar case may be made for changes to the opening paragraphs of 'Pop-ups and new windows' and 'Instructions and input assistance'.
Sylvie Duchateau updated 14 September 2010
Jack Welsh
Helle Bjarnø updated 14 September 2010
Michael Stenitzer updated 14 September 2010
Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo updated 14 September 2010 There are headers with the same color of links that do not meet the liaison function and this creates confusion. It should change the color of the headers that are not links.
Jennifer Sutton updated 14 September 2010 J. Sutton
2010_09_20
Comments on:
Developing Websites for Older People: How Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Applies" at:

http://www.w3.org/WAI/EO/Drafts/sites-older-users/Overview.html


Content last updated: 2010/09/14 by $Author: andrew $ [

All comments are for Editor's discretion. There are 12 items listed. Note my use of brackets and my initials.
Please let me know if you have any questions.



1. I wonder if a word is missing in here. Should?

An extensive
literature review
identified that existing standards from the W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (
WAI
) [JS: should] address the accessibility needs of older web users. This page introduces how to

2. those with "(future link)" will be written up with later edits to the WCAG Techniques.)

JS: Maybe "completed after," instead of "written up with"

3. Most older people's color perception changes[JS: add comma] and they lose contrast sensitivity.

4. Older people with declining eyesight may not be able to discern the characters in [JS: add a] CAPTCHA, especially because [JS: a] CAPTCHA often has low contrast and does not increase
when users have [JS: enlarged the] text.

5. An example of [JS: a] CAPTCHA is:
the letters 'c a p t c h a' [JS: which is]difficult to read because [the letters are] skewed and on [JS: a] complex background

6. Providing access to a human customer service representative who can bypass [JS: the] CAPTCHA
(future link)

7. Since there are two references, here, shouldn't it be "References:"
Literature review reference:
[link] TR/wai-age-literature/#whatcog [JS: I'm not sure what this means i.e. where this link will go.\]
Previous approaches to ‘senior friendly’ Web guidelines

8. I'm not sure what the bracketed link means:
[link] [JS: TR/WCAG20-TECHS/G76]
[link] G107: Using "activate" rather than "focus" as a trigger for changes of context
.
9. And maybe this link, too, needs different link words:

[link] [JS: TR/2008/NOTE-WCAG20-TECHS-20081211/G59]

[link] G89: Providing expected data format and example

10. And this one, too:
[link] [JS: WAI/WCAG20/quickref/#time-limits-server-timeout]

Maybe these are accurate, but they sound odd. I'm not clicking through to check all references. Apologies for my limited time.

11. [link] [JS: TR/2008/NOTE-WCAG20-TECHS-20081211/G139]
[[link] G83: Providing text descriptions to identify required fields that were not completed

12. [link] [JS: WAI/WCAG20/quickref/#time-limits-server-timeout]
in "How to Meet WCAG 2.0".
Literature review reference:
Shawn Henry Other date, included in Review Comments field below. All comments are priority: editor's discretion

version reviewed: http://www.w3.org/WAI/older-users/developing.html

Status: updated 14 September 2010
suggested revision: Status: Updated 14 September 2010

current wording: ...by pop-ups, new windows or new tabs.
suggested revision: by pop-ups, new windows, or new tabs.

current wording: Some older people with declining vision or cognition can miss content that is auto-updated or has in-page refreshing.
suggested revision: Some older people with declining vision or cognition can miss content that automatically updates or refreshes in a page.
Darren Lunn updated 14 September 2010
Yeliz Yesilada
Shadi Abou-Zahra
Andrew Arch
Sharron Rush updated 22 September 2010
Liam McGee updated 22 September 2010

More details on responses

Non-responders

The following persons have not answered the questionnaire:

  1. Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
  2. Eric Velleman <evelleman@bartimeus.nl>
  3. Roberto Castaldo <r.castaldo@webprofession.com>
  4. Brian Stonebridge <brian.stonebridge@agimo.gov.au>
  5. Pasquale Popolizio <p.popolizio@webprofession.com>
  6. Wayne Dick <wayneedick@gmail.com>
  7. Swaran Lata <slata@mit.gov.in>
  8. Denis Boudreau <db@deque.com>
  9. Eric Eggert <ee@w3.org>
  10. Massimiliano Navacchia <massimiliano@navacchia.it>
  11. Bim Egan <bim.egan1@gmail.com>
  12. Scott Hollier <scott.hollier@mediaaccess.org.au>
  13. Wilco Fiers <w.fiers@accessibility.nl>
  14. Somnath Chandra <Schandra@mit.gov.in>
  15. Vicki Menezes Miller <menezesmiller@conceptivity.ch>
  16. Jason Bell <jason.bell@actionforblindpeople.org.uk>
  17. Reinaldo Ferraz <reinaldo@nic.br>
  18. Jonathan Metz <jonathanmetz@gmail.com>
  19. Howard Kramer <hkramer@colorado.edu>
  20. Anna Belle Leiserson <ableiserson@gmail.com>
  21. Paul Schantz <paul.schantz@csun.edu>
  22. Vivienne Conway <v.conway@webkeyit.com>
  23. Jan McSorley <jan.mcsorley@pearson.com>
  24. Monique Viengkhou <monique.viengkhou@hp.com>
  25. Anthony Fernando <anthony.fernando@pearson.com>
  26. Kevin White <kevin@w3.org>
  27. Lydia Harkey <LHarkey@suddenlink.net>
  28. Brent Bakken <brent.bakken@pearson.com>
  29. Melody Ma <melody.yy.ma@gmail.com>

Send an email to all the non-responders.


Compact view of the results / list of email addresses of the responders

WBS home / Questionnaires / WG questionnaires / Answer this questionnaire


Maintained by Laurent Carcone, from a development by Dominique Hazaël-Massieux (dom@w3.org) on an original design by Michael Sperberg-McQueen $Id: showv.php3,v 1.127 2015-02-04 08:52:34 carcone Exp $. Please send bug reports and request for enhancements to lcarcone@w3.org with w3t-sys@w3.org copied (if your mail client supports it, send mail directly to the right persons)