The W3C Technical Architecture Group (TAG)

Introduction to the TAG

The TAG is a special working group within the W3C, chartered (under the W3C Process Document) with stewardship of the Web architecture.

As outlined in its charter, there are three aspects to this mission:

  • to document and build consensus around principles of Web architecture and to interpret and clarify these principles when necessary;
  • to resolve issues involving general Web architecture brought to the TAG;
  • to help coordinate cross-technology architecture developments inside and outside W3C.

See the TAG current work page for details of how to work with it, upcoming events, and its publications.

Who are the TAG?

W3C TAG outside Mozilla, London; Photo Credit: Natasha Rooney
Photo Credit: Natasha Rooney

The TAG outside Mozilla in London, 26 July 2017
Left to right: Sangwhan Moon, Travis Leithead, David Baron, Hadley Beeman, Tim Berners-Lee, Andrew Betts, Alex Russell, Peter Linss, Daniel Appelquist

The TAG has 10 participants (6 elected, 3 appointed, and 1 chair) plus a staff contact:

  1. Daniel Appelquist (Samsung Electronics) (Chair)1
  2. David Baron (Mozilla Foundation)1
  3. Hadley Beeman (W3C Invited Expert)3
  4. Tim Berners-Lee (W3C) (Chair)5
  5. Kenneth Rohde Christiansen (Intel Corporation)4
  6. Yves Lafon (W3C) (staff contact)
  7. Travis Leithead (Microsoft)2
  8. Peter Linss (W3C Invited Expert) (Chair)1
  9. Sangwhan Moon (Odd Concepts)2
  10. Lukasz Olejnik (W3C Invited Expert)1
  11. Alex Russell (Google)2

The TAG is partly elected by the Advisory Committee and partly appointed by the Director. Each year the nomination period typically starts 1 November the election typically starts 1 December.